Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tour de force by Margaret Rutherford
A tour de force by Margaret Rutherford

I am not really a who dun it fan but I make an exception for Margaret Rutherford as Miss Marples.

She is the definitive Miss Marples as she appears to bumble around but she outwits the police and the criminals.

Filmed in black and white with a great cast of British actors this is a gem of a film. I...
Published on 28 Feb 2010 by Peter Wade

versus
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun for Christie and Rutherford Fans
Whether you picture Miss Marple as Margaret Rutherford portrays her or not you will probably still enjoy her unique style in the role.
With the ever faithful Mr Stringer and the not so patient Inspector Craddock right behind her, Miss Marple makes it her business to catch the real murderer of Mrs McGinty, when the police and everyone else think they have already got...
Published on 7 Oct 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun for Christie and Rutherford Fans, 7 Oct 2001
By A Customer
Whether you picture Miss Marple as Margaret Rutherford portrays her or not you will probably still enjoy her unique style in the role.
With the ever faithful Mr Stringer and the not so patient Inspector Craddock right behind her, Miss Marple makes it her business to catch the real murderer of Mrs McGinty, when the police and everyone else think they have already got him in custody. Based on the book Mrs McGinty's Dead this is a very enjoyable (largely due to Rutherfords comedy slant) adaptation with an excellent cast. The plot is straightforward and easy to follow. That said, even as you see Miss Marple work her way through the clues, the culprit is never obvious, and remains well hidden amongst the assembled characters.
Definitely worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tour de force by Margaret Rutherford, 28 Feb 2010
By 
Peter Wade (Colchester England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Murder Most Foul (1964) (DVD)
A tour de force by Margaret Rutherford

I am not really a who dun it fan but I make an exception for Margaret Rutherford as Miss Marples.

She is the definitive Miss Marples as she appears to bumble around but she outwits the police and the criminals.

Filmed in black and white with a great cast of British actors this is a gem of a film. I was pleased to see an early appearance by James Bolam the original Likely Lad who was doing a fairly good southern English accent.

It opens when she is on a jury for a murder and she dissents so the defendant will need to be retried. there were no majority verdicts in those days.

She thinks the defendant is innocent and goes about proving it and confronting the real murderer.

You have no idea who it is and there are a few red herrings. Margaret Rutherford was in her seventies when she filmed this and she is very sprightly. The music is jaunty and although it is a serious subject is quite funny.

A joy to watch and it is a great British film based on a great British story. even though I know the outcome I would still happily re watch it as the acting and asides are so good it keeps your interest. I might revise my view of who dun its if they were all as good as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Truly Great Video with a lot of Great Talent!!!, 5 April 2003
Margeret Rutherford takes on the role of Miss Marple in Murder Most Foul. It is based on Agatha Christie's Mrs McGinty's Dead. Miss Marple is the one juror in court who isn't convinced of the first suspects guilt who was supposed to of murdered Mrs McGinty. The case is thrown out of court much to the irritation of Inspector Craddock and Miss Marple joins a local drama troupe to investigate the real murderer. Margaret Rutherford gives a delightful audition to get in but the director isn't convinced (played by Ron Moody of Oliver fame) but he soon reconsiders when he learns Miss Marple is independently wealthy. With help of Mr Stringer (played by Rutherford's real life husband Stringer Davis) Miss Marple, in the unique comic slant Rutherford puts into the role, manages to solve the crime. I won't reveal who the murderer is but I will tell ya it certainly wasn't who I originally thought it was but a very satisfying conclusion. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Margaret Rutherford plays Miss Marple, 13 Jun 2004
By 
Sally-Anne "mynameissally" (Leicestershire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I remember watching this with my parents and brothers when telly was all in black and white. Margaret Rutherford was a great favourite. The more serious her expression, the funnier. What a treat to find this film is now available on VHS. DVD would be preferable but really, I mustn't grumble because I'm just so delighted to have found it. I've also enjoyed Joan Hickson's Miss Marple -- well, Joan Hickson is another great favourite, but she does a completely different Miss Marple. You'd never believe it was the same character if you didn't know they both played an amateur lady sleuth called Jane Marple, created by Agatha Christie.
This is a three-murder mystery and our heroine is chasing down the trail of clues like a terrier after a bunny. Her trusty assistant, Mr Stringer is a stout hearted and dependable fellow, trotting about all over the place, fetching her morsels of information as she instructs. The policemen are all buffoons and deeply in her debt by the end, of course. This is the sort of thing that never happens in real life and on the whole, it's played for laughs. It's old-fashioned, gentle and irreverent. Margaret Rutherford is perfect for this particular Marple-persona.
I'm so pleased to have found this old gem. It might not appeal to the fans of modern murder mysteries, but if you like the Ealing comedies, you'll probably enjoy this. I'm rating it 5-star because of personal nostalgia as well as the fine quality of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Rutherford classic, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder Most Foul (1964) (DVD)
A great film that evokes a time not so long ago and all the rose-tinted memories that childhood is made of. Rutherford, as always, seems born to the role, and despite the comedic approach, she never demeans the role of Miss Marple. Just a delightful way of spending a hour or so; no hidden messages or agenda - pure entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars murder most foul dvd, 15 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder Most Foul (1964) (DVD)
i liked this product for its content as an old classic film. one two three four five six seven eight
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A gem from our most brilliant black and white past, 14 July 2008
By 
This review is from: Murder Most Foul (1964) (DVD)
There are three most important reasons why you should watch this film, even if it is in black and white and slightly old in style. We would not make films like that any more even for TV, but we could also say that about Hitchcock or Charlie Chaplin. So what! Well, be positive and as I said before there are three main positive reasons for you to watch this film, or any film of that series, because it is a series. First it is Agatha Christie, and Agatha Christie is the most English woman that writes the most English detective stories with the most English "private eye" or "sleuth" no one in no Hollywood or even Bollywood could think of or imagine. Second Miss Marple is the sleuth of the film and that Miss Marple is an old fire-fox at that. She knits when on duty in a jury, and then she blocks the jury in its decision, one to eleven. Her imagination is totally twisted and warped, just what is needed to find the criminal in the story, a typical English criminal, no serial killer or pure psychotic violent schizophrenic or whatever twisted lunatic you may think of. No, just a plain English person who for some reason or other has to kill someone out of logic, maybe not our logic, but a plain simple logic that says when endangered or menaced a plain ordinary simple unremarkable individual has to kill to survive. In this case the menace is blackmailing about some old childhood crime that had gone unpunished. And the third reason is that this Miss Marple is played by Margaret Rutherford who is a real pleasure on the screen or the stage, in fact I should say was of course since the film is from 1964 and she was already canonically old then. She is a real treat because she really acts and she turns her old age, her deformed body and her drooping skin and flesh into visual assets to build her character. This too is a very great particularity of England: first actors work equally on the stage or for the cinema or for TV, and they do make an effort to provide parts to older actors, and thus to give a picture of real society in which old people are part of our daily social landscape. Now to get the detail or details about the crime you'll have to go and watch the film. But be sure that in the most English way possible the private eye has the last word in the case over the public police officer and of course the woman sleuth has the upper hand over the male detective. Some will say the film is quaint, but that quaintness is a whole culture that you may not be able to witness any more in real life. The cinema is our unfailing memory.

Dr Jacques COULARDEAU, University Paris Dauphine, University Paris 1 Pantheon Sorbonne & University Versailles Saint Quentin en Yvelines
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A classic wet afternoon and popcorn trip into BW nostalgia, 11 April 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Margaret Rutherford and Miss Marple - superb! Just great to take you out of the hustle and bustle of today - grab the popcorn!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Murder Most Foul (1964)
Murder Most Foul (1964) by George Pollock (DVD)
5.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews