Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars52
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 September 2007
What an excellent idea to create a northern soul "mecca" around the clubs which gave it birth!. All of these hallowed names now so familiar to those who loved the music and the scene and which are in no small way totally responsible for its success both then and again now.

Born in 1963 I was not considered old enough to go to the all dayers and all nighters of that time. Therefore back then I loved the music but only heard a tiny portion of it and never had the honour of entering the sacred halls themselves; Blackpool Mecca, The Torch, The Twisted Wheel and Wigan Casino. Thanks to Richard Sterling however I have enjoyed the revival and added extensively to my northern soul knowledge and collection. Now with these 4 CD's, this being the first, a further whole cornocopia of GREAT music history is opened up to everyone together with a very concise written history including photographs of old ticket stubs, the DJ's of the day and even the club goers!. The written background of the clubs and the time are clearly well researched and fascinating and most importantly the track inclusion is first rate with a varied mix of hot tracks of the day floor fillers. None of these tracks themselves are fillers however with 25 tracks of class and melody and not one dross track in sight!.

Inexpensive and well worth the investment, this collection will fill a big gap in the history of what it was all about and who were the names of the day for those who were too young to be a part of it then and those who are new to it but still love it now. As an introduction to anyone who really knows nothing but would like to, this set of 4 (will there be any more?) is no better place to start.
22 comments|78 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2010
Classic soul great songs for soulies old and new. would recommend this to anyone . played at my home all the time great to dance to or just to singalong to fantastic songs. bet your feet start tapping.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
Another great collection of classic Northern Soul tracks. Makes you feet start twitching from the start. I would recommend this to Soulies old and new.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Having been collecting Northern soul albums for some years now, I am constantly amazed at the sheer number of tracks out there. Here is yet another album full of fantastic dancing tunes, none of which appear on any of my other albums. Superb quality throughout, well worth the ridiculously low asking price. Look out for the other three in the series, basrd around other famous venues.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2009
This is the best collection of Northern Soul classics I have heard on one CD. If you are into soul this is the best
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2009
if you're a "northern soul" fan you probably have quite a few of the tracks that feature on the series of cds that comprise the "northern soul story"... this is the first in the series and contains a good mix to satisfy all the more diverse tastes of the long term fans and those coming fresh to "northern soul" wanting to get their first experience of why the phenomenon went down so well in the clubs...indeed some tracks featured were actually more mainstream minor chart successes...not every track excites my more deeply rooted soul taste buds, but the mix is more than sufficient to warrant the purchase of this well priced cd.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2012
Part of a set of three CDs which we bought. Lots of tracks that are not played today. Nostalgic, would recommend. Prompt delivery.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2013
If you were into Northern Soul (or even if you have never heard of it!), this is a great CD with some real classics.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2011
this is really good i like all the songs on this album thinking about getting the others in this series music is raw
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2013
O the heady all nighters back then. Many stars graced the stage, while in the nooks and tunnels we danced non stop. I was fortunate not to have a drug problem, many did. I didn't progress to Wigan Casino. It still stops me in my tracks whenever an old song gets played that takes me back to my beautiful youth.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.