Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes the Blues ain't sad!!, 10 Dec 2003
It's always a plesure to listen to John Mayall and his freinds. Even though Mayall's voice, at the age of 70, is becomming a little rusty this 2cd set is 2,5 hour of pure joy. You can actually hear that every single one of the musicians has one hell of a time on stage, and I think that thats, what this cd is all about. The Joy of blues!!!
Buy it and fell like you have been there yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hasn't left my CD player!, 6 Jan 2005
A fantastic concert of the blues by John Mayall and the Bluesbreakers, with some top-notch help from his friends, namely Eric Clapton (on top form, as per usual), Mick Taylor (still playing like there's no tomorrow) and Chris Barber on the Trombone. There isn't a weak track on here, and something for everyone, whether they are a blues aficionado or newcomer.
If in any doubt, buy it, it will not be a decision you'll regret. Feeling a little down? lie back in a comfortable sofa, pour yourself a large glass of wine and enjoy at full volume. Since I bought this a week ago it has hardly left my Stereo, and only then to go into my car!
I give it 7 stars...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Mayall and Friends- a reunion in 2003 in Liverpool, 8 Nov 2003
By 
Russell Blackhurst (Hebden bridge, west yorkshire.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 70th Birthday Concert (Audio CD)
I went to the gig. Wow. What a concert. First of all John Mayall warmed up the audience with a few of his songs, then he invited Mick Taylor on stage for a few tracks, then Eric Clapton came on and did a few of the old numbers last done in 1966. What a night. You must buy this CD . I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 24 July 2007
I got this double cd in a supermarket sale (!) almost for free, and it is one of my favourites for the moment. Contrary to the previous reviewer, I think Mayall's voice is quite good and distinctive, he is just great at 70 years old. What IS true is the comparatively poor performance of Mick Taylor, really not up to his fame. Even if Clapton is unexplainably short changed in the mixing (still worse on the DVD !!), his solos are quite good and he did not disappoint me at all. While Buddy stands his ground before the big guys Mick and Eric.
Overall this is a smashing concert, with a very good set of songs and great players. Happy birthday John !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I only wish I was there!, 19 Feb 2009
By 
J. HOLMES (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've been a regular at John Mayall gigs since 1967, and he has never disappointed. Unfortunately, this one was too far from home, so I've had to make do with the cd and dvd! However, they give you a front row seat, and what is usually a better sound than you actually hear at the concert!
Mayall has a terrific rhythm section - they tend to get a bit overlooked as he continually wheels out his star guitarists, but the band would not be the force it is without them!
This is a joyous night of music, although I perhaps detect a little rivalry between EC and Buddy Whittington! Great to see and hear Mick Taylor again. It appears that he had a bandaged finger, but that didn't stop him playing some very nice stuff, even though he appeared to me to be just a little rusty!
EC is a bit low in the mix, and doesn't have the usual bite to his tone. If it was like that through his foldback, he would have every right to be a little peeved!
Personally, I think Buddy Whittington stole the show - upfront, and with a very pokey sound, but also a lovely delicate touch when required.
I was pleased to see Chris Barber involved; a great ambassador for the blues, who doesn't always get the credit he deserves.
All in all, in spite of the very minor niggles,a thoroughly recommended purchase - but if you can't afford both, I'd go for the dvd (even if it has one track less!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 25 Nov 2010
so impressed, the talent continues to grow and what a great bunch they are, the music is great and uplifting on a dull day,rain lashing, almost zero temps, this will warm you up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic DVD - Every Blues Fan and Guitar Fan should own this, 5 Jun 2011
By 
J. Bawn "jamiebawn" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have had this DVD a few years now, but thought i would give another listen the other night, and I am glad I did. Was great seeing some of the best guitarists alive today on stage together. Mick Taylor and Buddy Whittington were good. Buddy the better of the 2, and a couple of amazing solos he played too. Mayall looked great for 70 and his voice a little rusty at first soon picked up and sounded fantastic. His Harmonica playing is unreal and at some parts in the show he played harmonica and keyboard solo at the same time. Amazing! One of the greatest blues musicians alive today - and still at his prime. I suppose Blues men do get better with age.
Clapton came on and the first track 'Please Mr Lofton' was more a rythmic track and seemed to feature just clapton and mayall. Then Hideaway was good - but not like the classic 'Beano' album version which gave Clapton his god like status. All your love was pretty good, but then came Have you heard - this another one of the tracks that made clapton God when he played it on the original Bluesbreakers album. On this performance, gone was the raw guitar sound and gibson guitars and the song was a jam with each musician taking a solo. This proved to be Whittington's best solo of the evening and i was thinking Clapton will find it very hard to top this. Then came the trumpet solo, and then Clapton's. It left me with goosebumps. Just when Whittington was trying to take Clapton's God status on that evening, Clapton absolutely tore the roof off with a solo which proves why he is always in the top 3 of all time best guitarists. Buy the DVD for that song alone. You will not be dissapointed. After Have You Heard - Mayall said, 'You dont get Blues better than that' - damn right. It was incredible and so the dvd gets 5 stars just for that song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

70th Birthday Concert
70th Birthday Concert by John Mayall (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews