Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A miscellaneous assortment of Attenborough goodies, 6 Dec 2013
By 
Sebastian Palmer "sebuteo" (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are already some very detailed reviews of this set, so I'll try and keep this short and to the point. The cover image and title refer to David Attenborough's eventual fulfilment of a lifetime ambition to see birds of paradise in their natural habitat, a desire seeded by an engraved illustration seen as a child in a book by Alfred Russell Wallace. If you share this passion, Attenborough has also collaborated with illustrator Errol Fuller on the sumptuous book Drawn From Paradise, a celebration of these magnificent creatures. He also tells us about the danger our fascination with their beauty poses to their continued existence, from their use in women's hats in Victorian England to their use in men's tribal headgear in their native New Guinea, in the book and audiobook Life Stories.

For another instance of 'if you like this, you might also like this', there are some other parallels between a few of the individual one-off specials collected here and some other Attenborough gems. If you enjoy the fascinating detective story that is developed around the Easter Island sculpture, in the The Lost Gods Of Easter Island episode, then perhaps you should check out his Tribal Eye series, in which his ethnographic and art interests are more fully explored. And the episode entitled The Amber Time Machine connects to other fossil-related titles in his prodigious output, such as the four-part Lost Worlds, Vanished Lives (originally made/aired in the mid-to-late '80s, but still extremely good), or the more recent two-episode First Life.

A great set of brilliantly produced programmes, all very interesting in themselves, and all benefitting from Attenborough's particularly engaging charisma.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful DVD, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this as I like Sir David Attenboroughs programmes in general.

This does not disappoint, a marvellous DVD with beautiful shots
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very very informative, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this. Attenborough is marvellous at explaining things. This is an enthralling documentary about seven expeditions he did, including the life cycle of the Bowerbird. I will not say any more, as I don't want to spoil it, but Attenborough does not disappoint!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars David Attenborough, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These are interesting to watch, but then I never tire of watching David Attenborough's dvds. I would recommend this item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought it for my husband, he really enjoyed it. He is a big fan of David Attenborough and watches the DVDs time after time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Attenborough in Paradise, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent film-work, the contents is interesting and varied
A series which one can see several times.
Have also recommended to friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Paradise, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another winner from Sir David Attenborough, these repackaged DVD's are great value for money and his professionalism is always paramount
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A little dissappointed, 5 Oct 2014
I love all the programmes in this collection especially the amber one but i didn't like song of the earth it was rather annoing for a David attenborough film it dissappointed me a little but the others make up for it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Attenborough In Paradise, 7 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Shows some old footage when Sir David was a lot younger. First part the Birds of Paradise Then discovering New Guinea. If you love Nature and Sir David you'll enjoy. Another present for mum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Attenborough still at his best!, 17 Nov 2005
By A Customer
Fabulous. What more to say? What will we do if and when Mr Attenborough stops doing this?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews