Customer Reviews


298 Reviews
5 star:
 (240)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern Masterpiece
There isnt much that can be said about Call of Duty 4 that hasnt already. Single player is an amazing experience that shames everything else on the market. This is no exaggeration, as COD4 has left a serious shooter addiction. Level design is similar to Infinity Wards last offering, Call of Duty 2, but the modern setting reinvigorates a franchise in a heavily saturated...
Published on 15 Mar. 2008 by Stevie G

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars First Class looks...
This game definantly falls into the next gen bracket on looks. Gameplay is challenging and immersive. Cannot comment on the multiplayer. The singleplayer is really good but short. The arcade mode is well worth a look. Would benefit from some sort of random play, like the Terrorist hunts on R.S.Vegas. But then I suppose that's where the Multiplayer comes in..... If you...
Published on 23 Jun. 2008 by Drake


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern Masterpiece, 15 Mar. 2008
By 
Stevie G "Stevie G" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare - Game of the Year 2009 Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
There isnt much that can be said about Call of Duty 4 that hasnt already. Single player is an amazing experience that shames everything else on the market. This is no exaggeration, as COD4 has left a serious shooter addiction. Level design is similar to Infinity Wards last offering, Call of Duty 2, but the modern setting reinvigorates a franchise in a heavily saturated market. Its execution is flawless, with original, dark set pieces; like living the last moments of a middle Eastern President before he is executed, or experiencing a nuclear explosion firsthand.

Having played this regularly since its release, my only gripes are the fact doors cant be opened and there is no cover system. Yet these can hardly be called faults, as they in no way affect gameplay. Campaign mode is quite short, but the levels will be replayed again and again. Especially in arcade mode, unlocked after completing the main campaign. Kills convert to points, and combos can be performed by chaining them together. Which provides a new approach to previously completed levels.
Multiplayer has some inegnious ideas which add massively to proceedings. There's a level up system, based on total experience. Promotion opens up new game modes and options. The list is staggering and has set the template for online gaming. One of the greatest shooters ever made. As simple as that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Game of the year? Definitely!, 19 Nov. 2007
By 
Dr Evil (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare - Game of the Year 2009 Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
I've been a massive fan of the Call of Duty series from the start and I must admit I was a little concerned when I heard that the forth game in the series was going to be turning away from it's usual World War 2 setting and going to be based in modern times. Luckily though this new formula works really well and it a lot of ways even makes the series better.

First of all the locations are different and a lot better than in the previous COD games with place like Russia and theUkraine being the main settings, as opposed to the usual Normandy opening that has been in the last few. One level is especially atmospheric and even creepy where you take to the streets of Chernobyl. Next, the weapons and equipment are state-of-the-art, so expect the best in modern military technology at your disposal. The enemy A.I. is also top-notch where they will take cover realistically and will still fire at you once they have been shot, with their injuries taking them down.

The action is as chaotic and non-stop as you'd expect from the series and at points can be particulaly difficult. But the gameplay is so good that you really won't mind trying the sections again to be able to progress further. The graphics are probably the best I've seen so far on the next-gen consoles (PS3 & Xbox 360) and the lighting effects and character models are so realistic, you'll think you're watching a military video whilst playing through it!

Multiplayer is also excellent with so many different game modes including Free-for-All, Team Deathmatch, Team Objective, Team Tactical, Search and Destroy, Headquarters, Domination, Sabotage, Team Hardcore, Old School, Oldcore and Ground War, all of which can be played either online or on split-screen.

My only disappointments are that there is no co-op on the main campaign as I think that this would have made the game's lifespan last a lot longer and also the difficulty can be a little too hard at times. Other than that, this game is next-to perfect and overall this is one of the best games available at the moment and definitely is much better than the first Call of Duty games and is without a doubt the best game of 2007 in my opinion. Highly recommended,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Stars for a game that could possibly be perfect., 26 Aug. 2010
By 
Ryan S.Cord (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare - Game of the Year 2009 Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Of all the Call Of Duty games to date, Call Of Duty 4: Modern Warfare shines brightly as the best of the series. Not just for the first modern take on warfare in the series, but the perfect balance in gameplay within all areas of the game. This really was a labour of love for Infinity Ward who had obviously put in alot of time and research to bring to the world what could possible be the perfect warfare game in terms of gameplay, single player and online multiplayer.
The single player campaign is a well thought out and planned story, right up to the bitter end and is a joy to play repeatedly. The extra level on the aircraft at the end is a nice touch to finish with and nothing more could be improved to complete the overall package.
Online multiplayer is where the addiction kicks in. An astonishingly well balance multiplayer is simple yet so enticing in it's simplicity. An allocated area to play within, means no one can run away, you can hide and camp but the conclusion from an experienced enemy is your own death. This encourages the run and gun tactic of movement, reaction and accuracy which in all intents and purposes is what makes the game so much fun and competitive. Guns recoil, reload and rattle with mesmorising realism, something very few games have managed to capture with such detail. The learning curve is very long for online play, may take many days of play to get remotely good but very rewarding with trained observation and skill.
You could argue the online MP can be problematic with poor connection issues, lag etc.. but these problems can be limited greatly by pressing your select button and checking your connection bar. If it's green, it's good. Red? or yellow? then look for another online match to join.
3 years since it's release and Cod4:Modern Warfare is still going strong online, each match still raises the adrenalin with it's fluid, immersive, addictive, perfectly balanced virtual warfare. And to be quite honest, this may possibly never happen again in video gaming history. This is STILL the best FPS this century. An astonishing accomplishment that will never be forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic. Just Fantastic., 14 Nov. 2007
By 
Paul Munro "hndpaul" (Northants) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare - Game of the Year 2009 Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Having played the CoD games since the beginning on both PC and console, I have to say that this release blows my mind. It's actually quite revolutionary compared to the other releases (CoD3 being quite good in its own right), and this is seen not only in its graphical content (which is brilliantly presented) but also in the cinematic effects, story, and bonus features (arcade mode is a fantastic touch to an already great game). The power of the PS3 isn't really harnessed since I think this is a port, but even so the graphics are definitely going to be hard to beat on any platform. Online gets a "5" too- it is an amazingly fun addition to the game. Coupled with LAN party capability, split screen, and (as I said already) arcade mode there are hours of game play to be found here.

In its single player mode the game is no less of a beast- it is a little short, but the difficulty levels make up for that and add some longevity. I don't want to spoil the game for those that have yet to play it but one of the levels finds you thrown out of a chopper after a tactical nuclear weapon is let off during your extraction. The graphics and atmosphere here were nothing short of breath-taking. This game has guts and it's hard to find much wrong with it at all.

I would recommend this to all PS3 owners- it will no doubt be the standard for FPS for some time to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbe-freaking-lievable., 19 Jan. 2008
By 
Caleb Williams (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare - Game of the Year 2009 Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Well I bought this game with mixed thoughts as some of my friends had told me it wasn't anything special but let me tell you something this game is more than special, it is a classic that will live in the memories of gamers for years.

The campaign mode although short in length is nothing short of amazing in play. Not to say too much but as a previous reviewer pointed out there is a mission where a nuclear explosive is let off in a middle eastern city and your helicopter goes down as a result. The graphics for this scenario is nothing short of amazing and gives you a real sense of importance within the game. The big line battles are truly spectacular and on the harder difficulties can literally take you over an hour to get through them alive.

The online gaming is excellent too, no lag at all and you have to be on your guard all the time as you are more than likely to be shot from any angle.

This is a truly great game both graphically and within the game play size, some of the battles are pretty non-stop and it becomes just so much fun to just sit in a corner during the biggest campaign battles and sniping people off one by one.

Highly recommended for those who want to play one of the first amazing games on the PS3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, stunning , shocking and addictive, 11 Dec. 2007
By 
M. LITTLE - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare - Game of the Year 2009 Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
This is truly the best game i have ever played. First person shooters rarely bother me, but this?, WOW!

It has the incredible knack of making you feel that its YOU who is in the game, YOU that make your own ideas up at that point in time, knowing it could result in your death, their death or everyones death.

The graphics are brilliant, storyline spot on and the charachters are very well presented. The only slight problem i have is with the duration of the game. About 5-6 hour's and your complete. Tho it doesnt stop you from going again. The ending was a tad dissapointing but thats all.

If you are considering this game for christmas, birthday or just buying it for the sake of it, DO IT! i promise you, you will not be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reviews Matter!!, 23 Aug. 2008
By 
L. Pope "Althaluss" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare - Game of the Year 2009 Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
We all know how important customer reviews are as its the customers who, at the end of the day, expect to recieve fully finished quality products and for once (sorry sony) there is finally a game I am certainly not willing to sell - ever! This game is just simply stunning. Im sure most of you who have a PS3 and have several friends on your list will all be displaying 'Playing Call of Duty 4'. It's hard to imagine just how good this game is so im going to try a new method of approach.
Now imagine your 7 years old, your walking into a sweets store and the person behind the counter smiles at you and says "its your lucky day, your our 100th customer and everything to you in this shop is free". Now it takes a few seconds for the brain creamage to settle down as your feel your head explode with 100000 thoughts of pleasure at once. You look around, you smile, you smile some more, your eyes start to water and you go crazy <<< THAT is Call of Duty 4. Never have I seen a game with such excitement to play each day. The only game I can name that comes close (but a far second place) is Orange Box < Team Fortress 2. Most of us loved that game. It was funny all the way through and we didnt mind getting killed so much. COD4 however stands head to head with a Heavy, stares him in the face and makes him cry. If you dont have this game then your missing out of quite alot.
The single player is very good with very nice locations and atmospheres.
The story isnt weak like "bad guy needs to die" mission 2 .. "bad guy needs to die" in this game its all designed perfectly and its story is strong (though not final fantasy strong).
Multiplayer is where this game shines. You start of on Rank 1 and some basic weapons. You need to crawl your way up to rank 55. As your level up you aquire new weapons, attachments for new weapons, camo for weapons and 'perks'. The 'perk' system is very unique. You can create a mix of different battle perks such as extra fire power, faster reload, undetectable on enemy radar, increased health etc. You can only ever use 3 different perks but your free to mix and match how you see fit.
Just as an example mine are:
Slot 1 - 3x Flash Bangs (great for small maps)
Slot 2 - Stopping Power (each single bullet does double damage)
Slot 3 - Dead Silence (you will never hear me coming)

So, if you dont already own this game then add it to your basket and wait for the postey. Enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Total all-round amazingness - an instant classic!, 26 April 2008
By 
L. Green "Feltano" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare - Game of the Year 2009 Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Call of Duty 4 was one of the reasons why a bought a PS3. I had heard so much praise for it on the radio and on the internet i knew i just had to try it out. And boy am i glad i did! It delivers on every level from its slick graphics, well-written campaign mode and insanely addictive multiplayer online mode. Instantly accesible with controls that are easy to get the hang of and a game engine that consistenty rewards skillful play, you will find yourself completely and utterly hooked on this game.

There's so many great elements to Call Of Duty 4 i don't know where to start. The campaign mode is where you'll most likely first start - the missions start off easy and get progressively harder but the balance is measured out just right to ensure you never find yourself stuck. This mode can feel short but thats only because the pacing is so fantastic, the story plays out like a Hollywood action blockbuster as you play as both the British and Americans.

The characters are likable and well-written, a precious rarity in action-shooters and the levels are lush and expansive, taking full advantage of the console's awesome power. Often you'll find yourself stopping just to admire the surroundings!

But the mode where you'll be spending most of your time is multiplayer online. With a level-up system and challenged to complete in order to unlock new add-ons to your weapons, it'll have you playing for hours on end as you blast your way through short, snappy rounds. Pure fun! This speed is once again of the essence, unlike other online shooters i've played, the matches are short and in most game modes you respawn instantly meaning you never get bored and get to spend as much time in the action as possible.

I really like the 'class' system which initially offers you roles depending on your equipment - sniper, assault etc. But as you level up you can sutomise these classes to suit your style of play and ensure you perform to your best in the games. The levels are fantastic, each one genuinely demanding different tactics and ensuring you're always kept on your feet.

Truly though, the best way to understand why this game is so popular and has won so much acclaim is to try it for yourself. I wholeheartedly recommend this to anyone, even if you haven't been a fan of FPS games in the past, Call Of Duty 4 might just be the one to convert you. It is one of the most immersive games i've ever played and it is a given that this game will go down as one of the classics in gaming history. So go out and buy the game now! It's fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 10 April 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare - Game of the Year 2009 Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Infinity Ward have made the transition from WW2 to modern warfare perfectly. The graphics are excellent, and and the game has been designed tastefully. The game runs smoothly on my PS3. Not once has it jolted or slowed down. The array of weapons is not the largest I've seen, but is still very impressive. There are some submachine guns, light machine guns, pistols, sniper rifles and all manner of assault rifles. There are only 2 shotguns, but do you really need more than that? There is also the infamous RPG, and underbarrel grenade launchers for assault rifles. What's more the weapons go through infinite incarnations, as extras such as silencers, dot sights, scopes, grips etc. can be added to them. This is mainly a feature for the online mode, which I will get onto later.

Single player: First the bad news. I thought the campaign was quite short. I bought the game and finished the campaign in a single afternoon, and I'm not joking. However, the phrase 'short but sweet' has never been more truthfully applied. It is fantastic. You alternate between an SAS soldier and a US marine during the campaign, which keeps it alive as you constantly swich between landscapes. As SAS you have a sqaud of soldiers with you, and unlike most games, where you lead the squad, the squad in this game leads you. And properly too. The AI is brilliant. Your team-mates will get to cover, shoot and do all manner of other things very intelligently. Likewise, the enemies are challenging, as they also find cover and often try and flank you. They sometimes even hide and surprise you as you come past. The play keeps flowing well, with different situations constantly springing up. There is one level where you even take control of the guns on a plane and massacre a whole load of enemies.
All in all, the campaign is quite short, but thoroughly riveting, and very replayable.

Multiplayer: This part of the game really steals the show for me. It is one of the best I have seen since BF2, and has the potential to take away entire days if you get into it. Like BF2, it uses a rank system. Your soldier starts off at the bottom, and as you progress through the ranks, you unlock new weapons and abilities. If you like a weapon and play with it consistently, you will find that you unlock a bunch of goodies to attach to it. There are a good amount of game modes to choose from, from simple ones such as team deathmatch and free for all deathmatch, to complex team games such as Sabotage and Search and Destroy (which all the Counter-Strike players will recognise), and my personal favourite, the 1V1 cage match. It is very enjoyable and really has to be played to be properly appreciated.

To sum up, this game is truly worth the money and I fully recommend it. It surely will go down as a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent FPS With Supurb Graphics., 3 Feb. 2008
By 
crowscs (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare - Game of the Year 2009 Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
After buying a PS3 last august from amazon which came with "Resistance: Fall Of Man" and "MotorStorm" at that time the ps3's library of games was very small with very few games to play on the £400 machine.

Some time has passed since then and now the PS3 games library is really starting to increase with some of the best games ever being released this year, one of these games is Call Of Duty 4.

I decided to chance this game after not ever playing any of the previous COD games and i brought this game on release date after having such a small games collection.

This game is a FPS which focuses on the world war as you go from mission to mission killing rival soldiers and completing tasks which involve blowing things up you will travel as part of a team by car,boat and helicopter shooting and killing your enemies.

This game also has "Network Features" which i havent yet played so i cant comment much for the online mode but i have heard this game is compatible with the PlaystationEye camera.

Playing this game on my 40" Sony Bravia KDL-40V3000 1080P tv i did notice that my tv showed the HD resolution to be 720P for this game when it says on the back of the game box HD: 720P 1080i 1080P.

So you can only get 720P in HD not the resolutions it says on the back of the box just so you are aware but this game has excellent graphics on HD and excellent game play which will keep you glued to your screen for days even through this game is the shortest game i have ever played clocking in at around 5 hours this game is wicked if you enjoy FPS games as much as i do then i recommend you go out and buy this game NOW!!!.

I enjoyed this game so much i was just over half way through playing this game when i then decided to order Call Of Duty 3 from amazon.

If you do decide to buy this game and you go online my PSN ID IS: crowscs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare - Game of the Year 2009 Edition  (PS3)
£17.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews