Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOP DRAWER GORE
A corpse. A syringe full of day-glo green re-animating fluid. And Herbert West. What could possibly go wrong...?

Plenty, if this wildly funny and extremely gory film is anything to go by. RE-ANIMATOR is a classic example of comedy and horror combining to shred the usual expectations by thrusting us headlong into altogether crazier dimensions - and that still...
Published on 9 May 2007 by Amazon Customer

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good gore,not a world class movie
I remember watching this when i was about 14 years old and my dad watching it with me until he asked me to switch it off as he thought it was unsuitable for me,i did as i was told but woke early the next morning and watched it twice in a row,i loved it then,time passed and i saw it again recently for the first time since that time and now it just doesnt seem as cool as it...
Published on 19 Feb 2007 by sean paul mccann


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOP DRAWER GORE, 9 May 2007
By 
Amazon Customer (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
A corpse. A syringe full of day-glo green re-animating fluid. And Herbert West. What could possibly go wrong...?

Plenty, if this wildly funny and extremely gory film is anything to go by. RE-ANIMATOR is a classic example of comedy and horror combining to shred the usual expectations by thrusting us headlong into altogether crazier dimensions - and that still applies now, 22 years after it first eviscerated onto our cinema screens. It sure still feels fresh to me, with evidence in almost every scene of the excitement and adrenaline that must have permeated the whole production at the time. (Not difficult either to imagine the producer and director donning their protective splash-suits and saying to each other on a daily basis: "go for it!").

I love the 'teaser' (pre-titles sequence), the titles themselves - including a wonderful musical nod to Hitchcock's PSYCHO - and the remaining 80-odd minutes. Yes, if you're in the right mood, there's not a single wrong-footed moment to spoil this show.

And what a show. Watch in slack-jawed amazement Herbert West's obsessive experiments to bring back to life that which has expired, including a distinctly pissed off cat. Stare in wide-eyed disbelief as a severed head plumbs depths hitherto unexplored by your average movie severed head. Pray in silent torment that the final re-animation of a central character justifies the whole catalogue of horror that has preceded this moment.

So why doesn't all this excess leave a nasty taste in the mouth? Because there's a directorial tongue firmly planted in everyone's cheek, that's why. Thank you STUART GORDON and BRIAN YUZNA. Oh, and if you're still not sure, check out JEFFREY COMBS'/HERBERT WEST'S delivery of the classic line: "Of course he's dead, the dosage was too large", it'll make your eyes pop out. And on that bombshell, I rest my surgical case.

Boasting some great packaging, a pristine picture and sound transfer, it's easy to say I wish there were more films like this, but something inside is glad it's a one-off. Forget the sequels, although you might consider FROM BEYOND. H.P. Lovecraft's RE-ANIMATOR has now been passed uncut by the BBFC, so buy it - and appreciate a truly great film from a decade of considerable dross.

BLOODY WELL RECOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the gore you could possibly want in one movie!, 3 July 2009
Re animator is one of the greatest horror movies of our time.It's about a scientist who comes up with a formula that can wake up the dead,but after an experiment goes horribly wrong,he has a real mess on his hands.

This is the UNCUT version of the movie and has all the extras you could possibly expect.If you have the opportunity to see it don't pass upon it you will laugh until you scream!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I gave them Life...", 27 Jan 2010
By 
Magic Lemur (Somewhere in Madagascar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Often with B movies & horror movies of old (e.g. Nosferatu), the film fails to hit the right notes. Either the horror is dated & corny or the director has flashes of genius, but no consistency.

Thankfully this is not true with this film. Starring the guy who played 'Weyoun' in Star Trek - Deep Space Nine, the film has that unnerving quality & goriness that makes truly great horror. Jeffrey Combs' character grips you from his very first line (the title of this review) & his weirdness is never too extreme, staying within the realm of the understandable (just...)

Furthermore there are also the other actors/ actresses who are convincing and never have any 'B-movie moments' (when you can tell they're reading a script!) Unusually for this type of film, you actually become interested in the plot as all the performances are fleshed out & deep, which is not true of say The Evil Dead (great film though it is).

About the goriness, I felt this movie hit the nail on the head. The gore is not sparse & timid, but nor is it an overdose or 'the gore, the merrier'. Each bit of squeamishness is used efficiently, but not overplayed & this is refreshing from an era of 'video-nasties' that tended toward cliched over-emphasis.

I can honestly think of little to criticise in this film. There are the odd bits that strain credulity (e.g. the baddie not losing his mind when resurrected) & there is little music (except the intro/outro song, which is compelling).

And since I can find little to criticize in this film, I have no hesitation in recommending it to horror fans everywhere.
Of course, you should bear in mind that it is horror (not suitable for young-ones or women who don't like scary films) & there are some nude scenes. You should also read some of the other reviews (for balance).
However, I can honestly say there is nothing I have found in my searches that would stop me endorsing this as a truly great horror film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BARKING MAD BRILLIANCE, 28 Jan 2008
By 
Amazon Customer (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Say hello to HERBERT WEST, re-animator of dead, previously living, tissue. He's a doctor. He's also certifiable...but don't worry, the day-glo green liquid in his syringe is completely harmless. Unless you're a corpse.

Now say hello to the REGION 1 MILLENNIUM EDITION of RE-ANIMATOR. This wildly funny and extremely gory film - a classic example of comedy and horror combining to shred the usual expectations - still does the business today, thrusting us headlong into altogether crazier dimensions a mere 22 years(!) after it first eviscerated onto our cinema screens. A remarkable achievement by any standards.

I just love the 'teaser' (pre-titles sequence) and the animated titles with their wonderful orchestral nod to Hitchcock's PSYCHO and, yes, the remaining 80-plus minutes. If you're in the right mood, there's not a single wrong-footed moment to spoil this show.

And what a show. Watch in slack-jawed amazement Herbert West's obsessive experiments to bring back to life that which has expired, including a distinctly pissed off cat. Stare in wide-eyed disbelief as a severed head plumbs depths hitherto unexplored by your average movie severed head. Pray in silent torment that the final re-animation of a central character justifies the whole catalogue of horror that has preceded this moment.

So why doesn't all this excess leave a nasty taste in the mouth? Because there's a directorial tongue firmly planted in everyone's cheek, that's why. Thank you STUART GORDON and BRIAN YUZNA. Oh, and if you're still not sure, check out JEFFREY COMBS'/HERBERT WEST'S delivery of the classic line: "Of course he's dead, the dosage was too large", it'll make your eyes pop out. And on that bombshell, I rest my surgical case.

Boasting some great packaging, a pristine picture and sound transfer, it's easy to say I wish there were more films like RE-ANIMATOR, but something inside is glad it's a one-off. Forget the sequels, although you might consider FROM BEYOND.

Unrated and uncut, you really ought to buy it now - and appreciate a film of barking mad brilliance from a decade of considerable dross.

UNRESERVEDLY RECOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars bloody good fun, 7 Jan 2007
By 
Finlay Meldrum "Sikth86" (Kirriemuir) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Re-Animator [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
I first saw this film last night,channel hopping and decided to give it a shot,it was either this or 6th sence,again. It starts off in typical 80's cheesy horror stylee with some ott gore and bad acting, and to be honest it stays like this this for the rest of the movie. Thing is though,it works. This has alot in common with evil dead movies as it has loads of gore,some is even bad for todays standards and underlying black humour the whole way through. The film is a take on frankenstien with zombies thrown in for good measure,although it has comparisons with frankenstien and evil dead it is a little more bizzare,severed head being the villan and a bizzare scene where an intestine blasts out of someones stomach and strangles the mad scientist character. If your looking for some tongue in cheek horror with no fancy cgi frills then look no further, apparently there are cencored versions on here though so if poss try and get the uncut version its worth it in the long run.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stuart Gordon's cult classic comes to Blu-ray., 5 July 2014
By 
Richwicz "Vampix" (Chelmsford, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
I first saw Re-Animator many years ago via the cut VHS rental tape. Even though the film suffered from BBFC censor cuts to the gore and 'head giving head' scene, I still thought the film was very entertaining and original. I'm glad to say the film is now available in HD with all the cuts restored, and is presented in a lovely steelbook package. The two stand out actors for me in this film are Jeffrey Combs as Herbert West, and the late David Gale as Dr Carl Hill. David Gale, in particular, seems to relish his role as the decapitated head of the lecherous Dr Hill. There's some juicy splatter to sate the gorehounds (popping eyeballs, bonesaw mutilation, finger biting, beheading, etc), and some terrific make-up FX for the creepy looking zombies in the climactic mortuary scenes. If you want to add some classic 80s horror to your Blu-ray collection, I'd recommend you buy Re-Animator and give it a spin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything but the mortuary sink., 28 Jan 2014
By 
Rich (The Frozen North) - See all my reviews
We all know the score with Re-Animator, one of the best wall to wall, fun gore movies of the 80's.

This expensive German blu-ray is the only release that offers the theatrical cut and the composite version that contains all the gore and deleted scenes (apart from the dream sequence) from the T.V. version in lovely HD.

Bringing the running time up to a whacking 104 mins this cut is much richer in characterisation and irons out a few narrative inconsistencies from the theatrical version. Any fan will have seen the scenes before on the many numerous releases but they work much better in the context of the whole movie and add a surprising amount of depth.

You also get a raggy copy of the censored T.V. version where the extra scenes originated as an easter egg.

Packaged in a beautiful media book with twenty pages of German only text and photos the set does look stunning and I doubt the movie will ever achieve a better presentation.

WARNING! This review appears on the Spanish five disc set page. That release does not contain the composite version.

I'm off to tryst with a bubble headed coed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Re-Animator Steelbook, 5 Jun 2014
By 
Barry (Stoke-on-Trent. Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I received my Steelbook today 5th June ,and very happy with the transfer ,I didn't notice any imperfections so no moaning and complaining from me ,I had the DVD from Tartan ,and an elite edition ,this Blu-ray kicks both my DVD editions in the gutter so off to sell them to a friend (well he can choose which edition he want's). anyone wishing to buy this Blu-ray of Re-animator ,VERDICT ! BUY NOW ,Oh yes I said no moaning from me WELL ! just a small groan ,NO BOOKLET ,AND NO PICTURE ON INSIDE OF CASE ,JUST PLAIN SILVER ,never mind but still worth your well earned cash ,well off to medical school to concoct me a serum. I also recommend 'From beyond ' Blu-ray .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MAD DOCS AND GLORY, 5 Feb 2009
By 
Amazon Customer (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Say hello to HERBERT WEST, re-animator of dead, previously living, tissue. He's a doctor. He's also certifiable...but don't worry, the day-glo green liquid in his syringe is completely harmless. Unless you're a corpse.

This wildly funny and extremely gory film - a classic example of comedy and horror combining to shred the usual expectations - still does the business today, a mere 24 years(!) after it first eviscerated onto our cinema screens. A remarkable achievement by any standards. I just adore the 'teaser', followed by the animated titles sequence with their wonderful orchestral nod to Hitchcock's PSYCHO and yes, absolutely, the remaining 80-plus minutes. If you're in the right mood, there's not a single wrong-footed moment to spoil this show.

And what a show. Watch in slack-jawed amazement Herbert West's obsessive experiments to bring back to life that which has expired, including a distinctly pissed off cat. Stare in wide-eyed disbelief as a severed head plumbs depths hitherto unexplored by your average movie severed head. Pray in silent torment that the final re-animation of a central character justifies the whole catalogue of horror that has preceded this moment.

So why doesn't all this excess leave a nasty taste in the mouth? Because there's a directorial tongue firmly planted in everyone's cheek, that's why. Thank you STUART GORDON and BRIAN YUZNA. Oh, and if you're still not sure, just check out JEFFREY COMBS'/HERBERT WEST'S eye-popping delivery of the classic line: "Of course he's dead, the dosage was too large". On that bombshell, I rest my surgical case.

Boasting a pristine picture and sound transfer, it's easy to say I wish there were more films like RE-ANIMATOR, but something inside is glad it's a one-off - despite the sequels - although you might want to cast a glance at FROM BEYOND.

Having recently been passed uncut, you should consider buying it now - and appreciate a film of barking mad brilliance from a decade of considerable dross.

VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good gore,not a world class movie, 19 Feb 2007
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Re-Animator [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
I remember watching this when i was about 14 years old and my dad watching it with me until he asked me to switch it off as he thought it was unsuitable for me,i did as i was told but woke early the next morning and watched it twice in a row,i loved it then,time passed and i saw it again recently for the first time since that time and now it just doesnt seem as cool as it once did.

The film follows the exploits of a brainy or should that be zany scientist called west who has invented a formula that can bring life to the dead but the side effects are messy and his world and that of his friends starts to unravel at speed.Despite the film being a glorified gore cult classic the film isnt that exciting,nor is it anywhere near as funny and stylish as other classics in the genre such as evil dead,braindead or bad taste.

The film stagnates somewhat towards the end to leave the feeling that the idea here was good,the gore was good but the overall feeling of the movie isnt one of an addictive charm that you could watch over and over again,the sequel to this is actually better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews