Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrifying cat and mouse game with an amazing twist
I almost didn't watch this movie due to the bad reviews here on Amazon. I'm so glad I did watch it.

This movie is about an investigative reporter, played by Berry, and high profile advertising executive, played by Willis. The plot is very well paced with no lagging moments and was seamlessly acted by the cast.

This is not the usual, predictable woman...
Published on 13 Jan. 2008 by Mary Chrapliwy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Far from perfect, but good in parts
Before watching this film, we figured it was weird that we hadn't seen a psycho-thriller starring Halle Berry and Bruce Willis at the cinema; nor could we even recall the title. Bizarre, given that Giovanni Ribisi is another fave actor, and Gary Dourdan (from CSI) even makes a brief appearance.
Then, for the first half, we couldn't figure out what such a good cast...
Published 19 months ago by Rowena Hoseason


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrifying cat and mouse game with an amazing twist, 13 Jan. 2008
By 
Mary Chrapliwy (NJ, USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I almost didn't watch this movie due to the bad reviews here on Amazon. I'm so glad I did watch it.

This movie is about an investigative reporter, played by Berry, and high profile advertising executive, played by Willis. The plot is very well paced with no lagging moments and was seamlessly acted by the cast.

This is not the usual, predictable woman in jeopardy type movie. Predictability would have made it a complete yawn fest. Instead, the plot takes off relentlessly and culminates in a twist that will blow your mind. Also, there is more than one secret being kept. I can't say more as it might ruin the experience for future viewers.

Grab yourself a copy of this brilliant thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Average and trite, 24 April 2010
By 
It is difficult to speak about this film without spoiling any kind of pleasure because the suspense of this thriller is all contained in the several last minute revelations. Let say that The logic of the story is as simple as simple can be. A child who sees a crime will be traumatized for life and will become either a blackmailer or a criminal, according to the degree of involvement in the initial crime. Then the best cover up for your perversions is to become a journalist that will discover and publicize the little secrets of the powerful. And if the powerful you are targeting have no little secrets, then just build some for them and you may even send them to prison in your place, if you are swift enough. In other words there is only mud and manure in this world and those who carry most of it are those who expose others, and at times without any basis at all, just out of spite and jealousy, or fear and vengeance. The film is rather well done though it is not in any way outstanding.

Dr Jacques COULARDEAU, University Paris 1 Pantheon Sorbonne, University Paris 8 Saint Denis, University Paris 12 Créteil, CEGID
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Far from perfect, but good in parts, 4 Dec. 2013
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Before watching this film, we figured it was weird that we hadn't seen a psycho-thriller starring Halle Berry and Bruce Willis at the cinema; nor could we even recall the title. Bizarre, given that Giovanni Ribisi is another fave actor, and Gary Dourdan (from CSI) even makes a brief appearance.
Then, for the first half, we couldn't figure out what such a good cast was doing in such a stinker of a film...

The key character, Halle Berry's hotshot reporter came over like a silly hysterical wee girlie, not a hard-bitten Putlizer-prize winning journalist for a top New York daily. It was all just so silly; her shrieking reaction to getting a story spiked (and not having the evidence bagged long before confronting a dodgy senator); her squeaking 'I quit!' flounce out of one of the best jobs in the world, and her hamfisted, clumsy and wince-inducing undercover investigation into a business tycoon who may just have murdered her best friend.
For a while there, we came close to turning it off as Berry's performence was weirdly off-kilter.
And then things started getting interesting again. Her ex-boyfriend became a suspect in the murder. Then maybe it was the wife of the businessman. Then possibly her own researcher who turned out to have several skanky skeletons in his cupboard.
And by the end of the film we were totally engrossed, and thoroughly rewarded by the 90-degree turns that the plot took to reach its surprisingly conclusion.

Willis and Ribisi were excellent throughout. If only the early stages could have been a little less hyped and rather more considered, this could've been a really gripping thriller. Instead, it's an entertaining B-movie, definitely less than the sum of its cast.
7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Had its moments.., 19 July 2009
By 
Shena "Shena" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
"Perfect Stranger" is awesome for anyone who loves murder mysteries or thrillers. It had some really great twists and for me a totally unexpected ending! Halle Berry is brilliant in it and Bruce willis isn't too bad either. Defo worth a watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite the turkey it's made out to be, 21 May 2012
By 
chelios1981 (Glos, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
A film like most avoided due to bad reviews.

Some are unjust, in the fact the film is not quite the worst either main lead has done in the past (Colour of night or cat women spring to mind).

Both Bruce Willis and Halle Berry actually do quite well, given the fact that the plot spirals out of control on numerous occasions, with typical thriller red herrings thrown in for the sake of it, and some clunky script moments.

By far the best performance is the always reliable support of Giovanni Ribisi, who kind of steals the show as Halle's Geeky, alcohol fuelled sidekick trying to track down/entrap the killer of her friend, and of whom both suspect Willis of involvement.

The ending is one you are either going to love or hate as it goes for a 'twist' that is far fetched or quite clever depending on your mood or ability to forgive Hollywood attempting a another 'shock' twist.

James Foley, director of the classic Glengarry Glen Ross, directs with style, the lighting of the city is excellent as are the camera shots, but boredom does creep in quite quickly, as the film has little action, little violence , lots of talk and as it was advertised in trailers as some kind of erotic thriller, little sex.

A so, so thriller that could have been made for TV if not for the star power involved, however it does fill a couple of hours with some entertainment value, and worse has been produced by all concerned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Stranger, 24 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good plot well acted, lovely scenery. Halle Berry as always acted well and looked even better. The ending was surprising and perhaps a little far fetched but did not detract from what was a gripping film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Halle Berry delievers another great performance, 21 Jun. 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Halle Berry has long since been one of my favourite actresses. I hadn't heard of 'Perfect Stranger' until I stumbled across it, and whilst it isn't what I've regard as a five star thriller, it's great fun to watch from beginning to end.

Halle stars as investigative journalist Rowena Price who, despite her baggage which we subsequently learn about, is all to keen to dish the dirt on her subjects. After quitting her job when her latest big scoop is shelved, Rowena finds herself investigating the suspicious murder of her childhood friend. With the help of former work colleague and oddball friend Miles Haley (Giovanni Ribisi), she goes undercover to befriend wealthy advertising executive Harrison Hill (Bruce Willis), a secret lover of her dead friend, and find the evidence that will confirm her suspicions that he is the girl's murderer.

'Perfect Stranger' bombed in the US, and was only seen by UK audiences on DVD, but don't let it's lack of success prevent you from watching what is an easy to follow, and decent thriller. Halle Berry once again turns out another excellent performance, and is well supported by a good cast. The story is interesting, and ends with an unsuspecting twist. A squeal could have been made, but given it's far from warm reception in 2007, it is unlikely that a follow up will surface.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a brilliant thriller with some fantastic acting!, 23 Feb. 2009
By 
Matthew Fletcher "FletcheR" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am one of these people who go out and pretty much buy every Bruce Willis film there is!
When I saw the trailer for this film back in 07, I couldn't wait to get my hands on it.

There seem to be many reviews about of people slating this film, if you don't like thillers then don't buy it, (I was actually nearly put off by the reviews, but then read the decent ones and got it anyway - because of my love for Bruce) if you do and love a film that makes you think deep all the way through and then gives you an amazing ending, they I suggest you get it!

The film is based around three characters who, throughout, you learn more and more about, finding out thrilling secrets and plots, then to top it off, you get one massive clever twist at the end.

A clever film which entales three actors who do a fantastic job with their characters!

Don't read ANY spoilers, go into this film and enjoy whats to come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars interesting throughout and a good ending but not particularly thrilling, 23 Nov. 2007
Perfect Stranger was one of those psychological thrillers that was interesting to watch but never scary - the only time I was on the edge of my seat was when I was getting up to make a cup of tea half way through!
Giovanni Ribisi played a nice but nutty guy on the sitcom Freinds and was pretty good at playing the nasty and nutty guy on this film.I hadn't seen Halley Berry before but she was okay in her role as the investigative journalist.Bruce Willis was acting in a role that just didn't allow him to display his natural aggression enough.Once you've seen him in a Die Hard movie it's hard to stomach the idea that he only beats up one man in
Perfect Stranger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Decent plot with a nice twist, 28 April 2008
I don't want to spoil anyone's enjoyment so I won't divulge much of the plot except to say that the final 15 minutes makes a slow build up worth sitting through.
However, the acting from Halle Berry & Bruce Willis is well below par & the film would probably have benefitted from actors with more depth & range to their talent; having said that, Giovanni Ribisi's performance is good so all was not lost.

So, if you're looking for a film to pass a couple of hours then this may do the trick but if you'd like something deeper, choose something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Perfect Stranger [UMD Mini for PSP] [2007] [US Import]
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews