Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An old favorite
I was just starting my Senior year of high school when Black Rain was released. My high school friends were huge fans of Ridley Scott, solely based on his direction of Blade Runner, and they were also fans of the cyberpunk genre which Scott had furthered in that film. Of course, we all had interests in Japanese-American relations (I would go onto to study that in...
Published on 24 Sep 2004 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good value
Watch this when it first came out on VHS yes old school. As cheap got it and still enjoyed but does show its age.
Published 19 months ago by JR Household


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Good action film., 14 May 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Rain [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
Excellent Michael Douglas film. Atmospheric settings with an "Eastern culture meets Western culture" mood to it. Sometimes fast, brash and pacey and then quiet and contemplative. Good guys versus bad guys movie but with an oriental twist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, great picture quality, 9 Nov 2010
By 
G. CRITCHELL - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Rain [Blu-ray] [1989] (Blu-ray)
I am amazed at how good this transfer is onto Blu Ray. Considering how old the film is, I am very impressed with the transfer. I always really liked the film on DVD, but the BluRay version is much better quality and worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ultra-moody cop fiction, 27 Sep 2010
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Rain [Blu-ray] [1989] (Blu-ray)
I saw this film on crappy pan and scan VHS when I was about 12 and I didn't really understand it and I wasn't really up on Ridley Scott's work. As a result, the impact of the film was somewhat lost on me. I was expecting an action film instead of a character drama with lots of police procedure. But now, older and wiser and with a brand new Blu Ray of the movie, I am finally able to appreciate how clever the film is.

The story unfortunately IS riddled with 80s Cop Movie clichés and goes through quite a lot of familiar motions. But if you see past that you'll appreciate the immense atmosphere and mood that Ridley Scott piles on. Simply put, Michael Douglas is Nick Conklin, a bad cop (pretty much the exact same character in Basic Instinct) who drag races on his superbike to pay alimony and pinches drug money instead of turning it in for evidence. Enjoying lunch with partner Charlie (Andy Garcia) in a steakhouse in New York's meat-packing district, they just happen to witness a Yakuza execution by wanted Japanese criminal Sato (Yusaku Matsuda, who was dying of cancer during filming and didn't tell anyone). After a quick punch-up and shoot-out they find themselves chaperoning Sato back to Osaka. But when they arrive there he manages to escape, leaving them embarrassed with lots of questions to answer.

Nick and Charlie find themselves in a very foreign and intolerant world and recapturing Sato proves to be difficult in many ways. Not the least of which is Japan's alienating culture (from an NYPD point of view) and rigid rules. Nonetheless, Nick is determined to catch Sato and restore his honor.

Like I said, the atmosphere of the film is overwhelming, which is really all the film needs. The clichés and stereotypes don't matter so much when you are involved this much. Hans Zimmer (his first film with Ridley Scott) provides a deeply emotional and very melodic score that'll be rattling around in your head for days. It's a shame it's never had a comprehensive CD release, as it's one of Zimmer's most impressive efforts.

You could call it a pretty 80s movies, but I still do feel that it holds up pretty well today. As one of Ridley Scott's more forgotten works, it's well worth checking out.

The Blu Ray features a brilliant 2.4:1 1080p image with DTS 6.1 sound and a great retrospecive documentary by Laurent Bouzereau. But why is it split into 3 parts? Totally pointless! In total it makes for about an hour's worth. A commentary by Scott and a trailer is also included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing 80's Cop thriller, 1 Dec 2011
This review is from: Black Rain [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
This is one of my favorite movies of all time and easy the best buddy cop movie, i would expect nothing less from Ridley scott i just whish that there was more movies like this, unfortunatly there isn't. Everything from the 80's music to the neon lit shots of Japan...Great Movie and diserves a place in your collection.

Lee Jones
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool, Gritty & Exciting, 21 Oct 2010
By 
Mitun (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Black Rain [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
'Black Rain' is a Cop action-thriller that released in 1989 to critical acclaim and box-office success. On its release in the US, it was number one at the box-office where it remained for two weeks. The movie has since become an 80's action classic.

The movie tells the story of two New York Police Officers (Michael Douglas & Andy Garcia) who arrest a member of the Yakuza (organized crime syndicates in Japan), Sato (Yusaku Matsuda) and take him back to Japan. Once in Japan Sato escapes, causing the Officers to pursue him in an an alien environment, which could be deadly.

The movie captures the 80's essence right from the beginning with foot-tapping music of the time and a cool (cheesy) introduction of our main hero, Nick Conklin (Michael Douglas). The movie then quickly gets to the point with fast-paced action, setting the mood for things to come. From the start, the movie concentrates on the main characters making them connect with the audience accordingly. This works big time as it makes the story more effective. The movie thereafter presents the viewer with a shocking pivotal scene, which sets the feature on fire. After this, it's pure excitement and the film reaches a new high in a gripping second half. The ending is satisfying.

To round it off, the movie is tense, slick, emotional, dramatic, fast-paced, filled with proper action (not the crappy toned down action you get nowadays) and above all it's, ENTERTAINING.

Michael Douglas is perfect in his role and looks the part. He is the back-bone of the feature and also gets all the cracking one-liners. Andy Garcia is fantastic in a supporting role, stealing a number of scenes from Douglas. Their chemistry is the highlight of the movie. Ken Takakura (Masahiro Matsumoto) is very likeable as the helpful Japanese Officer. Another actor who leaves a lasting impression is the now deceased, Yusaku Matsuda who enacts the role of the main villain, Sato. His portrayal is second to none. His facial expressions are simply evil. All credit to him because during filming he was sufferring from Bladder Cancer, which sadly proved fatal shortly after the release of the movie.

The feature could've turned out to be something else if the casting was different. The role of the main villain, Sato was originally offerred to Jackie Chan but he rightly turned it down as he was conscious of his clean guy image. During the pre-production, Al Pacino and Sylvester Stallone were considered for Douglas's role but that didn't materialize. Anyway, the final product along with the cast is perfect.

The direction provided by Ridley Scott is great. He's reponsible for one of my favourite 80's action flicks.

The background music score by Hans Zimmer matches the feel and theme of the movie all the way. I thought the music made the film more exciting.

I watched the film back in 1991 on VHS and have since viewed it a number of times on Television and DVD. On each occasion the viewing has been equally enjoyable.

'Black Rain' is a stylish five-star Cop flick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars quite a good film, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Rain [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
The setting seemed unusual for a thriller type of film. Never the less, I would recommended it as its highly watchable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 1 Mar 2013
By 
M. Gowlett "mgow55" (united Kindom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Rain [Blu-ray] [1989] (Blu-ray)
The DVD is so poor of this Ridley Scott film, the blu ray is what you expect from it, lovely picture and sound. Tokyo at night is wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!!!, 24 Nov 2000
By 
Dworczyk Krzysztof (Warsaw/Warszawa, Poland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Black Rain [VHS] [1990] (VHS Tape)
Real masterpiece! Especially MR. D. and Garcia with his early spanish accent! Superb photo-work and Zimmer music. SEE IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars now on blu-ray, 29 Dec 2009
By 
James Chastney (Southern England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Rain [Blu-ray] [1989] (Blu-ray)
The classic 80's film now on blu-ray - picture and sound is a lot better on DVD even the old dvd playing on the blu-ray player. so worth buying even if you own the dvd for better viewing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Grainy print, forgettable film, 8 Dec 2013
This review is from: Black Rain [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
A run-of-the-mill late 80s cop film, the type of flick you'll expect to catch late on a Friday night on BBC 1. The aspect ratio's incorrect, and also the print of the film is very grainy and in dire need of remastering. Maybe it's better on blu-ray?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black Rain [Blu-ray] [1989]
Black Rain [Blu-ray] [1989] by Ridley Scott (Blu-ray - 2008)
7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews