Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars join this 3 men on Their boat for a good laugh... it will be a good clean fun.
(the film)--
Three men-about-town want to get away from it all and decide to take a boat ride on the Thames. George is happy to get away from his job at the bank. Harris is glad to get away from Mrs. Willis who is pressing him to marry her daughter Clara; and 'J' is more than anxious to take a holiday from his wife, Etherbertha. George meets three girls, Sophie...
Published on 27 April 2012 by S. F. husseiny

versus
16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A RATHER SLOW ROW ON THE THAMES
I suppose it was always going to be difficult to bring J.K.Jerome's classic tale to the big screen. The book, if I recall, is very descriptive of the places they visit as well as being humorously narrated, and I'm pretty sure the three men ( and a dog ) went further afield and had more adventures than they do in the film. There was also no romantic interest, so what you...
Published on 29 Mar. 2008 by C. Kingswell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars join this 3 men on Their boat for a good laugh... it will be a good clean fun., 27 April 2012
This review is from: Three Men In A Boat [DVD] (DVD)
(the film)--
Three men-about-town want to get away from it all and decide to take a boat ride on the Thames. George is happy to get away from his job at the bank. Harris is glad to get away from Mrs. Willis who is pressing him to marry her daughter Clara; and 'J' is more than anxious to take a holiday from his wife, Etherbertha. George meets three girls, Sophie Clutterhouse and sisters Bluebell and Primrose Porterhouse, who are also taking a ride up the river, and he hopes to see them again. The travelers get into all kinds of complications with the weather, the river, the boat, food, etc. They do connect with the girls again and when things appear to be becoming interesting for the men, Mrs. Willis and her daughter and Ethelbertha show up and things become even more interesting.
The cast are delightful in their comic turns, which even use slapstick that is rather amusing it's delightful to see how society didn't allow women of standing to simply meet men without a formal introduction first ..
this film has impeccably-mannered gentlemen and shy modest young ladies.with Jimmy Edwards as Harris, Laurence Harvey as George and the very dapper David Tomlinson as J - the surrogate Jerome. For the love interest encountered along the way, the three men meet up with Shirley Eaton as Sophie, Lisa Gastoni as Primose and Jill Ireland as Bluebell.
8 years on frrom this film Shirley Eaton as the stunning sexy, smart and attractive blonde, (Jill Masterson) she found definitive cult stardom in 1964 with her final golden moment in a certain "007" film.
and also Jill Ireland, of course, went on to appear in Robbery Under Arms and met her future husband, Charles Bronson
The film was directed by Ken Annakin who went on directing The Battle of the Bulge and Swiss Family Robinson and The Call of the Wild

((Three Men in a Boat)) reflects a vision of Edwardian England that is largely forgotten now. it is a well-produced British humour from the 1950s The script is very funny also, alive with good one-liners, and it stands the test of time as a light-hearted Marvellous Comedy ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back in Time with "Three Men..", 20 Oct. 2013
By 
A. W. Wilson - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Men In A Boat [1956] [DVD] (DVD)
They don't/can't make them like this any more, and that's OK-Time and all of us move on, but for a bit of nostalgic fun I think you could do far worse than watch this Network Release. A lovely Scope transfer, although the colour is just a bit dodgy in places, helps the lovely scenery and sets the mood perfectly. Apart from Harvey who I (and others) feel is miscast, the actors all do well. I particularly liked Edwards, even tho he was his usual bluff self. The best, for me was saved for the end, when those great oldies A.E Mathews, Miles Malleson, and Ernest Thesiger get involved in a cricket match. Sublime! The girls come out well with all three showing what good talents they would develop (Shirley Eaton, Jill Ireland and, to a lesser extent Lisa Gastoni). All 87 mins were a joy for me and it only just misses 5 stars because quality wise it perhaps leaves just a bit to be desired, but highly recomended to all lovers of British Comedy and just a fun film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A RATHER SLOW ROW ON THE THAMES, 29 Mar. 2008
By 
C. Kingswell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Men In A Boat [1956] [DVD] (DVD)
I suppose it was always going to be difficult to bring J.K.Jerome's classic tale to the big screen. The book, if I recall, is very descriptive of the places they visit as well as being humorously narrated, and I'm pretty sure the three men ( and a dog ) went further afield and had more adventures than they do in the film. There was also no romantic interest, so what you have here is a very loose adaptation of the original story. There are some chuckles to be had, especially from Jimmy Edwards as Harris, whose irascibility and ineptitude is always fun to watch, but David Tomlinson as 'J' seems a little laid back and Laurence Harvey's oafish ladies' man George becomes rather annoying. In fact, Harvey looks a little out of place here, as he is not a comic actor.
The best moments are when they ( and numerous other people ) get lost in Hampton Court's maze and when their feeble attempts at putting up the boat's cover in the pouring rain result in their spending the night getting soaked to the skin.
The three lovely girls they pursue are played by Jill Ireland, Shirley Eaton and Lisa Gastoni. There is also a welcome appearance by Robertson Hare as a photogapher at the Henley Regatta.
All in all, it's not a bad film, but it could have been better.
The film is in widescreen and has been remastered for this dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three Men In A Boat, 18 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Men In A Boat [1956] [DVD] (DVD)
I saw Three Men In A Boat in the late 50s and having read the book and listened to it on Audio Books, in recent years, I was very keen to get hold of a copy of the DVD as it never seemed to be on TV like most old classics. It was every bit as good as when I saw it
as a youngster and the digital remaster made it flawless. It is a great story full of innocent fun. Jimmy Edwards fans will adore it.
I may be swathed in nostalgia these days but is that so bad? Three Men In A Boat is a hidden gem which I am so pleased I unearthed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A typical 1950s comedy, 10 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Men In A Boat [1956] [DVD] (DVD)
The title page says it all: Freely adapted.
If you like a close adaptation of the brilliant book by Jerome K Jerome you may well be disappointed with this film.
If you like a harmless slap-up comedy film of the old British film style, this film is for you.
Tomlinson and Edwards are definitely up to brilliant form and well chosen characters for J and Harris. Harvey is a reasonable match, but not my favourite.
The story has been much messed around with. J is married, Harris about to be engaged and George pursued by legions of girls (in the book they are all bachelors) and there is no pursuit of girls in the book. Locations mentioned in the book have been much neglected leaving a slap-stick comedy of three foolish, incompetent but loveable men in a boat (not to mention the dog which could have been a little bit more cheeky). The scenes in the Hampton Court maze and the lock are classics and for those alone it's worth watching the film on a Friday night after a hectic, busy week with your feet up, relaxing ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 3 Men in a Boat, 12 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Men In A Boat [1956] [DVD] (DVD)
Bought as a nostalgia trip, because this was the first film my parents took me to see at the cinema. To modern audiences it will seem slow, but reminded me of a time when life was so much simpler. For anybody who does not know the plot of Jerome K Jerome's book, it is about the adventures of 3 Edwardian gentlemen (and a dog), who go for weeks boating holiday on the river thames. The films main stars David Thomlinson, Laurence Harvey and Jimmy Edwards, who are backed up by a host of 50's British film stars, including early rolls for Jill Ireland and Shirley Eaton. By modern standards the picture and sound quality are only just acceptable, but for me this adds to the period charm. If you want an exciting film, don't buy this, but with mild slapstick no sex or swearing, it is a film you can let your 5yr old son or daughter watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice film, 28 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Men In A Boat [DVD] (DVD)
Having read the book a few times, they follow it quite well, but the humour can not effectively translate from the page to film.
there is no replacement for reading the text
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A comedic misfire, 21 Dec. 2010
By 
The CinemaScope Cat - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Men In A Boat [1956] [DVD] (DVD)
Set in the 1880s, a carefree bachelor (Laurence Harvey), a married Man (David Tomlinson), a gentleman (Jimmy Edwards) being pushed into marriage by his girlfriend's mother (Martita Hunt) and his dog take two weeks vacation boating down the Thames river in order to get away from their women troubles. Based on the popular novel by Jerome K. Jerome and directed by Ken Annakin (THOSE MAGNIFICENT MEN IN THEIR FLYING MACHINES), it's a rather labored farce with lots of pratfalls and slapstick but very little genuine laughter. The men are portrayed as addled oafs which makes them unappealing rather than endearing. There is one amusing sequence in which Edwards attempts to lead a group of people out of a maze but gets lost instead but other than that it's sluggish. Harvey shows little talent for farce (the pity is, he shows little talent for anything else). Three lovelies brighten up the film for awhile: Shirley Eaton (GOLDFINGER), Jill Ireland and Lisa Gastoni. Shot in CinemaScope. With Adrienne Corri and Ernest Thesiger.

The Network DVD from Great Britain is in the film's original 2.35 CinemaScope format but the transfer is on the soft side with muted color.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars memories of messing about in boats, 9 Jun. 2009
By 
Keith "Dinosaurwhosings" (marlow, buckinghamshire, U.K>) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Men In A Boat [DVD] (DVD)
The practice text my Russian wife reads to help in her English language studies contains extracts from several classic English books. When she asked me to listen to her reading from 3 Men In A Boat, I immediately recalled what joy the original book gave me when I read it - probably 45 years ago!. This DVD was bought very cheaply from Amazon, and is a slightly slapstick snapshot from the original written word. A short film cannot hope to convey the impish, tongue - in - cheek hilarity of the book, but this is a good attempt, with excellent performances from the well-known,mainly English, actors and actresses of the mid 50s. One should'nt expect image quality to be up to modern digital expectations and in this respect, the film shows its age ( don't we all!).
Nonetheless, this DVD provides excellent value and provides a most amusing evening of classic entertainment. I would recommend this DVD highly, and if it encourages the viewer to read ( or re-read in my case) the wonderfully clever and evocative works of Jerome K. Jerome, I wouldn't be surprised!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Although I loved the book..., 8 Sept. 2007
This review is from: Three Men In A Boat [1956] [DVD] (DVD)
... (I think I've read it at least 6 or 7 times when I was a kid, and 3 or 4 later), the worst mistake made by Mr. Annakin was to not keep close to the original story, and try to replace the real fun in it by some kind of farce he mistakingly thought to be funny (except for a short moment with the french actor/piano player Christian Duvaleix (doing a little bit of the routine he did with "The Branquignols" (who were very much in favor with the late Queen's Mother at this time).

So, now I'm very much convinced that the only Annakin's movie worth seeing is "Those Magnificent Men...", and that we're lucky he directed only a small part of "The Longest Day"....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Three Men In A Boat [1956] [DVD]
Three Men In A Boat [1956] [DVD] by Ken Annakin (DVD - 2007)
£5.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews