Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars98
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£1.67+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 19 September 2008
If you're looking for Ingmar Bergman, this won't be the film for you!

This is a film to put on when your mates are round after the pub has closed and you all want a good laugh - the storyline is linear, the characterisations large and brash. All the better for it too.

It reminds me of Rob Reiner at times, in the way that the director cuts to interviews with the main protagonists and presents scenes through the form of television shows. But this writer and director are new generation Rob Reiners - ones who have spent too much sniffing the gluepot to be accorded the reputation that their more serious forerunners received? Maybe so.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2007
This is a really breezy film that mocks the whole pretence of the ice skating fraternity with tongue firmly in cheek. Will Ferrell is excellent as the plot/ script sticks to a basic line without going off at a tangent or dragging the film on too long.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Blades of Glory is a very enjoyable film after, what is, quite an average start. It does take a while to pick up the pace, but once you get a grip of the characters, it keeps getting better until you'll laugh out loud at the fantastic finale.
4 Stars is the fairest rating - it does start slow, but if you stick with it, it just keeps getting better! The plot is nice and simple, the acting is pretty slick, and the humour is nothing less than expected of Will Ferrell!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2010
Two rival ice skaters tie for the gold medal and manage to get banned for life when they fight on the podium. They decide to bury their differences and enter the pairs competition... I'm sure there must be something in the rules about same-sex partnerships but hey realism is not really this film's strong point.

Does ice-skating need the mickey taken out of it? Doesn't it do a perfectly good job without any help from Will Ferrell? Before seeing this film I would have said yes - but the sight of Ferrell as Chazz Michael Michaels being `sexy' on the ice dressed in a tight jump-suit with his gut hanging out makes the film worth seeing by itself; and there's plenty of other silliness. This film is not a great work of art or likely to make you think for too long but it is funny - and sometimes that's enough.

There's some really great bad hair - even the normally less than hirsute Craig T. Nelson gets stuck with a real fright wig. There's plenty of sexist jokes and the whole thing is very camp but somehow with Ferrell it's all inoffensive, there's no points being scored it's just for laughs.

It's not as funny as 'Anchorman' but it's very entertaining and doesn't outstay it's welcome.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 September 2007
This is a laugh out loud movie. The hit-and-miss Will Ferrel is on top form here, and the supporting cast is just right. Inevitably, this will be compared to 'Dodgeball' and it's not quite ready to steal the top sports comedy crown from that film, but it's close.

Actually this owes quite a lot to the old cop films where two mismatched partners eventually come good. It reminded me more than a little of 'Tango and Cash'.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2007
I was a female watching this film, a female who was not impressed with Will Ferrell to begin with,- in a male dominated viewing, with male dominated humour and a male dominated cast.

I laughed my bloody sox off!!!!!

It was literally one of the funniest things I had ever seen. I laughed out loud many times, and I do not do this often! It helps that ice-skating is an interest of mine, so it was refreshing to see a new spin (or axel- teehee!) on things.

The actors play their roles magnificently, typecast or not. When you watch a film, you want to enjoy it. If the actors are comfortable with what they are doing, why change things????? They can deliver, we can enjoy. Beautiful.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2007
Loud costumes, loud actors,argumentative and competitive characters, brilliant choreography, and the most unlikely storyline I've seen in ages make this great entertainment.The extras section of the dvd has lots of interviews with production staff and actors and not one of them can talk sensibly or sanely.Just watch the movie - these people are scary in real life!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 February 2009
`Blades of Glory' stars Will Ferrell as Chazz Michael Michaels and Jon Heder as Jimmy MacElroy who are both figure skaters and are banned from any future competitions for life after tying for the gold medal and fighting about it on live TV. Years later, Jimmy's crazy fan sees a way that Jimmy can join professional ice skating again by joining the doubles competition. The only person who seems good enough to be his partner though is the alcoholic sex addict Chazz.

I wasn't expecting much from this to be honest as I didn't think much of Ferrell's other sports comedy, Semi-Pro but I was pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed this film. There were so many laugh out loud moments and typical Will Ferrell humour and as a fan of his other films like Anchorman, Old School and Talladega Nights, I found this film absolutely hilarious. It's not the most memorable film I've ever seen but is brilliant none the less. For fans of Ferrell or ridiculously over the top and insane comedy, this film is a definite must watch!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2007
Not being a big fan of either of the main actors, I was apprehensive about watching this film, but I totally loved it! The mix of childish and adult humour (some innuendo) appealed to my sense of humour for some reason. If you're looking for a light hearted, feel good film then this is worth a watch.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2007
Sometimes you never know what you are going to get when you buy/rent movies, and with this one it was no different. I went for this film because I needed to have a laugh and it didn't let me down.

It's got some very funny scenes and has to be watched.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)