Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mostly a Splash, 23 April 2008
By 
Mark Baker - Carstairs Considers (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Flipper - Original Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
What better life could two boys imagine? Sandy (Luke Halpin) and Bud Ricks (Tommy Norden) live with their father Porter (Brian Kelly) on the beach. Literally. See, Porter is the ranger for Coral Key Park and Reserve, and they live within the park. Better yet, they have a pet dolphin they've named Flipper.

Life is never dull in the park. There are crises of all kinds to face. Natural dangers like shark attacks, two hurricanes, and poisonous snakes threaten the family and park visitors. But human dangers are just as real. How did a sunken car get in the middle of the preserve? Who is stealing from visitor boats in the park? Matters of the heart are even explored when Bud thinks that Porter's new friend is out to replace his dead mother and Sandy develops his first crush.

But through it all, it is Flipper who saves the day. This heroic dolphin seems to understand his human family and know exactly what they need. He's always showing up in the nick of time.

Let's be honest, this isn't great TV. The acting is mediocre at best, and the writing is lazy quite a bit of time. I can't count the number of episodes that drop or gloss over a plot point to make the time limit. Plus the effects are rather cheesy most of the time.

But let's not count out the charm of the shows. Even though I know the outcome (yes, this show is also predictable), I can get so caught up in the moment that I am on the edge of my seat. Quite a few of these shows got my heart pumping. And, while the spoken acting isn't that great, everyone does a good job of acting underwater. I had never realized just how much of the show was done silent since humans can't talk while diving. Yet I always followed the story.

And let's not leave out the scenery. The underwater shots are quite often breathtakingly beautiful.

This set is packed full of underwater fun. The US Region 1 release (and the one accessible where I live) has 30 episodes on four double sided DVD's. While some of the material doesn't look so good, most of the episodes still look great. The only extra is a trivia game, which is actually about dolphins in general and only marginally about the show. I actually learned quite a bit from playing it.

At the end of the day, the fun of this show outweighs the negatives. So if you have fond memories or love the water, get this set. Just be prepared to put up with some cheese.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant!!! Finally Season One on DVD!!!, 4 Feb. 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flipper - Original Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Having recorded every episode from TV on VHS, it's a delight to see the light of day on quality DVD. And the picture quality is 10/10 considering it's age. The picture is crisp and sharp with vibrant colours. Unlike some shows Flipper was filmed on 35mm film and have been transfered to DVD by MGM who made this delightful TV Series. This TV show is family viewing at it's top with great storylines and underwater/Florida locations.

Featuring Luke Halpin (Sandy Ricks) from the original 'Flipper' 1963 film and it's sequel 'Flipper's New Adventure' (1964), the sucess and popularity spawned a three year TV Series spread over 3 seasons mounting to 88 Episodes.

Luke Halpin followed on into the TV Series, as well as the introduction of younger brother Bud Ricks (Tommy Norden). Brian Kelly who sadly passed away in 2003 played their father, Park Ranger Porter Ricks. As widower parent Porter Ricks does a fine job, as the storylines go which also touches topics including moral values without going into depth but are clearly shown on the surface of particular episodes from this first Flipper season which includes titles like 'Danger' 'City Boy' 'The Gulf Between'.

As for the DVD itself. There are 4 discs with 8 episodes on a 'one sided picture cover disc' unlike the region 1 version which is double-sided. As I mentioned before the picture quality is outstanding!!

Season 2 is expected sometime this year which will comprise of another 30 episodes. AND yet the same quality of stories!!

Whether your a nostalgic fan or for your family, Children of all ages will love Flipper!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Family-friendly 1960's TV series, 3 Jun. 2011
By 
Colin Smith (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Flipper - Original Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This US TV series is one of the most enjoyable family/childrens adventure dramas of the 1960's, and is an aquatic relative of the likes of "Lassie" and "Skippy The Bush Kangaroo".
Chief Ranger, Porter Ricks (Brian Kelly) works in Florida's Coral Key Park, where he lives with his two young sons, Sandy (Luke Halpin) and Sandy's younger brother, Bud (Tommy Nordern). Bud in particular is very close to Flipper, the family's pet dolphin, and many of the adventures involve the two of them.

The stories are an enjoyable blend of mild peril and gentle humour, with storylines that include tackling poachers, rescuing boaters in distress, and discovering sunken treasure.
Occasional guest star Andy Devine plays Hap, an old seadog who often regales Sandy and Bud with tall tales of heroic adventures from his past. The series also features some great underwater photography. When adding the likeable cast to the big attraction of a lovable dolphin as the star of the show, this series was always going to be a winner.

This 4-disc boxset contains all thirty, 25-minute series one episodes, which includes the 3-part story "Flipper And The Elephant", and the 2-part "The Lady And The Dolphin". The colour picture quality is excellent.

The soundtrack languages are: English, French.
The subtitle languages are: English, Dutch, French.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT MEMORIES OF SATURDAY TEATIME VIEWING, 6 Nov. 2009
By 
John Hutchinson (Leeds, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flipper - Original Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This has to be one of the best DVD purchases I have made, and believe me I have made a lot in recent years. This box set brings wonderful memories of Saturday teatime viewing on ITV here in the UK where shows like Flipper usually followed the Saturday afternoon helping of football, racing, international sports and professional wrestling known as World of Sport.

So we would all be sitting down for tea at about 5.15 pm and on the TV we would get Flipper.

That delightful theme tune has stuck with me throughout the years and now this box set affords me my first chance to see Flipper in colour.It's very well acted throughout, the scenery and underwater photography are excellent and the picture and sound both crystal clear.

Can't wait for the remaining 58 episodes....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great nostalgia for you......and your kids, 5 Sept. 2007
This review is from: Flipper - Original Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I used to love this show. I remember it being on during Saturday mornings before the pie throwing kids magazine shows came along. It's a great reminder of gentle times when kids TV was a little more wholesome & intelligent & Australia & the USA seemed much further away than they are now. I would much rather my kids watched this than the kind of trash that they watch these days. Good stories, great characters & wonderful sea creatures. Well done Amazon for bringing this out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic old school program, 11 Jan. 2010
By 
Mr. RL Clark "Ryan" (essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Flipper - Original Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this for our little girl as she likes dolphins, thought we'd let her into a bit of old school tack and she loved it.

Good quality, smart case. Top buy. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 31 Jan. 2008
By 
Mr. J. Lobel - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Flipper - Original Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
My kids and I watched all 30 episodes in no time flat, and it is a tribute to the show that my teenage boys loved it so much. I guess that Amazon UK's release of Flipper is the US release with a different region coding, so come on Amazon, lets have a real exclusive with a release of the 2nd season (unless of course the DVD rights are held by the company who released this box set).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 28 Sept. 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flipper - Original Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
It is so great that we can now have these wonderful meetings with the heroes of our childhood - Sandy, Bud and Flipper - on DVD in absolutely brilliant picture quality. I am so happy to have these precious films and I am full of joy foreseeing the next season being published soon ... Thanks MGM!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FLIPPER- ORIGINAL SERIES 1 (DVD ), 6 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flipper - Original Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
got this for a friend and she loved it, I believe that she plays it all the time. might have to get her some more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 29 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flipper - Original Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I am truly pleased with Flipper DVD. The picture quality is absolutley stunning. The episodes are great. A bit dissapointing that there is not Season 2 or 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Flipper - Original Series 1  [DVD]
£13.04
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews