Customer Reviews


289 Reviews
5 star:
 (232)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern Masterpiece
There isnt much that can be said about Call of Duty 4 that hasnt already. Single player is an amazing experience that shames everything else on the market. This is no exaggeration, as COD4 has left a serious shooter addiction. Level design is similar to Infinity Wards last offering, Call of Duty 2, but the modern setting reinvigorates a franchise in a heavily saturated...
Published on 15 Mar 2008 by Stevie G

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars First Class looks...
This game definantly falls into the next gen bracket on looks. Gameplay is challenging and immersive. Cannot comment on the multiplayer. The singleplayer is really good but short. The arcade mode is well worth a look. Would benefit from some sort of random play, like the Terrorist hunts on R.S.Vegas. But then I suppose that's where the Multiplayer comes in..... If you...
Published on 23 Jun 2008 by Drake


‹ Previous | 1 2 329 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best PS3 game out there, 22 Jan 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare - Game of the Year 2009 Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Finally after owning a PS3 for 5 months a game comes out that makes paying the console's hefty price tag. Put simply this game is nothing short of brilliant!!

Firstly if you have played a call of duty game before you will be in for a treat if you buy this game. Moving away from the previous World War II setting the game is now set in the present and is all the better for it. The graphics are brilliant but the selling point for this game and the reason you should buy it is the incredible online mode.

I have been playing online solidly for over a month now and I can't get enough of it. When you first go online you will be asked to complete certain challenges such as kill so many enemies with a certain weapon ie a shotgun or sniper rifle. For this you will gain experience points, the more you gain the more challenges you will unlock plus weapons and completing challenges improves your rank (general, leuitenant, colonel etc). Winning matches online is hard when you are a beginner but very rewarding. You can also use airstrikes and call in a chopper if you get enough kills in an online game.

To be honest the game has a single player but I have been pretty much ignoring it because the online mode is so incredible.

If like me you have had a PS3 for a while and have been waiting for a decent game to come along this is it. I have bought other games since I bought this but this has been taking up all my time.

If your PS3 is online BUY IT NOW!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Stars for a game that could possibly be perfect., 26 Aug 2010
By 
Ryan S.Cord (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare - Game of the Year 2009 Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Of all the Call Of Duty games to date, Call Of Duty 4: Modern Warfare shines brightly as the best of the series. Not just for the first modern take on warfare in the series, but the perfect balance in gameplay within all areas of the game. This really was a labour of love for Infinity Ward who had obviously put in alot of time and research to bring to the world what could possible be the perfect warfare game in terms of gameplay, single player and online multiplayer.
The single player campaign is a well thought out and planned story, right up to the bitter end and is a joy to play repeatedly. The extra level on the aircraft at the end is a nice touch to finish with and nothing more could be improved to complete the overall package.
Online multiplayer is where the addiction kicks in. An astonishingly well balance multiplayer is simple yet so enticing in it's simplicity. An allocated area to play within, means no one can run away, you can hide and camp but the conclusion from an experienced enemy is your own death. This encourages the run and gun tactic of movement, reaction and accuracy which in all intents and purposes is what makes the game so much fun and competitive. Guns recoil, reload and rattle with mesmorising realism, something very few games have managed to capture with such detail. The learning curve is very long for online play, may take many days of play to get remotely good but very rewarding with trained observation and skill.
You could argue the online MP can be problematic with poor connection issues, lag etc.. but these problems can be limited greatly by pressing your select button and checking your connection bar. If it's green, it's good. Red? or yellow? then look for another online match to join.
3 years since it's release and Cod4:Modern Warfare is still going strong online, each match still raises the adrenalin with it's fluid, immersive, addictive, perfectly balanced virtual warfare. And to be quite honest, this may possibly never happen again in video gaming history. This is STILL the best FPS this century. An astonishing accomplishment that will never be forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just a short review of the best PS3 game so far., 11 Mar 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare - Game of the Year 2009 Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Well I thought I would just write a quick review of a thoroughly enjoyable game, Call of Duty 4 on the PS3.

This is the only PS3 game that has been able to keep me entertained for more than 12 hours.... 77 hours at present to be precise, which is shamefully over 3 whole days, and that's only the online sector of the game! Even I am beginning to think I am a bit of a loser!

Anyway.. Call of Duty 4 has both online and offline components (including four player split-screen) and has deviated slightly from the previous three Call of Duty's. Infinity Ward replaced the 1940's World War II first person shooter by an up-to-date `Modern Warfare' title.

Offline
Offline, Call of Duty 4 is a very strong, yet excruciatingly short game with stunning visuals running at 60fps, good storyline, easy to master and natural controls, huge amounts of action and, in my opinion, a good amount of replayability as the missions can be attempted along non-linear routes.

The story sees you playing both as a US marine and as a British SAS operative. The game is split into a number of missions set in a variety of environments from ghost town resulted from a nuclear holocaust, to a cargo ship in the middle of a storm at night, to a bog. The campaign can be attempted on different difficulty levels so is suitable for newbie's as well as mature gamers.

Generally the missions are pretty straightforward, most of them you will be working as a team as part of an operation to either get from one place to another or to just eliminate AI in a full-on assault. There are also missions where stealth plays a large part, the most memorable being lying down in the middle of a grassland with enemy tanks and troops passing just inches away from you while desperately trying to stay hidden and out of view.

Objectives are marked on-screen by symbols and the HUD is clear and easy to follow with a small map showing surrounding friendly AI as green triangles and enemy AI as small red dots when they fire a weapon without a silencer. Health regenerates after a few seconds in cover, but it will not take many hits to kill so the best idea is to stay out of view of the enemy as much as possible.

The environments are all incredibly detailed with various objects to take cover behind and finding the perfect spots to take down the enemy in enjoyable but can be challenging especially on the harder difficulties. Some objects can also be fired through with more powerful weapons. This can be very useful in the right circumstances but does take a while to learn which objects are safe to take cover behind.

There is an adequate array of primary weapons including a number of; light machine guns, assault rifles, sniper rifles, sub-machine guns, shotguns as well pistols as secondary weapons. On the single player campaign the weapons will be set out ready and will not be changeable, however new weapons can be acquired by picking up those of fallen comrades.

Also provided is a knife, which can be used by just hitting R3, and is probably the most effective weapon in the game, killing enemies in just one swipe. This can be very useful in very close quarters as many of the weapons have poor accuracy at very closer range.

A number of grenades are also provided including stun, flash, smoke and of course standard frag. These all have a five second timer started by pressing and holding R2 (frag grenade) and L2 (special grenade) which can take a while to master but can prove deadly if used correctly.

There are also; slow motion, ragtime, black-and-white, sepia and a number of other special modes that can be unlocked when the game is completed by collecting hidden `intel' while playing. There is also an `elite' difficulty setting for some ultimate hardcore players

Online
The online portion of Call of Duty 4 is where the game really shines. The presentation is not traded for smoothness for online play and generally the game runs without noticeable lag with a few exceptions. The online maps are all recognizable from the single player campaign and are generally the correct size to ensure the best gameplay possible.

When first playing online there are limited weapons and modes available. The game contains 55 ranks, all with different symbols that appear next to your name, which can be acquired on an exponential point scale (i.e. levels 1-5 will require many less points than levels 50-55). Killing the enemy players, completing an objective or winning a game collects `Experience Points'. `Experience Points' can also be collected by completing various weapon and mission objectives (i.e. kill 150 enemy players with a certain weapon or `kill a bomb planter'). As well as unlocking new weapons, `perks' and weapon attachments are also unlocked.

`Perks' are basically extras that can be used to give an advantage over other players if used correctly. There are three classes of `perk' available and one from each `perk' can be used simultaneously.

The first `perk' class contains a number of explosive extras including claymore's (trip activated explosives), rocket propelled grenades, extra grenades, C4 satchels etc.
The second `perk' class includes extra health, deeper bullet penetration, UAV jammer (turns you invisible on enemy radar).
The third `perk' class includes `last stand' (when badly wounded you get one final chance to get revenge on the player that killed you by firing a pistol when lying on the ground), martyrdom (drop a live grenade when killed - probably the most annoying option in a game.. ever!)

A number of different weapon attachments and modifications are available for most of the weapons including grenade launchers, red-dot sights, ACOG scopes, silencers, grips (to make the weapon more accurate) etc. Extra camouflage can also be unlocked to ensure you blend in with the surroundings more effectively.

There are a number of different modes, each providing different objectives. The majority of modes see you working as part of a team of five or six players whether it's a team deathmatch, `domination' (capture the flag) or `headquaters' (take control of a designated base) but there is also a larger team based mode, `ground war' which includes up to 18 players and both team deathmatch and `domination' for full scale warzones. Also a lone-wolf free-for-all mode can be good fun for performing stealth kills. There is also and `old skool' mode where only pistols are available when respawning and weapon pickups are placed around the map. `Old skool' mode also enables players to move faster and jump higher in a more `Unreal Tournament' fashion.

Another great addition is bonuses for acquiring a number of kills in a row without dying. These are UAV (shows enemy players on the map for accumulating 3 kills), airstrike (get the chance to perform a deadly airstrike on a chosen part of the map, with 5 kills) and call in a helicopter (helicopter flies around the map for a couple of minutes and takes out any visible enemy players, for 7 kills). These can be very useful to help eliminate enemy players, but can also be incredibly frustrating if the attack is against your team.

Scores are all recorded on a global leaderboard showing your rank with number of kills, kill to death ratio, time played and other statistics against other players around the world.

The game overall will take a large number of hours to complete to level 55, but even that is not the end of the game. After level 55 you have the choice to enter `prestige mode'. Entering `prestige mode' will effectively places you back at rank 1 with only limited weapons and `perks' unlocked, the only thing remaining are your leaderboard scores. `Prestige mode' can be played through ten times each giving a new special symbol to show off to your opponents and prove that you have been playing the game for far too many hours!

Overall
There are a few pointers about COD4 that are not particularly bad but could be looked at for the next instalment of the game.
The online modes may be difficult to get used to if you are a newbie to online fps games as there are already a large number of elite players who will not go easy on players with lower ranks.

There doesn't seem to be enough good places to use a sniper rifle without being an easy target. Many players who are used to the maps know where the good sniping spots are already and these have become the first areas many players look when running into the danger zones.

Voice chat can be used when playing online. This is a good feature, however when playing with somebody who has music blaring down their microphone it can get frustrating, especially with the inability to mute individual players.

The servers are generally well equipped to deal with the large amount of traffic that they must receive, obvious from the hundreds of players online at any one time, however occasionally it can be frustrating when trying to enter a game for more than five minutes or for the game to be ended prematurely because the `host left game'. Luckily these problems do not occur continuously but when playing for many hours it can be testing. Generally players on any server seem to be matched pretty evenly, however I do sometimes feel for the players with ranks of under 5 who get placed with players on their 10 prestige! It isn't a particular problem, just something I thought I would mention.

The only other thing that would improve this game would be a better split-screen mode. At the moment split-screen is very limited. Although it caters for up to four players it has no option to play online or with bots so the game is just yourself against the other people sitting in the room with you. Obviously this means you can see exactly where they are and what they are doing so it's not particularly entertaining.

Overall the game is certainly worth buying and is essential if you own a console or pc that has a good connection to the internet and are a fan of first person shooters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST EVER FPS!... BUT OFFLINE...., 19 Dec 2007
By 
U. E. UMUT "EmrE" (London / UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare - Game of the Year 2009 Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Absolutely a great game. Swift game play, enhanced and more friendly controls (vs COD3) and amazing graphics. Single player mode takes you to another world as you really feel like you are part of the game thanks to the quality of the graphics and life-like effects. Cinematics scattered thru the chapters keeps your focus on. Although short, missions are interesting and intelligently designed to make you use every weapon the game offers. Much advanced than COD3, much more realistic than Resistance FOM, much more simple than Ghost Reckon and probably the best since Delta Force series in PC. It brings the effect of Delta Force Black Hawk Down to PS3 world. On the other hand, multiplayer online mode is absolute disappointment if you are used to play Resistance FOM online. Server times and not being able to talk only to your mates in separate channels are the two big issues, however, the swift gameplay is still there. Hope for an upgrade/patch for better online experience but will see. Despite the heartbreak in online mode, the game is so great that I could not go lower than five stars... A must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Next Gen Has Arrived..., 27 Jan 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare - Game of the Year 2009 Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
This game is without doubt the best First Person Shooter I've played on any platform bar none. At long last the term 'next generation', which has been banded about carelessly in recent times, has finally been realised when playing the single player campaign.

Never before have I witnessed such realism and intensity during the fire fights...full on 360 degree chaos ensues giving you little time to sit back and absorb the finer details which have gone into creating such scenes. Due to the nature of the non stop action which leaves you little time to catch your breath, I almost felt guilty for not having the time to appreaciate the programmers painstaking work. Infact, similar to a good film title, it's probably worth a second outing once you've finished the game (and that is something I have never felt necessary upon completing a game).

Graphics and animation are second to none.

The multiplayer, good as it is, is a little to run and gun for my liking but the single player stands head and shoulders above any of the other first person shooters on the market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peace and Quiet, 23 Nov 2009
By 
Bevy64 (Leicester ,England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare - Game of the Year 2009 Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
I would totally recommend this game to anyone who loves peace and quiet, this has kept my son and my husband out of my way since the day i received it , according to them it is 'the best game ever'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blown Away !, 25 Nov 2007
By 
Kevin Long "kevin_cambs_uk" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare - Game of the Year 2009 Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Nothing prepares you for just how good this game is on the PS3. The action is none stop, the graphics are just draw droppingly good, and the game play is awesome.

2 points spring to mind when I have played this game, once crouched behind a derelict shell bombed wall made of of those white breeze blocks, I was sheltering from enemy fire, and the enemy picked off the bricks from the broken wall which then fell to the ground, exposing me, it was mavelous to watch, and secondly running into a building for cover bullets whizzed past my head to hit the wall in front of me, thats how realism is portrayed in this game.

The on line games are out of this world. But don't get it of you have a whinging wife, cause once your on line you won't want to come off and boy your gonna get serious ear ache !

The locations are so beautiful, the desert bombed locations are fantastic, they look like there from the telly.

Cannot praise it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Superb, 18 Nov 2007
By 
SHANN "SHANN" (England, London) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare - Game of the Year 2009 Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Having read some of the other reviews there is a common feeling that the game is way too short. I share that feeling in part but this is more than compensated for by the sheer brilliance of the game play. Its absolutely fantastic in every area. Visually its stunning, the attention to detail is incredible and the game is constantly at an intense pace which for me sets it appart from other games I have played recently. I thought that Ghost Recon 2 was good but this blows that away. I got the same feeling I had when I first played the original ghost recon many years ago on the PC. Only other thing I would add is a multiplayer split screen on the campaign which would have been useful but thats being picky. Also, really enjoyed the bonus level for completing. Rarely do I label a game world class but this game qualifies for that. Its a giant leap forward in FPS and I look forward to any additions that come along. Buy it buy it buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest shooter ever., 24 Nov 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare - Game of the Year 2009 Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Being a huge call of duty fan i was really suprised when I found that the next installment was in modern day. I read review after review of the game and finally I had the money to buy it. I have no idea why Iwas so nervous when I put the game in, to be frank it is the greatest shooter I have ever played on. The campaign is insane but a little on the short side. The graphics is also so the best not only on the guns and character models but all the water affects and fine details on everything around you. It just adds to the look of the games, oh and the explosions are incredible. Where the real game lies is on online. I have played many great online shooters but COD4 just wipes them off the grid. So when the campaign is over don't think that it is. You will like me spend hours upon hours of your day online, it is a trully awsome experiance.

Don't even think twice about getting this game. buy it and I promise you that you will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy buy buy buy buy, 31 Dec 2007
By 
Mr. S. Lynas - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare - Game of the Year 2009 Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Why are you reading this tripe??? BUY IT NOW.

If you own a 360 like I do (I have both a PS3 and 360) then get the 360 version. Online play is far superior and graphics look a little deeper and polished. (Not by much though)

Online play is fantastic and playing through on Veteran is tough but the pride in having finished it on said difficulty level is worth the tears you will cry.

Get online now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 329 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare - Game of the Year 2009 Edition  (PS3)
Used & New from: £0.10
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews