Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flashdance
I first saw this movie in the 80s, I was divorced and bringing up 2 boys on my own. I loved her independence. She knew what she wanted and went for it. I loved the dancing scenes, her leg warmers were the norm then, we all wore them. She had a job that i thought was amazing for a women. The energy and purpose of her life was only a dream for me. Its fun right from the...
Published on 18 Feb 2011 by Lorraine

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars To be collected for the soundtrack only
This is one of the most naive movies ever, but priceless for an 80's disco fan.

Liviu, 80's disco fan
Published on 22 Feb 2010 by Liviu Dan Georgescu


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flashdance, 18 Feb 2011
This review is from: Flashdance (Special Collectors Edition) [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
I first saw this movie in the 80s, I was divorced and bringing up 2 boys on my own. I loved her independence. She knew what she wanted and went for it. I loved the dancing scenes, her leg warmers were the norm then, we all wore them. She had a job that i thought was amazing for a women. The energy and purpose of her life was only a dream for me. Its fun right from the beginning.I never get bored with the music or the movie and its characters. You laugh and cry, sad and happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flashdance Blu-ray "What a feeling", 15 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. Steven Clark (Heathfield,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Paramount have finally released Flashdance on Blu-ray Region A and B,and what a fantastic upgrade from DVD.

Blu-ray video quality:

Continuing the theme of contrasts, Lyne and cinematographer Don Peterman (Men in Black) shot a movie about artistic aspiration in the gritty urban style pioneered by Lyne's countryman Alan Parker for Fame (1980). Lyne then softened the imagery by dispersing smoke into the air in almost every shot such that, according to editor Bud Smith, there were always a few takes that couldn't be used because the actors were obscured. (Midway through production, the studio panicked and ordered that no more smoke be used, and Lyne posted an assistant to watch for the approach of any studio people, so that the smoke machine could be hidden before they arrived.) The result is an often soft, delicately colored image of a type that has gone almost entirely out of fashion in today's world of digital photography and post-production.

Paramount/Warner's 1080p, AVC-encoded Blu-ray is a superb rendition of Lyne's and Peterman's vision, as it was seen by audiences in 1983. The grain and texture of the imagery have been retained without diminishment, but they never become obtrusive (unless one is allergic to even a hint of grain). No attempt has been made to compensate for the original photography's softness with digital tools, which is the correct choice, because the image has fine detail that artificial sharpening or excessive contrast could easily overwhelm. Besides, Lyne and Peterman carefully designed Flashdance for visual contrast between the muted everyday world and the garishly "hyper-real" stage show at Mawby's, with its intense colors and bright lights. A Blu-ray treatment that failed to render both ends of this contrast accurately would not do justice to the film. This Blu-ray does.

Blacks are deep and accurate, and shadow detail is properly rendered in places where you're supposed to see it. Minutia of hair, faces, costumes and the rusting Pittsburgh cityscape are readily discernible, even if they don't pop off the screen in every scene (they're not supposed to). The average bitrate of 26.44 Mbps is sufficient for the rapid dancing scenes, primarily because there are more than a few episodes of simple, quiet conversations in between. In any case, I saw no compression artifacts.

Flashdance was released in Dolby Surround and has been remixed for 5.1, which is here presented in lossless DTS-HD MA 5.1. As is typical of Paramount's remixes, the approach is conservative and does not attempt to create gimmicky rear channel effects where none are warranted. The stereo separation in the original mix was often effective in placing sounds of such locations as the steel mill to the left or right of characters, and those effects have been preserved. Otherwise, the chief beneficiary of the lossless multi-channel treatment is the historic soundtrack. The songs sound airier and more "opened up" than I have ever heard them before, from the moment Irene Cara's voice comes in over the opening titles. The dialogue is occasionally overwhelmed by Giorgio Moroder's instrumental score, but this has always been the case with Flashdance. The sound mixers understood what was important, and dialogue took a backseat to the beat.

Paramount has released four DVD editions of Flashdance. The first in 2002 was featureless. A "special collector's edition" in 2007 added the array of features that have been ported over to this Blu-ray; that edition was reissued in 2010 (without the "special collector's edition" label) under the same cover used for the Blu-ray. In between, in 2009, Paramount re-released the featureless disc as part of their "I Love the 80s" series but included with it a limited edition CD of the soundtrack.

Note that all of the featurettes listed below are essentially part of the same documentary, cut up into segments.

The History of Flashdance (1080p; 1.78:1; 14:43): Lyne, Bruckheimer, associate producer Lynda Obst, Michael Nouri and actor Kyle T. Heffner (who played Richie the cook and aspiring comic) discuss the origin of the project, although there is reportedly much more to the story than they relate. For example, no mention is made of the involvement of other directors, although Brian De Palma was reportedly attached for a time, before leaving to make Scarface.

The Look of Flashdance (1080p; 1.78:1; 9:13): The same group, plus editor Bud Smith and costume designer Michael Kaplan, discuss the film's visual style, especially its costumes.

Flashdance The Choreography (1080p; 1.78:1; 10:10): The important new participant here is choreographer Jeffrey Hornaday. Lyne also discusses the various stunt doubles used to transform Beals into an extraordinary dancer, as well as the "dancing cop" sequence.

Flashdance: Music and Songs (1080p; 1.78:1; 6:14): Giorgio Moroder and music supervisor Phil Ramone are the key participants here. (Note that Bruckheimer says he always referred to the film as a musical.)

Releasing the Flashdance Phenomenon (1080p; 1.78:1; 8:53): Bruckheimer, Lyne and others discuss the film's release and its surprising success.

Teaser Trailer (1080p; 1.78:1; 1:31): Tantalizing.

Trailer (1080p; 1.78:1; 1:58): The trailer is effective, and it includes some quick cuts of footage that did not make it into the final film. Unfortunately, no deleted scenes appear to have survived.

I don't know when Flashdance will be released in the U.K but their is no need to wait, buy this U.S version with confidence it plays on U.K players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting!, 6 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flashdance (Special Collectors Edition) [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this film. The special features are really interesting, telling us about the history of the making of it from the director's point of view. The film itself is both exciting and moving. The costumes and make up, along with the fantastic dance routines, are magnificent. Even though Jennifer Beals is not a trained dancer and the main dance, that wins the audition towards the end of the story, is made up of several different dancers, it is so well orchestrated and choreographed, you cannot tell that it is not her good self! other dances throughout the film are magnificent. Needless to say the soundtrack is brilliant. On the whole a great film, timeless and an inspiration to any generation. Well worth watching - this is definitely a film that Jennifer Beals fans must see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 11 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flashdance (Special Collectors Edition) [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
Truly amazing retro fun, thoroughly loved watching this again....and again! Put it on and I defy you not to tap a toe or have a dance round the room I dare you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not quite realistic but likeable, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flashdance [DVD] (DVD)
A day job welder dancing in a night club? Is the message that a girl needs some help from a man with some connections? That is why her friend did not succeeded? Mostly entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars flashdance., 28 May 2009
By 
Ms. Rebecca J. Connelly "becz" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Flashdance (Special Collectors Edition) [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
my mum got me into this film and the fact that i saw Jennifer beals in the l word,the film itself is awesome great dance moves great soundtrack so take your passion and make it happen!!lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars American Dream, 9 Oct 2002
By 
Babe (London, England United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Flashdance [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Flashdance is more than a collection of great 80-ies pop songs, although even just that would make it a worthwhile watch. Alex, an 18 year old (played excellently by Jennifer Beals) is a steel worker, who also works as a bar dancer at night, and dreams of entering Classical Academy and becoming a ballet dancer. But she is not the only one with the dream - 2 of her friends also have dreams, unfortunately they both fail. Alex also fails at first, but in the end she makes it. So this is a great motivational movie - it shows you that you can achieve whatever you want, and that you just have to keep on going, and not be put off. So, if you ever need to be motivated - do go out and watch this movie!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A simple must., 10 Sep 2002
By 
This review is from: Flashdance [DVD] (DVD)
As a former figure ice skater, this movie is just one of those you never forget. The music is to many maybe a bit too typical, but it has passion. Every time you hear it, even after many years, you just turn up the volume.
Jennifer Beals puts down an amazing performance, as a dancer and as an actress. I guess the story comes down to the fact that reality bites, that life is tough, but if you push hard you just might make it. Or, if you just like dancing, the movie is pure inspiration!
Romantic, exciting, classical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 21 Jun 2014
This review is from: Flashdance (Special Collectors Edition) [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
Awesome main theme song by 'Irene Cara' and well done Jennifer Beals..even when she was doubled up by a MAN for the DANCE sequences. Overall BETTER than "Fame". Health advice..beware of the 'Strobe' light segment. You can watch in the dark. But only for about 1 minute. Great Movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD., 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flashdance (Special Collectors Edition) [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
I must be the only person who has not seen this DVD. I have not had time to watch it yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Flashdance (Special Collectors Edition) [DVD] [1983]
3.43
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews