Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5* Game
Brought for the Nintendo Wii and keeps me occupied for hours on Career mode, very fun for wrestling fans, excellent graphics could of had more weapons for ECW
Published on 29 Oct 2011 by jamh4444

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good fun but lacks content
'WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2008' is this year's installment from wrestling's leading organisation and is also the first wrestling game to come out for the Nintendo Wii.

GAMEPLAY - 4/5
I've not played a wrestling game since WWF Wreslemania 2000 on the N64 (which was brillant for the time) and haven't actually watched wrestling since about 1999, so I don't really...
Published on 14 Jan 2008 by Dr Evil


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good fun but lacks content, 14 Jan 2008
By 
Dr Evil (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: SmackDown Vs Raw 2008 (Wii) (Video Game)
'WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2008' is this year's installment from wrestling's leading organisation and is also the first wrestling game to come out for the Nintendo Wii.

GAMEPLAY - 4/5
I've not played a wrestling game since WWF Wreslemania 2000 on the N64 (which was brillant for the time) and haven't actually watched wrestling since about 1999, so I don't really know most of the roster, but it doesn't stop it from being a good fun game to play. All of the moves are performed by swinging the Wii remote a nunchuck in different directions, giving you a more interactive experience than frantically bashing buttons faster than the other player. This also means that you don't have to spend ages learning moves for each wrestler, as generally pulling a move off correctly is down to luck.

GRAPHICS - 3/5
The character models of the wrestlers (and the refs) are very realistic, both in the ring and during their entrances, but the crowd looks like they are made of cardboard and are not that much better than the crowds from the days of the N64 and the Playstation.

SOUND - 5/5
All the wrestlers have their original theme tunes when entering the ring. There's also loads of commentry from the Raw, Smackdown and ECW commentators and they seem to be in time and accurate with the action that is happening in the ring.

LIFESPAN - 3/5
Unfortunately this is where this game falls majorly. I've played the PS3 version of this game and there are over 100 different match types to choose from - Royal Rumble, Hell in a Cell, ladder and the 24/7 mode. Not here. On the Wii there's only 1-on-1, tag team, hardcore (where chairs are the only weapon) andTriple Threat. This is ok for multi-player but when playing through the Career mode in single player, it can get a bit repetitive. There's also a Tournament mode which is King of the Ring, but this is strangely only 1 player. Aside from the multi-player modes, the only thing that'll really keep you playing this for a long period of time is unlocking the Legends such as "Stone Cold" Steve Austin, The Rock, Bret "Hitman" Hart, Rick Rude, Rowdy Roddy Piper, Shane and Vince McMahon and Mick Foley (amongst a few others) in Career mode, which did really appeal to me as these were the superstars from back in my day.

OVERALL - 3/5
Although it is good fun to play making great use of the Wii's controls, there just isn't enough content here to keep me interested long enough and will only be coming out when playing with friends now that I've unlocked all of the Legends. So unless they sort this out in next year's installment, I think I'll be getting Smackdown vs Raw 2009 on the PS3 instead, as there is endless amounts of fun on that version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing much do., 14 Nov 2007
By 
Hal B. Rhodes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: SmackDown Vs Raw 2008 (Wii) (Video Game)
I got the games last Friday and was excited to play the first WWE game on we. Being a WWE fan myself, I had been looking forward to a wrestling game on wii since the consoles launch.

After playing the game for an hour or two, i was both impressed and disapointed. The controls were very good and responsive, hittingm someone over the head with a steel chair has never been so satisfying.

However the game lacks depth, alot of it...with only 5 possible matchtypes and no WWE favourates like ladder matches, hell in a cell and elimination chamber the exhibition mode quickly gets dull, matches last around 3 minutes at he most and dont offer any real excitement of a good long match. There is also a great lack of moves in the game, with all the charcters each having a similar set moves set which you will see all of in the first 20 mins of play.

Overall the game is fun, for a while, but the lack of modes and features makes you feel robbed as the ps2 version has the all.

there is much improvement to made for 2009, which I look forward to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 stars and improving, 11 Nov 2007
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: SmackDown Vs Raw 2008 (Wii) (Video Game)
i got this game yesterday, and at first i really was regretting the buy, but i gave it another shot today and set myself a time to play it, it was getting better and better, although is quite repetative.
the controls are abit above average but dont really use the full capabilities of the wii controls.
it is quite satisfying pulling off a 619 by rey mysterio of Last Ride by the Undertaker, but the manor in which the finisher possibilities come up are stupid, you hold A + B and then all of a sudden they are set up for your finisher.
i may be judging this too soon as i havent seen the types of matches that can be played, but for now at least, its ok, but getting better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its a start, 11 Nov 2007
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: SmackDown Vs Raw 2008 (Wii) (Video Game)
Well first of all you have to remember its the first wrestling game, let alone wwe game, on the wii. It was never going to be as good as the ps3 or 360 one but as far as it goes its a good base to start at. I was a big fan of the Day of Reckoning series on gamecube, and thort it was alot better than the WWE SD V R games, so i was disappointed to see Nintendo wouldn't be continuing the DOR series and switching to the other.

The game itself is lacking deptch but never the less it is fun. Matches generally only last a few minutes max, which in some ways are good as in previous games you can get bogged down in one game for 20-30minutes. The controls are simple to pick up, and i personally do enjoy the interactive way you do the moves, even if they are limited at moment. The intros are good, DX one is worth a look, and the way you do taunts is new and takes full control of the wii controller (for example for the DX chop u hold C and do a chop motion with the wii num-chuck and controller) Their is a large roster on the game containing RAW, Smack down, ECW and legends on it so you get a good choice on character selection.

The downsides is their is limited match choices, expected really as its the first ever one on wii and to expect everything on the first installment would be pushing it. Your opponents seem to get up quickly if you try to the top rope, their is no stamina gauge, and for me the game play needs to be slightly speeded up <as a Day of reckoning fan the game speed was always quicker than the smack down series).

Overall tho for a first try its decent, probably not worth 40 but if you have a few games lying around u dont want its worth trading in and getting this on the cheap (i got it for 7 after trading in mario football and dragon ball Z). Hopefully tho the TNA game which will be released spring time next year will be better and provide some good competition for WWE games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars dissappointmen - THQ i hope you're happy with yourselves, 8 Dec 2007
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: SmackDown Vs Raw 2008 (Wii) (Video Game)
No mercy, wrestlemania 2000 and quite possible day of reckoning -

these are all semi decent wwe titles on past nintendo consoles. Smackdown Vs Raw 2008 was hyped as the best yet, and with the wii remote i thought it was worth getting...

..oh, how wrong i was. i played this for about an hour. got a little enjoyment out of the control system until i notices you can't RUN, there are NO match modes, no weapong exept chairs, restricted to not going over the barrier at ringside, and the controls seem vert hit and miss.

now, i'm a massive fan of wwe programming and the games. but, this version could have been good if THQ would have ported the PS2 version over directly with a new control system.

BUT once again, nintento fans are left with a massive let down title.

get it on the 360, ps2 or ps3 if you have either of them. it's actually a game on those consoles.

i really hope THQ get their act together for next year's wii title.
hell, if they put no mercy on virtual console it will be better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 13 Nov 2007
By 
M. J. Taylor (Newbury, Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: SmackDown Vs Raw 2008 (Wii) (Video Game)
Considering e-baying it already. The controls don't work. There are glitches galore. No cage or ladders even!

I cannot believe THQ consistently rip off Nintendo WWE fans. This is by far the worst yet. Really small roster, no options of matches apart from single, tag, triple threat and hardcore. No weapons apart from chairs.

Worst of all the controls just don't work. It's total random what move you do, climbing the ropes, executing a slam, submission move; the controls for all of these appear to be hold 'a' and wiggle the remote. To get up, guess what you have to do? Wiggle the remote!

Avoid, avoid, avoid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars average game, 18 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SmackDown Vs Raw 2008 (Wii) (Video Game)
may be i did not play well with this game and i feel its an average type game. i spent some time on it and did not like it much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5* Game, 29 Oct 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: SmackDown Vs Raw 2008 (Wii) (Video Game)
Brought for the Nintendo Wii and keeps me occupied for hours on Career mode, very fun for wrestling fans, excellent graphics could of had more weapons for ECW
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Smackdown, 2 Jan 2010
By 
D. Bennett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: SmackDown Vs Raw 2008 (Wii) (Video Game)
Good hard hitting fun, probably not recomended for the younger kids.. 16+ on the box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good fun for a while, 2 Feb 2009
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: SmackDown Vs Raw 2008 (Wii) (Video Game)
Not a bad game, could definelty do with a few more match types (which I think are on the 09 game). a lot of the actions are quite repetitive but still worth a play!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xf82b9e4)

This product

SmackDown Vs Raw 2008 (Wii)
SmackDown Vs Raw 2008 (Wii) by THQ (Nintendo Wii)
7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews