Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brave attempt to capture the character and her surroundings
This film had been given unprecidented lousy write-ups before it even appeared. Certain musical icons had bees in their bonnets and may have even taken legal action to prevent their likenesses being portrayed and their reputations taking a little dent. This has resulted in the biopic of Edie Sedgwick having more than a few telling ommissions. A pity.

The...
Published on 15 Sep 2007 by Ms. Felicia Davis-burden

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good performances, but a rather tepid and tame biopic
Factory Girl is the story of the comet-like rise and fall of Edie Sedgwick (Sienna Miller), an elfin Sixties society girl who briefly found fame (or infamy) as part of Andy Warhol's New York clique and who died of a barbiturate overdose at the tragically young age of 28. The root causes of her self-destructive behaviour are hinted at: her aggressive father, Fuzzy (James...
Published on 18 Nov 2007 by cathy earnshaw


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Top Rate Movie, 28 Aug 2013
This review is from: Factory Girl [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this film last night and am still feeling unsettled by it.
The story of Edie Sedgwick is told here with skill and but finesse, but it really shows the sadness in this woman's tragically short life.

Sienna Miller plays the part of Edie very convincingly and she is a joy to watch on screen, not only is she beautiful but she is captivating and after watching the documentary Edie Sedgiwck, the similarities, in terms of looks, are uncanny.

For those interested in the Warhol saga or indeed simply lovers of a top rate human interest story should investigate further. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars This had no region., 3 Jun 2013
By 
M. R. Boa "Aussie Marie" (Sydney Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Factory Girl [DVD] (DVD)
I can't watch on this dvd any of my dvd players as it won't accept as there was no region an I thought at least my computer would be able to player it but no show, not very happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ADORE, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Factory Girl [DVD] (DVD)
this film. So interesting and enjoyable to watch - maybe not got the happiest of endings ever, but if you're into fashion and art of any form, you will love the costumes and sets throughout this film. Sienna is amazing! As well as Guy Pearce.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FACTORY GIRL, 3 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Factory Girl [DVD] (DVD)
Very good performance by Sienna Miller. The atmosphere of the 60's Warhol Factory is well reconstructed. Great portrayal of Warhol and other characters too. Essential viewing for anyone interested in the period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars In Thrall to the Seventies Svengali, 17 April 2012
By 
AD Macnabb "Tony Macnabb" (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Factory Girl [DVD] (DVD)
Sienna Miller is pitch perfect as Edie and Guy Pearce horribly convincing as Andy Warhol in this biopic of Edie Sedgwick, one of his stable of "Superstars" whom he exploited ruthlessly by playing on their vanities and insecurities. The film drew a fair bit of criticism at the time of its release for being shallow and wandery. I think its narrative style and structure perfectly suit the subject matter - though the Bob Dylan character jarred a bit. It's no small feat on the director's part (and a great tribute to Sienna Miller as an actress) that the film makes us care about Edie - and tells a cautionary tale for our celebrity besotted times in the process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully made film, 20 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Factory Girl [DVD] (DVD)
People who know the story of edie and warhol, should take this film with a pinch of salt, its just a very good film, mostly for entertainment purposes, the acting is quite amazing. A story of romance, drug use, art & warhol, buy it and see, dont focus on the bad, its a film, just think of the amount of effort has gone into it, and with this film, alot has!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Stylish, engaging and moving, 25 Feb 2012
By 
Lendrick (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I watched this not knowing much about Edie Sedgwick and her relationship with Andy Warhol, so I had no preconceptions, nor any any knowledge of the apparent controversy around the film. I thought it was a very good film, Sienna Millers performance drew me in from the start and and utterly captivating and moving in its raw portrayal of Edies decline brought on by drugs.

Having since sought out some photos and clips of Edie on the internet it clear how much effort went into getting the look of the film just right, and it looks fantastic.

The film is not particularly sympathetic to Warhol, which perhaps accounts for some of the controversy. But it's the sections with the 'folk singer' which are perhaps least satisfactory. Perhaps inevitable given the threats of legal action hanging over them.

It's not an easy watch, the final third is pretty grim, but it's a better film for that.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Factory Girl, 11 Feb 2011
it definitely takes you back to the 60's and from the beginning it's full of fun.
I've never really been a fan of Sienna Miller but this film really shows how good at acting she is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'll be watching this over and over., 5 July 2010
This review is from: Factory Girl [DVD] (DVD)
If you like this genre of film, you will love it. And if you're interested in Andy Warhol or Edie Sedgwick then you will love this film. It seems that they've tried to keep the film authentic, remaking the factory videos with such accuracy that I had to do a double take as to whether they were the originals or not. Definitely worth a watch. There's everything you could want from a film: comedy, romance, tragedy, the whole lot. I'll be watching it over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Would Edie Sedgewick be pleased? I doubt it., 31 Dec 2008
By 
J. R. Turner "Jenny" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Factory Girl [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this film as I love watching films set in the 60s era, added to which Edie Sedgewick became something of a legend after her death and I was intrigued to see what was so special about this woman.

Despite a fantastic performance by Guy Pearce, who played the fickle and (in my opinion) largely talentless Andy Warhol, I was truly disappointed in the lack-lustre performances of the 'supporting cast' and, I am sorry to say, in Sienna Miller's portrayal of the leading lady. One of the cover recommendations is that, "Sienna Miller's performance cannot be bettered". I would wholeheartedly agree with that statement - I think the part was far too big for her and she failed to capture the complex character that Edie Sedgewick undoubtedly was. I think a good effort was made but the character was over-played and there seemed to be a complete lack of empathy in the acting with what Edie Sedgewick must have felt.

Perhaps it was in the writing, or the direction (or lack thereof), but the story seemed to rumble onwards to the inevitable conclusion of Edie's overdose without ever explaining how or why the events transpired in the way they did.

The supporting cast of the 'musician' and associated hangers on were entirely forgettable and didn't add to the storyline in any way.

I'm not surprised that the film 'flopped', a biopic should focus on the characters involved, not attempt to prop up a weak storyline with countless 'arty' diversions and unnecessary sex scenes between people who didn't matter to the plot.

The subject was poignant and would have made a good and thought-provoking story - a child abused by its father and the adverse impact of this... if the other characters had been developed to support the story, it might have worked.

As it was, without Guy Pearce, the film wouldn't merit even one star, in my view. Guy Pearce's portrayal of Andy Warhol was enigmatic and believable - I always thought that Andy Warhol was vapid, self-absorbed, sycophantic and lacking any kind of talent... except that of a Svengali-type manipulator - and Guy Pearce played the part to perfection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Factory Girl [DVD]
Factory Girl [DVD] by Illeana Douglas (DVD - 2007)
3.86
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews