Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Compilation & Worth Waiting For, 13 Jan 2010
By 
J. ROGER THORPE (Otaki, NZ) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Golden Age Of Northern Soul Vol 3 (Audio CD)
After getting to this album by searching for my all time favourite - Are You Ready For This by The Brothers - I soon realised the whole album was filled with gems too many to mention. In fact I would go as far as to say 25 out of 25 are continually being played, at home, at work and in the car travelling. I thought I only knew about 5 of the tracks but was pleasantly surprised to find I had heard at least half of them. I am certainly not a Northern Soul expert and had never been to Blackpool Mecca or any other of the well known venues but had heard tracks back in the 70's at local clubs I went to. This album is extremely good value, brings back many happy memories and comes highly recommended. I hope the other associated compilations are as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some great tracks here, 12 Mar 2009
By 
M. Crook "soulboymk" (Milton Keynes) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Golden Age Of Northern Soul Vol 3 (Audio CD)
I never quite made it to Wigan Casino or Blackpool Mecca but loved the music when I could get to hear it. This is a great collection of Northern Soul tracks, some of which I never thought I'd find on CD. Favourites are the tracks by Philly Devotions (which I've had on an old Boots C90 cassette for about 30 years), Van McCoy, the MVPs and the Brothers.

Well worth the relatively small investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern soul at its best., 13 Oct 2008
By 
J. C. Lott "jerryL" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Golden Age Of Northern Soul Vol 3 (Audio CD)
Blackpool Mecca was at the cutting edge of Northern soul music and with this compilation you will see why.
Instead of filling the gaps with inane, obscure pop music to keep the dance floor filled like other clubs, messrs Levine & Curtis led the way playing fresh modern soul music that others refused to play.
For a taste of the mecca(If you never got to go) This is a good CD and you will get to hear just a fraction what the mecca was playing in its hey day.....Modern soul before the phrase was widely used as it is today, From the No1 club at that time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Northern Soul, 22 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. Roderick S. Barnes (Porthleven, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golden Age Of Northern Soul Vol 3 (Audio CD)
I bought this CD in the hope that it covered the sixties era as did the Twisted Wheel CD. Although it doesn't it still turned out to be a brillant Northern Soul album. Its a pity that the Blackpool Twisted Wheel of the sixities has not been covered as along with the Mecca it brought some great music to the North.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding monster tracks - you can't fault, 16 Jan 2009
By 
TheJonesBoy "TheJonesBoy" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Golden Age Of Northern Soul Vol 3 (Audio CD)
Amazon are giving this away. On vinyl you'll part with over £150 for David Lee's track.

I've the first 3 volumes and this is by far and away the killer - that said, get them all. Monsters, gems, truly outstanding soul. Uptempo stompers, floaters and spinners.

Pass me the talc, I'm off again...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golden Age Of Northern Soul Vol 3 (Audio CD)
The songs stick in my head & I can't stop singing them
to myself, a "complete" album. A must buy !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every penny, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golden Age Of Northern Soul Vol 3 (Audio CD)
It's got to be worth it for Lynn Randell (one of my favourites) and the Patti Austin version of "Didn't say a word" alone.
Of course there are other excellent songs on this CD, there isn't a bad one. I bought it for the 4 or 5 songs I didn't have, but I'd recommend this CD to anyone.
K.T.F.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Northern Soul, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golden Age Of Northern Soul Vol 3 (Audio CD)
I never quite made it to Wigan Casino or Blackpool Mecca but loved the music when I could get to hear it. This is a great collection of Northern Soul tracks, some of which I never thought I'd find on CD. Keep The Faith
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brill, 23 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golden Age Of Northern Soul Vol 3 (Audio CD)
this cd is just what i wanted to ad to my collecton i love northen soul and was not dissapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golden Age Of Northern Soul Vol 3 (Audio CD)
If you were into Northern Soul (or even if you have never heard of it!), this is a great CD with some real classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Golden Age Of Northern Soul Vol 3
The Golden Age Of Northern Soul Vol 3 by Various (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews