Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I should not find this funny. But I did.
"Bless me Father for I have committed an indiscretion. Last night I was tempted into watching a film which mocks all that ice skating holds dear. I was seduced by the cover and took it home in a brown paper bag. Yes, it was wrong. Yes, it was absolutely ridiculous. No, it doesn't exactly break new comedy ground. The story line is predictable. Mmm - two male skaters...
Published on 15 May 2009 by R. Griffiths

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars solid stuff !
this is a fine film,alot better than i expected if the truth be conveyed to the world,this is a silly comedy that works on most levels,two rival skaters who loathe each other banned from doing what they love due to their hatred for one another and join forces as a duo to get back some pride and glory,so they have to learn to like each other in their rather icy enviroment...
Published on 17 Sept. 2007 by sean paul mccann


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Warning: *SILLY FILM* - please leave your intellectual expectations at the door, 19 Sept. 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blades of Glory (2007) [DVD] (DVD)
If you're looking for Ingmar Bergman, this won't be the film for you!

This is a film to put on when your mates are round after the pub has closed and you all want a good laugh - the storyline is linear, the characterisations large and brash. All the better for it too.

It reminds me of Rob Reiner at times, in the way that the director cuts to interviews with the main protagonists and presents scenes through the form of television shows. But this writer and director are new generation Rob Reiners - ones who have spent too much sniffing the gluepot to be accorded the reputation that their more serious forerunners received? Maybe so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Fun, 10 Sept. 2007
This review is from: Blades of Glory (2007) [DVD] (DVD)
This is a really breezy film that mocks the whole pretence of the ice skating fraternity with tongue firmly in cheek. Will Ferrell is excellent as the plot/ script sticks to a basic line without going off at a tangent or dragging the film on too long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'Dodgeball' meets 'Zoolander' on the Ice Rink!, 12 Oct. 2007
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Blades of Glory (2007) [DVD] (DVD)
Blades of Glory is a very enjoyable film after, what is, quite an average start. It does take a while to pick up the pace, but once you get a grip of the characters, it keeps getting better until you'll laugh out loud at the fantastic finale.
4 Stars is the fairest rating - it does start slow, but if you stick with it, it just keeps getting better! The plot is nice and simple, the acting is pretty slick, and the humour is nothing less than expected of Will Ferrell!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars They laughed at Louis Armstrong when he said he was gonna go to the moon, 7 Mar. 2010
By 
A. Willard (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blades of Glory (2007) [DVD] (DVD)
Two rival ice skaters tie for the gold medal and manage to get banned for life when they fight on the podium. They decide to bury their differences and enter the pairs competition... I'm sure there must be something in the rules about same-sex partnerships but hey realism is not really this film's strong point.

Does ice-skating need the mickey taken out of it? Doesn't it do a perfectly good job without any help from Will Ferrell? Before seeing this film I would have said yes - but the sight of Ferrell as Chazz Michael Michaels being `sexy' on the ice dressed in a tight jump-suit with his gut hanging out makes the film worth seeing by itself; and there's plenty of other silliness. This film is not a great work of art or likely to make you think for too long but it is funny - and sometimes that's enough.

There's some really great bad hair - even the normally less than hirsute Craig T. Nelson gets stuck with a real fright wig. There's plenty of sexist jokes and the whole thing is very camp but somehow with Ferrell it's all inoffensive, there's no points being scored it's just for laughs.

It's not as funny as 'Anchorman' but it's very entertaining and doesn't outstay it's welcome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good old fashioned fun, 24 Sept. 2007
By 
Ray Blake (Hemel Hempstead, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blades of Glory (2007) [DVD] (DVD)
This is a laugh out loud movie. The hit-and-miss Will Ferrel is on top form here, and the supporting cast is just right. Inevitably, this will be compared to 'Dodgeball' and it's not quite ready to steal the top sports comedy crown from that film, but it's close.

Actually this owes quite a lot to the old cop films where two mismatched partners eventually come good. It reminded me more than a little of 'Tango and Cash'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different., 9 July 2007
This review is from: Blades of Glory (2007) [DVD] (DVD)
I was a female watching this film, a female who was not impressed with Will Ferrell to begin with,- in a male dominated viewing, with male dominated humour and a male dominated cast.

I laughed my bloody sox off!!!!!

It was literally one of the funniest things I had ever seen. I laughed out loud many times, and I do not do this often! It helps that ice-skating is an interest of mine, so it was refreshing to see a new spin (or axel- teehee!) on things.

The actors play their roles magnificently, typecast or not. When you watch a film, you want to enjoy it. If the actors are comfortable with what they are doing, why change things????? They can deliver, we can enjoy. Beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very funny and never a dull moment, 14 Nov. 2007
This review is from: Blades of Glory (2007) [DVD] (DVD)
Loud costumes, loud actors,argumentative and competitive characters, brilliant choreography, and the most unlikely storyline I've seen in ages make this great entertainment.The extras section of the dvd has lots of interviews with production staff and actors and not one of them can talk sensibly or sanely.Just watch the movie - these people are scary in real life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really funny!, 5 Feb. 2009
By 
Dr Evil (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Blades of Glory (2007) [DVD] (DVD)
`Blades of Glory' stars Will Ferrell as Chazz Michael Michaels and Jon Heder as Jimmy MacElroy who are both figure skaters and are banned from any future competitions for life after tying for the gold medal and fighting about it on live TV. Years later, Jimmy's crazy fan sees a way that Jimmy can join professional ice skating again by joining the doubles competition. The only person who seems good enough to be his partner though is the alcoholic sex addict Chazz.

I wasn't expecting much from this to be honest as I didn't think much of Ferrell's other sports comedy, Semi-Pro but I was pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed this film. There were so many laugh out loud moments and typical Will Ferrell humour and as a fan of his other films like Anchorman, Old School and Talladega Nights, I found this film absolutely hilarious. It's not the most memorable film I've ever seen but is brilliant none the less. For fans of Ferrell or ridiculously over the top and insane comedy, this film is a definite must watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! Made me laugh so much!, 19 Nov. 2007
By 
L. Eddie (Aberdeen, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blades of Glory (2007) [DVD] (DVD)
Not being a big fan of either of the main actors, I was apprehensive about watching this film, but I totally loved it! The mix of childish and adult humour (some innuendo) appealed to my sense of humour for some reason. If you're looking for a light hearted, feel good film then this is worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slap on the Lycra, 20 Nov. 2007
This review is from: Blades of Glory (2007) [DVD] (DVD)
Sometimes you never know what you are going to get when you buy/rent movies, and with this one it was no different. I went for this film because I needed to have a laugh and it didn't let me down.

It's got some very funny scenes and has to be watched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blades of Glory (2007) [DVD]
Blades of Glory (2007) [DVD] by Will Speck (DVD - 2007)
£3.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews