Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ITV drama at it's chilling best
The complete series of Cold Blood finally arrives on dvd. It was delayed because ITV made a final episode which wrapped up the series nicely. Serial killer Brian Wicklow (played by Matthew Kelly) is locked away in prisoner and plays a cat and mouse game with detective Eve (played by Jemma Redgrave) and ex con Jake (played by John Hannah). I won't go into plot details and...
Published on 19 Jan. 2008 by David

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good beginning & end, but ...
This is a strange series - the first two episodes establish the three main characters - two murderers and a detective. One murderer is a serial killer and locked away for good, the other is (apparently) a perpetrator of a crime of passion who seeks redemption after his release. So far so good ....

... the next two episodes seem to be disconnected from the...
Published on 12 Aug. 2011 by taiaha


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

63 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ITV drama at it's chilling best, 19 Jan. 2008
By 
David (SPECTRE Island) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Blood - Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
The complete series of Cold Blood finally arrives on dvd. It was delayed because ITV made a final episode which wrapped up the series nicely. Serial killer Brian Wicklow (played by Matthew Kelly) is locked away in prisoner and plays a cat and mouse game with detective Eve (played by Jemma Redgrave) and ex con Jake (played by John Hannah). I won't go into plot details and ruin it for you but there a several "Silence Of The Lambs" moments. Needless to say there are twists and turns aplenty.

This 2 disk set cotains all 5 stories over two disks. The stories are Cold Blood, Cold Blood 2, Inteference, Dead And Buried and The Last Hurrah. Each story is excellent with only Dead And Buries being slightly weaker than the others. The supporting cast are excellent and include David Calder and Pauline Quirk. For me though, the scene stealer is Matthew Kelly who gives a chilling performance as the serial killer Brian Wicklow.

The picture quality is abit grainy on the first story but does improve. The sound quality is pritty good and the dvd is presented in 16.9 widescreen. The extras are abit limited - all you get is a Behind The Scenes featurette.

All in all this is a superb dvd package and well deserves the five stars I have awarded it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Thriller, 26 Sept. 2009
By 
Trevor John Drury (Qatar. Middle East) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Blood - Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Although Matthew Kelly seems an unlikely choice for the central dark figure, in fact he gives a star performance. The series is often dark and bloody but very intense and full of unforeseen twists. This is very much an English Hannibal Lector and it has a compelling plot and script.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cold Blood - Complete Series, 15 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Blood - Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I never knew Matthew Kelly could act like this - he really gives the WOW factor. I think this is a good series and is just as repeatedly watchable as the Cracker/Trial & Retribution/Prime Suspect et al dvds. Well worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent crime thriller, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Blood - Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I have really enjoyed watching this boxed set of a series that I missed the first time around. Although it sounds as if there are only a couple of episodes here you actually get all of the instalments which amounts to about 6 hours worth. The actors are all superb and the characters well drawn and believable. The stories are genuinely chilling but what I really like are the psychological insights that the writers have brought to this series. It is a superior piece of television drama and I would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 27 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Blood - Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I have to admit I bought this series mainly because I saw a clip of Russell Brand as John Hannah's stalker. I was intrigued by it and ordered the box to see how the funny man did drama. It only took a few minutes and I was captivated by the story, the brilliant writing and the superb acting. This is one of the best drama I've ever seen. When I'd watched the last episode I wanted to watch it all over again.

John Hannah's portrayal of a broken man, Jake, just out of jail for killing his wife and her lover, is heart-gripping. His feelings for old time friend Eve (Jemma Redgrave), who is a detective now make things even worse as she asks him for help in the case of serial killer Brian Wicklow, performed sensationally by Matthew Kelly, because they once where cellmates and Jake knows how Wicklow ticks. But Wicklow realizes Eve isn't working alone and starts to sets out for revenge - from inside the prison walls!

It really is fascinating to see how Wicklow, while in prison, is still able to manipulate people. I'd never heard of Matthew Kelly before (I'm german), but his performance here is one of the best I've ever seen. While playing a genuinely likeable old man he is one of the scariest villains I've come across.

And for Russell? His character doesn't appear that much, but I wasn't disappointed. This was the Wicklow-show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good beginning & end, but ..., 12 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Blood - Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This is a strange series - the first two episodes establish the three main characters - two murderers and a detective. One murderer is a serial killer and locked away for good, the other is (apparently) a perpetrator of a crime of passion who seeks redemption after his release. So far so good ....

... the next two episodes seem to be disconnected from the opening, and our redemption-seeking murderer has suddenly become a psychological profiler based on the fact that he spent some time in jail with the serial killer (whose actual crimes we never discover). Mmmmm. The fourth episode is actually dreadful - muddled writing & barely coherent plot not helped by baffling editing - and the military scenario depicted is simply laughable. It all seems like filler, really.

The final episode draws things together from the two openers, but still leaves the viewer in suspense even as the final credits roll ... or it could be that the writer didn't know how to finish it all! Would have had an extra star if it hadn't been for that fourth episode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Matthew Kelly is scary!, 5 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Blood - Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Who knew that the very pleasant Matthew Kelly had such a dark side? He is manipulative, scheming and pure evil. I really loved the series it was excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD, 3 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Blood - Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Arrived promtly. Excellent viewing....thoroughly enjoyed! Has now seen Mathew Kelly's acting abilities in a whole new light. A absolute must see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Blood - Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
really good series its a must watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 23 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Blood - Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Not that impressed but different people like different things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cold Blood - Complete Series 1 [DVD]
Cold Blood - Complete Series 1 [DVD] by Matthew Kelly (DVD - 2008)
£12.77
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews