Customer Reviews


367 Reviews
5 star:
 (165)
4 star:
 (91)
3 star:
 (39)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (52)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


93 of 93 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent home shredder
I've been using this shredder most days of the week for a month. I know that's not a long time, but it's been perfect for me so far.

The blades are metal, which allayed my fears of plastic ones wearing out quickly, and using the shredder oil as per the instructions has kept it running smoothly (you can notice a slight change in noise - it's marginally...
Published on 22 Aug 2011 by Jonathan

versus
61 of 66 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If only it could shred itself
The box claims that Fellowes makes the "world's toughest shredders". Unfortunately they also make this model.

It looks OK as shredders go - plasticky but small and neat. However the build quality is awful.

It lasted for about 40 sheets before packing up, during which time it jammed frequently, overheated twice and struggled to shred more than 2...
Published on 13 Jan 2009 by Mikey


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

93 of 93 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent home shredder, 22 Aug 2011
By 
This review is from: Fellowes Powershred P-35C Cross-Cut Shredder with Safety Lock (Office Product)
I've been using this shredder most days of the week for a month. I know that's not a long time, but it's been perfect for me so far.

The blades are metal, which allayed my fears of plastic ones wearing out quickly, and using the shredder oil as per the instructions has kept it running smoothly (you can notice a slight change in noise - it's marginally smoother-sounding - after oiling).

If you try to shred 5 sheets of office paper you can hear that it's working hard, so I've been putting 3 or 4 through at a time and it sounds and works great like that.

The waste bin is a reasonable size unless you're shredding loads of papers.

It's clearly sold as a home shredder and says it isn't made for home office use, so don't expect it to hold up to higher-intensity use.

UPDATE APRIL 2013: still going strong! shredding credit card and bank statements fairly regularly (home use, NOT office).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to use, 15 Sep 2011
By 
Chocolate Drop (wolves, england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This shredder has replaced a previous shredder and is a great improvement. It efficiently shreds up to 6 pages easily and without jamming. Not as noisy as my previous one, and I particularly like the safety lock feature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


158 of 163 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars does exactly what it says it does., 24 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: Fellowes Powershred P-35C Cross-Cut Shredder with Safety Lock (Office Product)
The other people who bought this shredder and gave it a 1 star rating must have really abused it. it is completely designed for occasional use... by that it means shredding things like bills, bank statements, pay slips etc etc. When i first bought this shredder i shredded hundreds of papers in the first day, and it handled 5 in one shred quite happily, though i went to 4 and 3 at a time to be a little friendlier to it. just use your head when using this and read the instructions first, it says do not shred constantly for longer than three minutes. if you do reach three minutes give it a rest and let it cool down, then start again, this will prevent it from over heating and packing up. It shreds credit cards no problem at all, mine is now obliterated and the shredder is still fine, it wouldnt say you can shred credit cards on the box if it didnt work.

At the end of the day this is a perfect confetti cut shredder for occasional home use. NOT for office use, and NOT for people who need to shred hundreds of papers in one go, have some patience. Dont buy a shredder designed for occasional home shredding if you need something much heavier duty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Home Shredder, 16 Oct 2011
By 
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
We have had an earlier version of this for many years, and took the chance to update it.

You have to be realistic about any shredder's capability. This is desiged for home use and if used as such, and not abused, will provide solid reliable service for a long time. I really think it is horses for courses with shredders, having wiped out two medium use commercial shredders at work by overloading them and resorting now to off site secure disposal.

A key safety feature, and an important one at that, is that this must be used with the bin supplied. The moulded fit incorporates the auto cut out which prevents the shredder from running on when lifted up from the bin.

Two or three sheets of paper at a time, or a single credit card, are easily chomped into small cross cut pieces.

If you stop now and again (perhaps to empty the bin) and the motor gets a chance to coola touch, then we've found you can keep going for an hour or so which is more than enough to catch up with household shredding.

This is a really good home shredder which will give you peace of mind for disposal of sensitive documents, and should last a long time with judical routine cleaning and a little tlc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


74 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for every home, 20 Aug 2011
By 
Dave M (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Fellowes Powershred P-35C Cross-Cut Shredder with Safety Lock (Office Product)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The first comment I must make is that my full time job is as security consultant; in fact I am the Cyber Security Consulting Lead for a very large UK company (look me up on the web if you want). Based on that, I so often see where things have gone wrong; from identity theft through to major corporate losses of confidential information.

So, the very first comment is that you should buy a shredder, any shredder, for home use and religiously make sure that you shred everything that contains your name or other personal details. Many small scraps of information can easily lead to identity theft.

But enough preaching... Now the review of this item.

This is a perfectly serviceable shredder designed for low volumes in a home situation. It will take up to 5 sheets of paper at a time (although, like most shredders it does groan if you run at its limit) or a single credit card. It will not shred CDs or the such like.

Being a cross cut shredder is is both more secure than a straight cut shredder and, as a bonus, the shreddings pack down much better, meaning that you don't need to empty the bin as often. When you come to empty the bin, the top has a useful handle (not many shredders do have this) to help you lift of the motor and shredding assembly. A nice feature.

So, overall, a good solid 5 stars for use in the home environment. If this is for an office, then you will need something more substantial, but this isn't designed or sold for the office, so no stars off for that.

One tip, which is true for all shredders; they do need oiling every so often and most seem to appreciate a squirt of WD40 to keep them running smooth and quiet.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fellowes Cross-Cut Shredder, 22 Oct 2010
By 
C. Parker (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fellowes Powershred P-35C Cross-Cut Shredder with Safety Lock (Office Product)
This was bought as a replacement for an old shredder of the same make. The shredder is sturdy and well made. There is an on/off switch on the head unit, but if it is lifted from the bucket the unit will automatically shut off. It is worth noting that this shredder only works with the bucket provided, a useful safety feature, but it does mean you need to take care of the bucket! It will comfortably shred four or five pieces of paper, but works best when just two or three are shredded together. It will shut down if it gets too hot, and has the ability to reverse the shredder action. It does take staples, and shreds plastic cards one at a time without a blink!

Overall this is a great shredder, well worth the price. If you shred documents to avoid fraud, then this does a great job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


74 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great design, 8 Nov 2007
This review is from: Fellowes Powershred P-35C Cross-Cut Shredder with Safety Lock (Office Product)
I bought this as I wanted something at home to offer some protection from Identity Fraud. I actually wanted Rexel Prostyle but didn't want to spend so much. The design/style is pretty similar to the Rexel Prostyle and it looked pretty good in the study.

I have found it very useful and effective - shredding old utility bills, envelopes, receipts & credit cards. It can handle the 5 sheets that it claims & staples too.

All in all, great design, compact and value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paper review, 20 Oct 2011
This review is from: Fellowes Powershred P-35C Cross-Cut Shredder with Safety Lock (Office Product)
All of a sudden everyone wants to shred all those unwanted fiddly bits of paper. Its very quick and the bits are very tiny. We actually shred by the end of each day instead of leaving it until we have a great pile. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars powerful, 17 Nov 2011
By 
Syd - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
powerful, takes full A4 sized paper, yet stil compact. very efficient and a quality shredder. like the ability to shred credit cards too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Shredder, 28 Sep 2011
This review is from: Fellowes Powershred P-35C Cross-Cut Shredder with Safety Lock (Office Product)
Does exactly what is says on the tin. No problems with it after clearing a backlog of docs to be shredded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews