Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great adventure
It's the first comics adventure I have purchased and I was a little curious about the quality. I was not disappointed. Great story too. True to the origin I know from the comic magazines.
I am sure this is not the last Marvel hero dvd I will buy.
Published on 29 Jan 2009 by Peter Rasmussen

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Strenge - The Sorcerer Supreme
Although far removed from the comics, this film delivers an hour and a half of entertaining viewing. It draws perhaps a little too much from Eastern cinema (as well as Western cinema pretending to be Eastern cinema), but it's a good watch and a promising continuation of the new Lionsgate/Marvel animated film series.

The story is surprisingly well crafted,...
Published on 21 Sep 2008 by David Brookes


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Strenge - The Sorcerer Supreme, 21 Sep 2008
By 
This review is from: Doctor Strange [DVD] (DVD)
Although far removed from the comics, this film delivers an hour and a half of entertaining viewing. It draws perhaps a little too much from Eastern cinema (as well as Western cinema pretending to be Eastern cinema), but it's a good watch and a promising continuation of the new Lionsgate/Marvel animated film series.

The story is surprisingly well crafted, although there are no surprises at all to be found from beginning to end. The voice acting is competant and doesn't draw attention to itself, and the art style is similar to the previous attempts, most notably the Avengers films released a couple of years ago. The character and creature design are imaginative and fun to watch.

As with all the Marvel animated films from the last few years, the animation is a little clunky and perhaps too stylised when considering that the bulk of the comics of the last forty years have focused on realistic depictions, with only a few exceptions here and there. However, the action sequences are wonderfully fluid and dynamic, as well as some of the flashier special effects. They're not up to Disney standard, just for example, and although it's a lot cleaner around the edges there isn't as much detail as, say, the 1990s "Spider-Man" or "X-Men" animated series.

Still, it's very much worth a watch, although I probably wouldn't recommend picking it up for more than a fiver.

7 / 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great adventure, 29 Jan 2009
By 
Peter Rasmussen "tranbjerg1" (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Strange [DVD] (DVD)
It's the first comics adventure I have purchased and I was a little curious about the quality. I was not disappointed. Great story too. True to the origin I know from the comic magazines.
I am sure this is not the last Marvel hero dvd I will buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strange by nature, 20 May 2009
By 
M. Manders - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Strange [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed it but i admitt i'm a little older than its intended audience. Guessing for someone younger there are bits that could be a little scary involving demonic creatures but over all it was entertaining. Not greatly deep but lots of magic and a classic good verses evil fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing if you are a fan of the original comics, 29 Mar 2010
This review is from: Doctor Strange [DVD] (DVD)
This has clearly been targetted at a very young audience and is full of the manga style violence and attitude. The art is, as you'd expect, glossy computer animation, which is a long way away from the wonderful artwork of the original comic artists who designed and developed Doctor Strange over many years. Of all his incarnations this is definitely the worst. The changes to the origin story add nothing of worth and many good elements of the original origin story are missing. The beginning of the origin documentary is worth watching for the original artwork being shown and Stan Lee talking about how it came about but otherwise this DVD has little to recommend it to anyone over the age of about 16. I think it is about time these people stopped trying to repaint the Mona Lisa and just accept that the original plots and characters were and still are excellent just as they are. Why on earth (or anywhere else!) couldn't they have done the whole saga of Doctor Strange's search for eternity, Dormammu supplying power to Mordo and the whole series of events of Zom, the forelock and the coming of the Living Tribunal and Nebulos not to mention Dormammu fighting Eternity. That series of connected stories would make a far better film than this has. Let's hope they do make a live actor version one day and that they keep more closely to the origin story and include all those other amazing characters in he style and manner they were originally conceived of. I can't imagine anyone not being chilled to the core by The Living Tribunal or awe-struck by Eternity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great comic movie., 11 July 2013
By 
M. D. Finney (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Strange [DVD] (DVD)
I've never read any of the Doctor Strange comics before and came to film with no preconceived ideas or expectations. It surprised and delighted me because of its humanistic qualities. For a film about magic, it delved more into redemption and personal responsibility to those around us in our lives, than the mechanics of magic and the magical realities of the 'other'. Buy it, it's a cracking film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doc Strange, 22 May 2013
By 
Adrian Holland "Dutch Holland" (Oxford, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Strange [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this movie, the animation was good, and the story excellent, I know it's been out a while now and surely another must be due, but you should watch this film it has a good story, and how he was trained by hero who then becomes jealous of him as the master prefers him to be his predecessor. And it starts an internal war. Great movie worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not the Dr Strange I grew up with..., 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Strange [DVD] (DVD)
I have to agree with the other one star reviews I'm afraid. If you're expecting anything along the lines of the Lee/Ditko comics, you're going to be sorely disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars doctor strange, 13 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Strange [DVD] (DVD)
great watch and was well worth the money and a great dvd to watch would recommend any one to watch it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A wasted opportunity, 24 Mar 2012
By 
This review is from: Doctor Strange [DVD] (DVD)
I had high hopes for this as Doctor Strange could work really well with the liberty that cartoons bring. I was hoping for Ditko-esque graphics, and a capturing of the spirit of the original comics, although I recognized that changes would have to be made. Sadly the whole thing has been given a superhero makeover. There's a whole superteam behind Strange, he has a distinctive ability he was born with (mutant??), Wong is now his sidekick, and he has a romantic interest from his life as a doctor. In other words, he's now a generic superhero, with all that was distinctive stripped away. I shouldn't be too disappointed as this DVD was very cheap, but considering that this could so easily have been so much better it is hard not to have regrets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The magic's gone, 24 Dec 2007
By 
J. A. Eyon "Little Raven" (Seattle - USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Strange [DVD] [2007] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
For fans of the 60s and 70s Doctor Strange comics, this animated film will seem as removed from those as the Tom Cruise versions of Mission Impossible from its source. Here, magic has given way to swordplay and martial arts. And the storytelling is pathetic. The first half is too slow, the latter half is too actiony. Worse, the story reeks of "borrowing" -- from The Karate Kid, Lost Horizon, The Shadow and every manic action movie since the birth of CGI. Not only is this movie unoriginal -- it's un-Doctor Strange. Someone just "borrowed" the names and faces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xafdef33c)

This product

Doctor Strange [DVD] [2007] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
5.06
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews