Customer Reviews


165 Reviews
5 star:
 (107)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have game
I have always been impressed with the Call of Duty series and I thought COD 3 was really a top game in terms of play and graphics.

But COD 4 has it beat and does it easily.

I have played the Demo on PC and 360 both are exactely the same graphically as I can see.

I now have the FULL PS3 version. All 3 appear exactly the same. Stunning. And...
Published on 9 Nov. 2007 by EnglishDeath

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great game but far to short
being a huge fan of previous call of duty games i was eagerly anticipating this one and it didn't disappoint in terms of graphics and gameplay but its major downfall, and the only reason it didn't get 5 stars, is that it is all over so fast! i am certainly no games master but i managed to finish the game in just 2 sessions of moderate length and although those were two...
Published on 27 Dec. 2007 by N. Jackson


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have game, 9 Nov. 2007
By 
EnglishDeath "EnglishDeath" (Staffordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I have always been impressed with the Call of Duty series and I thought COD 3 was really a top game in terms of play and graphics.

But COD 4 has it beat and does it easily.

I have played the Demo on PC and 360 both are exactely the same graphically as I can see.

I now have the FULL PS3 version. All 3 appear exactly the same. Stunning. And I mean Stunning....

Add the stunning looks to the classic gameplay and the updated time zone and you have a classic, must have game on all 3 platforms.

Then playing online is even better. This is THE game for fps online gaming and I do mean THE game. For me and I have to admit this is hard to say as I love the following games, but this beats gears and halo online.

As for the PS3, I have had to wait an entire year with a total of 2 games to play and November 07 finally the month I get some games for it.

Call of Duty 4 is a game you must own if you are a serious gamer. It oozes quality with every bullet.And on PC we can get higher resolutions. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


76 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars War is Hell. But it sure is Good, 11 April 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare (PC DVD) (Video Game)
It's fair to say, I have have never been in the army and hence never been to war. On the strength of this game, I don't ever want to be near the front lines.

Call Of Duty 4 is a seriously good game by any standards. I was new to the Call Of Duty series prior to this, not being a huge fan of WWII sim games and I was attracted by the modern setting, and very realistic graphics. I'm going to review the game on the single-player campaign, having not yet tried the online multiplayer, which I'm assured is fantastic.

You play 3 distinct characters in seperate, but interwoven, campaigns; "Soap" McTavish of the SAS, Sgt Paul Jackson of the US Marine Corps and eventually Lt Price of the SAS in a series of flashback missions. Each section handles completely differently. The US Marine ethos of rushing in en masse, all guns blazing is present; the SAS method of dodging from cover to cover, avoiding fire and picking your targets carefully in the dark; but the ghillie suited sneak-em-up mini-campaign is just sublime.

Being a walking shrub feels brilliant. Especially as an entire tank division rolls past you, so close that it almost flattens your fingers, without them detecting you. The tension that is ramped up as you are approached on all sides by hoards of bad guys or as you sneak under a truck while five men, mere inches away, have their backs to you is unsurpassed in any game. You can't help but break into a panicky sweat, whispering "they're gonna see me, they're gonna see me.."

The main campaigns are great too - bullets from your weapons genuinely feel like they connect. There is nothing cartoony about the punishment that your enemies can take as you visit death upon them. Shoot them, they die. You can absorb a bit more flak than they can, but this is probably a good thing from the perspective of making the game too damn hard to play. You can probably crank up the difficulty if you are hell-bent on suffering an early and lonely death, but for me that would make the game maybe a tad too realistic for comfort. If you're stuck in a firefight here, it's scary, disorienting, noisy and brutal. Just, I would imagine, like actually being there. Bullets hit you from all sides. Crouching behind cover does not help when they are behind you so you panic and try to move, then you're just pinned from all sides and nowhere is safe. There's no other game out there that can touch this scale when you are stuck in no-man's land and guns are blazing, literally everywhere around you. One sequence in particular, awaiting an evacuation in the abandoned radioactive city of Pripyat (see also STALKER) is incredibly intense as you are steadily overrun by what seems like an endless tide of assailants.

So that's the action. But the story is really very good - much better than you'd imagine, and (in certain moments) truly surprising! A lot of it develops around a conflict in "The Middle East" (somewhat non-specifically) which is a tad dubious but despite this you do still get a few properly jaw-dropping moments.

Slightly more morally dubious is some of the violence. You might enter a darkened room with your night vision on and see a panicked enemy soldier, shivering on the floor in a corner, yelping at shadows and firing random shots at thin air. But one sequence in particular makes you feel very uneasy; when you are in charge of the weaponry of a US warplane, all rendered in the grainy infra-red that we've all seen on news footage of smart bombs being dropped down chimneys. Wipe out a tiny enemy soldier and be rewarded with voice-overs such as "That's a good kill", or "watch it, we've got a runner", or worse still "Heh heh, I can see parts down there". To me that's just a bit inhuman and unnecessarily desensitising. But then again, if you've always wanted to be rewarded for killing from afar with vastly a ridiculously superior arsenal then I'm sure it will float your boat. It's just that, for me, the game feels a little too close to reality already, so this is just maybe a little too cold, even cynical. This is a very adult theme and it's worrying how many kids will play this. Perhaps I'm just eulogising though.

Despite this misgiving, I do strongly recommend Call Of Duty 4 as a gaming experience. As modern warfare shooters go, it's just about peerless in terms of what it puts you through. It looks outstanding, tension is almost unbearable, and these are the least wimpy guns I think you'll ever use in a game. Above all, it plays very, very well. You won't be disappointed in the single-player mode, but it's fair to warn you that you might well feel, at times, more than a little uncomfortable. To be fair though, I do believe that a good game should challenge you, and not necessarily just in terms of difficulty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant game, But DON'T buy if intended just for singleplayer!!, 21 Dec. 2007
By 
J. R. Marion "joem_jrm" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Many have said the singleplayer is too short/ too linear .etc. 4-6 hours? I really want to know if that completion is every level completed on veteran and all laptops collected.

It took me an estimated 10-12 hours (first time through with veteran, any other difficulty and it's too easy! maybe that's why you guys found it so easy) And I still haven't completed the bonus mission on Vet yet!

The campaign is full of perfectly-timed, stunning action pieces amongst you completing small tasks, and while it is quite linear, there are still plenty of approaches to take in different situations throughout each mission. On Veteren, the game focuses on speed, perfect aim and getting the perfect line to your next objective, The enemy AI, is much more responsive than other games I've played. The enemy now nows exactly where to attack, has almost perfect aim and, constantly bombards you with flashbangs and grenades if you're trying to hold up in one position, making you constantly on the move. The critism is that they don't always try and shoot you through walls, unless they're wielding a heavy machine gun.

The single player perfectly set me up for when I got my internet back up and running, and my god... what was I missing?

The multiplayer is a perfect mix of everything that is call of duty. Every weapon has an advanage in the right hands, and no longer are the smgs considered the "noob" guns. (you still have a good chance of getting kills with your pistol.) The perks and weapon options give you an endless amount of tactics, and the Rank and XP system makes you really work for you're PERFECT classes.

There is a very large number of good maps, all with different tactics for each game type, and each game type, well it's a perfect blend of the previous games, mostly focusing on team play (If you have a headset and a couple of friends it makes it so much more fun & further increases your options, at the expense of looking like a muppet!)

What more can I say, well tons. If this review seems like jumbled, unorganized prose it's because this game offers so much. And after the different types of gameplay in singleplayer, with the unthinkably vast amount of varying gameplay in the multiplayer, you'll be playing this well into 2008 and most probably 2009.

If you're a multiplayer gamer, or would like to get into it, Buy it! Now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the greatest FPS ever?, 15 Nov. 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare (PC DVD) (Video Game)
The dramatic return of Call of Duty to the PC makes a bold step forwards as the franchise breaks away from its World War Two mold and steps into the era of modern combat. Fortunately "bold" is something the Call of Duty franchise has always been good at, and COD4 is no exception.

Probably the most impressive element of the COD games has always been the gameplay. Ever since the days of Doom FPS fans have longed for a game that can bring to their desktops the carnage, chaos, mayhem and intensity of a genuine battlefield. The ability to bring this is what has always made this franchise one of the best in the business, and this latest installment does not dissapoint. The game plays and feels much like its predecessors, yet with some exciting additions. Obviously the 60 year change in setting brings with it an array of new weaponary and vehicles to enjoy, but more exciting are the changes in warfare these technologies have brought with them. You can storm buildings like a SWAT team (complete with some very realistic flash bangs), take out tanks with JAVLIN missiles, call in airstrikes, and perhaps the most exciting addition is the gillie suite that renders you almost invisible as a sniper.

Some other exciting improvements include the latest rendition of COD's AI, particularly noticable in friendly NPC's. Just watching them move around the battlefield is almost transfixing, they no longer look like robots with guns but move like you expect a soldier to move. And the graphics..... To be frank the game looks beautiful. Of particular importance on this point is the fact that you don't need a super computer to make it look beautiful like you do for quite a number of other recent FPS's. Obviously the meatier your graphics card the better it will look, but even on low settings the game renders well provided you can get a decent frame rate at your native resolution.

At this point I'm caused to ponder whether I've ever enjoyed a game more? Of course no game is without its drawbacks and there are inevitably a few areas in which we hope to see improvement before COD's next release. I think the game's biggest failing is its length. Various reviewers are reporting total gameplay times in the region 3 or 4 hours which I must say I find hard to believe, but I'm fairly sure the average gamer will have no trouble completing the game within a week of spare time (its probably about 7 or 8 hours in total for most players). This isn't helped by the game's pure addictivness which makes it nearly impossible to pull yourself away from once you start playing. The other major let down I found was the plot. This is the first time the COD franchise has stepped away from depicting real historical conflicts into a fictitious modern one, and the difference is noticable to say the least. Its not exactly a bad plot, its just that it feels entirely too much like its been ripped straight out of the next season of 24. Its good fun but at the same time entirely unbelievable, especially when the game starts to give enourmous emphasis to certain fictitious villainous characters. Of course we shouldn't let this spoil our enjoyment of the game as a whole, the plot was always going to be secondary to the gameplay (which is undeniably fantastic). Its just that you can't help but walk away with the feeling that what the game's producers really wanted to do was make a Call of Duty game based on the Iraq war, so they made it and then came up with a slightly ludicrous storyline (complete with dodgy Russians and an undisclosed Middle Eastern country - it really is like a storyline out of 24) to disguise it as something else so not to cause offense.

All in all, the game is fantastic. Even if it is a little on the short side its well worth the money (note; buy it here rather than off Steam, you save a tidy sum) for some of the most beautiful and intense FPS gameplay you'll ever have experienced
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great game, 9 Jan. 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Call of Duty 4 is a fantastic game. The graphics are great, and there is a lot of variation in missions, from raiding a television centre, to shooting people on rooftops from a helicopter. The missions have good structure, and always keep you interested. One slightly annoying thing is the infinite number of enemies; if you don't get to a specific point, then however many enemies you shoot from behind your pile of crates or whatever, more will keep coming. However it is easy to forget this small problem as you fight your way to the objective along with your (non controllable) team. The only major flaw in the single player is that it is too short.

The multiplayer keeps you occupied for far longer in my experience. There are plenty of maps, and up to 54 players on each one, you can play as whatever you like; sniper from long range, or with a shotgun from extremely close range. A really addictive part of the multiplayer is the level system, and challenges. As you level up you get rewarded with new weapons or perks (such as getting 3 grenades instead of 1, or being able to sprint further). This gives you an incentive to keep playing, and you can't help feeling proud when you unlock golden camouflage for your weapons. the only annoying part is when you can't walk anywhere without being blown up by multiple grenades or airstrikes, but this is only a challenge on small maps with lots of people.

Overall a great game with only a few problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic fun, Graphically stunning, Singleplayer a bit short., 14 Dec. 2007
By 
M. Strachan "M.S" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I had previously not owned or played any of the Call of Duty series, mainly because of the WWII setting which I played to death in Battlefield 1942.

The gameplay is fantastic, keeping the action flowing and the set-pieces are amazing. My favourite level was a "flashback" to Russia, around the same time of the Chernobyl disaster. Where you and a superior office are tasked with an Assassination. Felt great sneaking through the grass in full Ghillie suit, and theres a moment when the enemy closes in which is so cool.

My only dislike of the game is that its far too short. It took me about 8 hours or so to complete, which compared to other shooters is pathetic.

But never the less, the game that is there is fantastic. Graphically its beautifully realistic. The multiplayer portion of the game is great fun, similar in style to Counter-Strike but with an edge of Battlefield 2.

If your into online shooters it's well worth the investment, the single player campaign is short but not game breaking. A Fantastic, graphically stunning game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most Sensational Online FPS To-Date., 31 Dec. 2008
By 
S. Butcher (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Seeing as over 200 five-star reviews aren't convincing enough for you, here's another!

I bought Call of Duty 4 with my friend, after seeing the massive hype prior to its release, and it was an instant classic.

The first thing that staggered me, which I don't think anyone else has commented on, was the load up time. At the time, I had 2 Gig's of memory in my computer, and the game, once double-clicked, fully loaded in under four seconds. Play it twice or more in one day (therefore not a "new" task to the computer), it'll be under three seconds. No adverts, no branding, just click-to-menu. Might sound geeky, but it's seriously good.

The online play is almost quite literally FPS perfection. You create your own classes to give you greatest sense of security and power, by choosing from a variety of guns, from Ak47's to sniper's; M4's to uzi's; light machine guns (LMG's) to MP5's. You name it, you can have it. Along with the guns you get the standard secondary weapon as a pistol, a grenade, a 'special' grenade (stun/flash/smoke nades), and lastly three perks to add to your player. Perks, being additional skills and powers, like the ability to increase bullet damage, increase your health, have multiple grenades, possess rocket launchers, claymores, C4's, ability to reload your guns faster, run faster than normal - there variety is spectacular, no one player is alike - everyone is different in a certain way.

The game-play itself is staggering. It features the right balance between realism and still-a-video-game. It's very easy to get going, in a wide range of game modes and maps. If you enjoy pure fragging, there's the typical Team Deathmatch and Free-For-All modes; if you prefer working as a team, you should find Search and Destroy (standard bomb planting/defusing mode) exciting, along with other team-based modes. CoD4 has been designed so that there's nothing you cannot do, almost literally - it's insanely addictive.

The graphics are outstanding. People say Crysis beats CoD4 on the graphical front, whereas CoD4 crushes Crysis in game-play. That's rubbish, CoD4 wins by knock-out in both areas. It's beautiful to look at without any FPS lag issues.

If you claim to be an FPS addict, and you don't have this game, you sir are mentally challenged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fighting in a straight line;, 4 July 2008
By 
Koncorde (St. Helens, UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Bit of a belated review of a game I've owned since day 1 of its release. So lets get down to it?

Medal of Honor is a notoriously linear game. Call of Duty is a notoriously linear game. Indeed 90% of FPS these days are still veritable "rail gun" games featuring:

You.
Objective.
One approach.

That gets a bit old, very quickly. Medal Of Honor tried to spruce it up with their Airborne, but once you're past the initial parachute drop it's as linear as they come. Call Of Duty4 meanwhile sticks with the tried and tested formula. However they introduce superior set piece sequences, almost movie style scripted combat and a pretty solid plot line (decent characterisation, interesting comrades in arms etc).

Yes the badguys respawn until you in particular manage to get a particular number of yards down a path where the spawnpoint will reset - but at least your teammates aren't entirely useless.

Graphically the game is stunning, but in an entirely different way to Crysis. COD4 offers a seriously fleshed out urban experience, as well as dense foliage, buildings and vehicles.

Sound wise it's your usual bells and whistles production.

Gameplay - aside from having manually edit my config file to bind my particularly preferred settings, it worked as well as it ever has. Lean, jump, climb, duck and prone - and all serve a purpose.

The maps are sizeable and diverse, however (and it is a bit of a bummer) it's a one way in, one way out approach. There's a tiny bit of leeway for the approach, but otherwise you've got to do it the way it is scripted otherwise it wont activate the next series of spawnings. Annoying.

Fortunately the missions are all pretty well thought out. Most are varied and you'll have different approaches to certain missions depending on your 'role' in the team, and/or the type of combat.

Multiplayer is great - but recent patches have, somehow, made it less efficient and is causing lag issues.

Oh, and when you complete the game - hang around for the extra mission, it's one of the best and makes you wonder why there weren't more like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best COD So Far, 14 May 2008
By 
Shifty One "steve" (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Ment to post this when I first got it, which was on the first day of release.
I belong to a COD clan, and we all think that this is the best COD so far, well there are a few who still think the first is the best, and some that two was best, but overall this comes top.

I just love the vast array of weapons on hand in the game, and the way you can level up your man, "If Played Online".
There are lots of challenges as well, all of these I have done.
Now I am going through all the weapons, so I can get the top camo for each weapon,"Which is Red By The Way".
Once you have done say all the assult rifles you get a gold AK47.
The same with each weapon in the listing, "I Have Just Got A Gold Uzi".
Dont think for a minute that because you are a low rank it's harder to kill others who are higher than you, "It's Not".

So you see there are a lot of challenges, and benefits to be had from playing it online.
Plus as you make your way along you get things like perks, which you can add to a setup, ther are five setups you can save, and these can be changed by you at any time.
The perks are too numerous to add here, but one of my favs is dead silence, so no one can hear you.

Then there's deep impact, this enables you bullets to go through almost anything, including walls.
There's martydom as well, so when you get killed you drop a grenade in the hope it kills an enemy or the person who shot you, and last stand when killed you draw your pistol to kill an enemy nearby, or again the person who shot you, those are just a few, so you see there are many combinations you can have.
You can even use C4 just stick it anywhere, even on walls, wait for soemone to come by then just press the button, there are also claymores, these are triggered by infared.

The fun and the action does not stop there, get three kills, and call an airstrike in, get seven, and call in a deadly chopper.
These are just a few of the fun things in the game, there are many more as well.
Graphics are awsome, along with the explosions, and bullets sparking of walls.
If you have a fairly decent PC or graphics card try turning the garphics full up.
I have just bought an nvidia 8800 gt, which was fairly cheap, but runs this game on full settings with no problems.
All I can say is if you like FPS games you'll love this,"So Get It".
You wont be dissapointed.
Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, roll on the expansions, 22 Jan. 2008
By 
S. A. Brown - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Not having played an FPS since the orignal Half Life many moons ago, I decided to give COD 4 a try off the back of a friends recommendation. Whilst I cant give an objective view of COD 4 relative to its competition (Crysis, Battlefield 2142 etc), I can say that COD 4 is one heck of a good game.

The single player has a stong (admittedly heavily scripted) storyline which does drag you in, with some well placed shocks along the way. Certainly its the best implemented storyline in any game I have played, its just a shame that as so many before me have noted, it ends far too soon. Still it leaves room for an expansion pack or two (fingers crossed). The AC-130 mission and the epic sniper mission are simply outstanding.

The multiplayer game is also very very strong, not perfect by any means, but a lot of fun and really quite addictive. It employs a trick similiar to many online RPG's, namely levels for advancement, that keeps you coming back for more, just to unlock that next weapon or perk to make you soldier that little bit stronger. Like any pvp style game, there are balance issues, some weapons clearly having advantages over others, but then it is always the way and it never seems to be a particular issue as each weapon always has a weakspot. You are competitive from level 1, as it should be, and its is a lack of experience and map knowledge that holds you back, not the weapons you have at the start.

On the downside, the COD 4 developers needs to put some work in to both provide more maps (the christmas variant of an existing map in the 1.4 patch was welcome) and fix some of the outstanding issues - spawn points and lack of spawn armor / immunity leads to the possiblity of (the lesser skilled) people camping spawn spots to gain kills, and helicopters are available too easily given the power they have.

Having put in the equivalent of a week or so online playing so far (the game tells you), I can say that the hacking issue is far more misconception than reality. I have encountered 3 people that have been hacking, but without exception they have been quickly identified and banned from the servers they were on. If you are unlucky enough to play on a server where hacking isnt being prevented (extremely unlikely), then there's only another 12,000 or so servers to choose from...

I say hacking is a misconception as there is a steep learning curve to the online game, certainly having completed the single player, even in the harder settings, doesnt prepare you for the level of skill, cunning and knowledge of maps that some of your opponents have. Frustration in being killed (especially when you see it coming but are beaten to the draw) often leads people to cry hack rather than admit they were well beaten or poorly placed. It can create the perception people are cheating -"how did you know I was there?", "no way you shot me on the run like that" but almost always its down to ability and experience or game quirks (in the hardcore "bullets hurt more" mode, being shot once in the foot will kill you, making finding good cover very hard). There are not many maps (16 or so, although a few are weak), and once you get the knowledge of them and the common camping spots of players, the apparently impossible becomes possible. Its not hacking.

All in all, this is a great game well worth the money. The single player is awesome but short, made up for by the endless replay time given by the free online servers. Incredible, roll on the expansions and more maps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare (PC DVD)
Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare (PC DVD) by Activision (Windows Vista / XP)
£6.84
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews