Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy This Blu-ray!
I won't write a review of the film, 'cause, let's face it, if you're thinking about buying this, you should've seen it or heard about it; and if you haven't, you could read a far more comprehensive review somewhere on the web by a far more informed authority than I. And I'm not going to write a detailed review of the Blu-ray disc either, because I'm not qualified to do...
Published 8 months ago by MPS

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good value
Watch this when it first came out on VHS yes old school. As cheap got it and still enjoyed but does show its age.
Published on 3 Dec 2012 by JR Household


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Osaka's Burning, 11 Nov 2007
This review is from: Black Rain [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
Now this one hell of a good movie. I first saw this for a brief moment, the obvious scene with Garcia, when i was about ten. That image stuck with me until i bought the DVD and Christ was i blown away. The direction and the acting is top notch, let alone the story which is gripping and brutal in some parts. If you have never seen this, shame on you and get your hands on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!!, 3 Jan 2008
By 
G. Miller "kiwipaul" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Rain [HD DVD] (HD DVD)
If you like Ridley Scotts films this is one not to miss. It heralds Blade Runner with amazing cinematics and great acting. The extras are short but very sweet with Mr Zeta Jones and Andy Garcia explaining lots of groovy stuff. Yes, it looks a bit dated but its a great "night in" movie. Not sure if the Hi Def makes any difference though , but hey ... Enjoy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Make sure you buy it on blu-ray, 26 Feb 2011
This review is from: Black Rain [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
Okay,

I was being a cheap skate and bought this on DVD. Well, the DVD was released back in 2000 and I don't think anyone bothered remastering it. The picture quality on the DVD is pretty bad. I own a HD box, and just like you can never go back to cassettes after you buy CDs, the same applies with DVD discs and blu-ray.

What about the film? Well, it does have a bit of a slow start but once it gets going it's a cracker. This is the first time I have seen it since the eighties, and my haven't things changed! I don't think Michael Douglas's character would get away with such aggressive behaviour these days. The one let down in the story is the punch up with Michael Douglas and Sato. It seems out of place in an intelligent thriller like this, plus Douglas looks like he's been on the pies. The fight scene seems like something out of a Steven Seagal film, only Seagal would make it look way better.

The MAIN reason you have to watch this though is for Ridley Scott's direction. Even in poor quality DVD, the pictures he comes up with are incredible. Japan, or any other location, has never come more alive than in Mr Scott's hands. You feel totally immersed in the Japanese section of the film, and almost as if you have been there. Sure, the story isn't all that, but Scott's direction could make plumbing look amazing.

A great movie which I strongly recommend you buy in its blu-ray format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 15 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Rain [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
good movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a excellent action film, 16 Jun 2005
By 
S Black "stublac" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Rain [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
If you want to see a non stop action film, then this is a film you have to see, it has everything in it that a good film needs and the two main stars are good together and thankfully there is no love interest to spoil it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars NOT an anamorphic transfer, 11 Feb 2012
By 
Mark Douglas (NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Rain [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
Just wanted to warn people with widescreen TVs. This DVD is NOT an anamorphic transfer. That means that for most TVs it will only be able to be played as widescreen with black bars on all sides of the picture, making it roughly half the screen size.

Great movie tho!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mind the mullet!, 29 April 2010
By 
A. Willard (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Rain [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
Tough, uncompromising New York cop (Michael Douglas) battles the Japanese Yakuza armed only with a mullet and a motorbike.

I enjoyed this film, but felt slightly ashamed of myself for doing so. It's a Ridley Scott so you spend much of your time going `Gosh, that's pretty' but end up feeling unsatisfied. It's like eating a plateful of vegetarian lasagne - where's the beef?

Michael Douglas is well, Michael Douglas, a little boorish for my taste. Andy Garcia does well as his sidekick (and we all know what happens to them!) and the great Ken Takakura (or Takakura Ken if you prefer) who looks a little embarrassed by the rather trite and obvious `culture clash' stuff he's forced to indulge in.

The worst thing about the film is the sound-track by Hans Zimmer which, even by his usual bumptious standards, is appalling; it should feature Meatloaf or that Welsh bird with the croaky voice such is it's hideous 80'sness.

Sydney Pollack's `The Yakuza' is a much better film of a similar ilk, plus it's got Robert Mitchum in it (and, lest we forget, Mr Takakura). Robert Mitchum or Michael Douglas? Hmmm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheese, 22 Feb 2009
This review is from: Black Rain [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
A Tony Scott movie? Shafts of light through rotating fans and blinds; neon lights in a dripping wet environment; and steam through manholes.
No, I stand corrected. This is a Ridley Scott movie. We are missing the Tony Scott signatures here - close ups (disconnected succession of them) frequently shot through a light mist (it may be tobacco smoke) with blowing muslin draperies.

Anyhoo, Black Rain refers visually to Scott's earlier incarnation Blade Runner. Michael Douglas is in his typical 80s tough guy stance in this one, but has a great counterfoil in his Japanese co-stars - good cop Ken Takakura and villain Yusaka Matsuda - along with a few other dour Yakuza actors. Andy Garcia still looks fresh as the sidekick. All give great performances, so while the film is hackneyed in its own way - Black Rain is certainly watchable and rises convincingly above potential cliches by characterising the Japanese in a more well rounded way (- a rarity these days with Asian bad guys).

Black Rain suffers from some outrageous 80s power ballading and serenading on the soundtrack ("You're so bright you could be a candle/Hold you so tight you could be a handle/Smell so sweet you could be perfume/Swept me off your feet like you were a broom"). But if you lower expectations and aren't looking for anything too demanding it fills the spot and is certainly better than most of Scott's troubled post-Blade Runner, pre-Gladiator films. Dont forget to check out the Michael Douglas hair-style. Was he trying to out mullet Mel Gibson's Lethal Weapon?

5/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 5.0/10- average American 80s cop movie, 28 Mar 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Rain [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
Mediocre 80s actio movie whereby Michael Douglass goes head2head with a Yakuza gang boss... from the heart of New York to the suburbs of Tokyo... follow one man's quest... FOR JUSTICE! XD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring!, 27 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Rain [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
Oh my god, how boring. So slow! Took me 3 days to watch it all, fell asleep every time I put it on. Dont waste 2 hours of your life watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black Rain [Blu-ray] [1989]
Black Rain [Blu-ray] [1989] by Ridley Scott (Blu-ray - 2008)
£11.55
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews