Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars94
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.22+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 May 2009
"Bless me Father for I have committed an indiscretion. Last night I was tempted into watching a film which mocks all that ice skating holds dear. I was seduced by the cover and took it home in a brown paper bag. Yes, it was wrong. Yes, it was absolutely ridiculous. No, it doesn't exactly break new comedy ground. The story line is predictable. Mmm - two male skaters who, after being thrown out of ice skating for having a girlie punch up on the podium and a subsequently depressing period trying to make a living, end up competing in the pairs competition. No, they hate eachother (obviously), bond eventually (naturally) and attempt a move which has only ever resulted in disaster. I can't possibly reveal the ending because it is just so totally unpredictable. OK, I'm lying. Sorry. I have just watched something which is rude, crude, ludicrous and extremely funny. It doesn't matter who the actors are really, Father, because they are reprising old roles. What does matter is that I think, after a hard day in your office, when you're worn down by the cares of the world and the seriousness of life, you should go and borrow this yourself. You may not be able to admit that you enjoyed it in polite company but you probably will. Throw caution to the winds, take it out in a brown paper bag, rent "Zoolander" and "Dodgeball" at the same time and have an evening of madness and merriment. It worked for me. The important thing is not to be snobbish about it. It's camp, crazy and a bloody good giggle. Ooops. Another indiscretion."
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2007
This is an incredibly original comedy, that even my mother found funny! Will Ferrell and John Hedder are excellent as adversaries turned reluctant allies. They are olympic figure skaters, who disgrace the sport and then are banned for life. They hit on a loophole to allow them to skate again, as pairs. You will laugh, and you will love this film!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2007
Whilst flying hostess offered headphones to watch this film, at £3 I didnt bother, carried on reading, occasionally looking up at the screen I started just to watch , didnt have a clue what was going on, couldnt hear a word being said, but on visuals alone it was so funny, tears were rolling down my face (might have been the altitude)

Since then Ive seen this film again ( with sound), and realise its daft, silly but a great laugh.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 August 2007
If you're looking for some hot totty in Lycra then I'd suggest grabbing a copy of Dancing on Ice instead. All you get in this film is the incredibly feminine and not particularly attractive Jon Heder, and the simply disgusting Will Ferrell. But anyhoo, onto the film!

Chazz Michael Michaels (Ferrell) and Jimmy MacElroy (Heder) are bitter enemies on the ice rink. So much so, that they brawl in front of thousands of fans and officials on the podium of the skating championships. Their behaviour gets them both banned from professional skating for life. A few years later and Michaels is in a bad way, performing in kids' ice shows in a giant wizard outfit whilst blind drunk. MacElroy is working in a skate store, selling skates and accessories.

MacElroy is banished to the stockroom one day, and he is approached by his deranged stalker who gives him some news that will turn his life around - due to a loophole in the skating rulebook - although MacElroy can't ever compete in men's singles skating, he can in fact compete as one of a pair of skaters. The excitable MacElroy immediately talks to his ex-coach to persuade him that it's possible he can skate again - and win.

After some initial reservations, Coach is back on board and manages to find MacElroy a skating partner just in time to sign up for the next Championships - Chazz Michael Michaels.

The two bitter enemies have been forced together in the worst way. However, all comes right in the end and they're able to work as a team, which is fortunate, considering they have more enemies than they bargained for...

I really enjoyed this. It wasn't the best film I've ever seen, but it was funny and not predictable, pretty cheesy too. But a good laugh. Those into cheesy comedy films will love this.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2007
In many respects, I would say I don't go for the low-brow option in anything. And that's not snobbery, that's just personal preference. But, when it comes to Will Ferrel, he has a way of making the low-brow genius, quite frankly! I was already a big fan of Anchorman and Zoolander (Mugatu is a fantastic character) and had endured some of his not so funny comedies just out of pure belief that he does have a decent grain of comedic talent. So, Blades of Glory did not dissapoint! Both Ferrel and Heder (who is sublime in Napoleon Dynamite) play their roles perfectly and the whole film sends up figure skating beautifully, much in the same way that Zoolander sends up the modelling world. If this is generally your kind of comedy, then this film is a winner. If not, then you'll probably just assume I'm a numptie.
33 comments|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2007
I am not normally a big fan of Will Ferrell - his films can be very hit or miss - i had a feeling this one may have been a miss , but i was surprised how much i enjoyed it, and it got better and better as the film went along - giving more and more laughs . The fact Ben Stiller was one of the producers will have helped - recommended for a good night in watching the TV .
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2007
There is absolutely no reason why I should like this movie. It's jockstrap humour at its most extreme; there is no real story to follow, the characters are utterly two-dimensional, the staging is brittle and yet- and yet- I have seen this three times now, and my stupid laughter throughout elicited tuts and raised eyebrows from the 397 people on the plane who hadn't seen it. The rest just smirked. Because, in spite of it all, this is pretty close to comic genius: for a first go round for both directors and screenplay writers, it is a phenomenon. There is no reason in the world for you to enjoy this movie, but I strongly suspect you will. Highly, highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2007
An underdog sports film that pits the effeminate Heder with the roly-poly Will Ferrell.

The plot is ridiculous and farcical, many of the characters two-dimensional and hackneyed, some of the script is appalling, some of Will Ferrell's delivery is TOO much like Ben Stiller in Zoolander (I expected him to say he was incredibly GOOD-looking every couple of minutes), Will Ferrell's wig and almost-botoxed face distracting and the skating sequences almost 100% body-doubled, in some cases 'masked-up' with faces 'painted' digitally onto moving bodies, BUT...

...there were some extremely funny moments which made it worth watching: the sound of my chortling wafted far over the English countryside...

Buy this if you like Dodgeball and Zoolander. If you don't, you won't like this. Four stars.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2007
this is a fine film,alot better than i expected if the truth be conveyed to the world,this is a silly comedy that works on most levels,two rival skaters who loathe each other banned from doing what they love due to their hatred for one another and join forces as a duo to get back some pride and glory,so they have to learn to like each other in their rather icy enviroment and attitudes.
Will ferrell steals the show and commands domination of the script as well but it all flows so well,i cant say i screamed with laughter that i needed breathing apparatus but i will say i was entertained and i did laugh so a nice 3 stars out of 5,certainly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2009
The film is great - funny, silly and over-the-top. The Blu-ray is better than the DVD. One problem (hence 4 stars) is that the Blu-ray really exposes the face replacement CGI on some of the skating sequences. It's not the end of the world but it does jar. Admittedly you could see the CGI on the DVD version but with the added resolution and detail here, it is quite noticeable. However this is more than made up for by the super sharp titles during the skating intros and by the extra rich and deep colours on the crazy costumes. Very highly recommended! Oh... and some of the extras - seemingly the same ones as the DVD release - are nice in HD!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.