Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works brilliantly IF you follow the instructions to the letter. See my guide
Struggled to get this paired to existing master unit and, having read some of the scathing reviews about pairing problems, assumed it was just ANother faulty unit.

However, it turned out that the instructions weren't being followed to the letter. So, in the interests of helping others I've re-written the instructions in plain(not pigeon as per the instructions)...
Published on 24 Jan. 2013 by Graham

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Be VERY CAREFUL BEFORE YOU BUY THIS
I bought the Master-Slave pair from Amazon as they did not do the Master-Slave-Slave combo.

The instructions are AWFUL and do not make sense. I tried the immediate supplier and the manufacturer for advice on what was meant by "if it does not work reset the Master"

If you want to be sure it works OK, set the switch to set top box so it will flash...
Published on 24 Feb. 2011 by kingstonbob1


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works brilliantly IF you follow the instructions to the letter. See my guide, 24 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RTX Wireless Phone Jack Slave (Electronics)
Struggled to get this paired to existing master unit and, having read some of the scathing reviews about pairing problems, assumed it was just ANother faulty unit.

However, it turned out that the instructions weren't being followed to the letter. So, in the interests of helping others I've re-written the instructions in plain(not pigeon as per the instructions) English.

1) Go to existing Master unit and remove ALL cables i.e phone line and any connected phones. Master unit should now be completely free of any cables
2) Plug the new Slave unit into an electrical socket next(or near to) to the existing Master. Master unit should be flashing green and Slave will illuminate red. Both Slave and Master should be free of any phone wires at this point. At this stage you don't need to worry about where you are eventually going to plug in the Slave unit, you need to get the Master to recognise the Slave first and to do that they must be temporarily plugged in within a couple of feet of each other
3) Make sure that the slider on the Slave unit is set to "Voice"
4) Take the supplied telephone line that came with the Slave unit and plug one end into the Slave unit and the other end into the right hand socket on the Master unit
5) Leave for a short time (up to a minute) and the light on the Slave unit will change to orange. This means it is now paired with the Master

Congrats - your Slave unit is now permanently paired. This is a one time process

6) Remove the wire connecting the Slave to the Master, you won't need this again.
7) Stick the main incoming phone line for the house back into the left hand socket on the Master. Master should now be showing a solid green colour
8) Reconnect any phone(optional) that may have been connected to the Master unit
9) Unplug the newly paired Slave unit from the electrical socket
10) Plug Slave unit into an electrical socket in your chosen room. (Slave will remember that it has been paired so you don't need to worry about it losing the pairing when you unplug it)
11) Slave should now be showing an Orange light
12) Plug your phone into the Slave unit (Note - if you lift the receiver on the phone then the light on the Slave unit will flash orange to show that the line is in use. This is normal)
13) Call somebody to let them know about your success!

I'm guessing that the reason you have to physically connect the 2 units together with a wire first is in order to prevent neighbours from plugging in a similar unit and intercepting your phone calls. Makes sense really

Good luck
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How to get it to sync, 5 Feb. 2011
By 
Paul Dolphin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RTX Wireless Phone Jack Slave (Electronics)
Like some other reviewers I could not get the new unit to sync with my existing master.
I then found a comment on another site saying that you have to unplug the master first (I also unplugged the other slave just to be on the safe side).
Having done this it then synced straight away.
The product itself works great with my Sky+ and HD boxes - just a shame the instructions do not explain about unplugging the master unit to get the sync to work...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent service, very easy set up, 21 Sept. 2009
This review is from: RTX Wireless Phone Jack Slave (Electronics)
i purchased this for using with sky multi-room, unit arrived on date specified, customer service was second to none, set up was very easy, instructions are limited, but easy to understand, only hiccup i encountered was during sky installation, the sky engineer seemed to have a problem contacting sky from the box, but this was down to the unit being on telephone setting instead of the cable setting, its also worth noting that if you are using two or more slave units you can only pair them one at a time, ie. unplug any other slave units you have paired before pairing a new slave unit, all in all a very easy and tidier solution than having the sky engineer tacking telephone wires to your skirting boards,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wireless phone extension instructions - in case you have lost yours, 22 Jun. 2011
This review is from: RTX Wireless Phone Jack Slave (Electronics)
I have a master/slave pair of these that worked very well for years. Then the kitchen was redone and power switched on and off a few times. The extension lost synch and I had a bit of trouble finding the instructions to sort it out. For anyone else who has the same problem in future....................

Wireless Phone Entesion Instructions:

Base unit - 2 sockets. Right hand socket connects to wall phone socket outlet. Left hand socket is for attaching a local wired phone/fax if required.
Extension unit - 1 socket for wire to extension phone/fax. Switch S = speech, C = Computer/Fax/Modem.

To register a Wireless Phone extension unit to the base (Max 4 extensions to 1 base):
Plug the Base unit into a power outlet socket and turn on. Unplug any phone connections to Base unit.
Plug the Extension unit into a power outlet near the Base unit and turn on. This will activate a red light on the Extension unit. If a green or yellow light comes on the extension is already registered and nothing needs to be done.
Plug one end of a phone line cord into the Base unit (right hand socket) and the other end into the Extension unit. A red light will be activated before changing either green to (if the switch is turned over to C = computer for modem, fax or set top box) or yellow (if the switch is turned over to S = speech
for phone). This can take up to a minute. If the light stays red, try turning the base unit off then on again again whilst the extension unit remains powered up and connected to the base unit.
Once the light changes on the Extension unit from red to green/yellow the extension is registered to the base unit. Unplug the phone line cord between the Base unit and the Extension unit.
The extension unit can then be unplugged from the power outlet, moved to its required location, plugged in to a power outlet there and connected to the computer/fax/modem/extension phone. The green/yellow light will be activated to confirm registration.

Hope this helps me in the future when I have lost the instructoins again, and anyone else.

TH
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Be VERY CAREFUL BEFORE YOU BUY THIS, 24 Feb. 2011
This review is from: RTX Wireless Phone Jack Slave (Electronics)
I bought the Master-Slave pair from Amazon as they did not do the Master-Slave-Slave combo.

The instructions are AWFUL and do not make sense. I tried the immediate supplier and the manufacturer for advice on what was meant by "if it does not work reset the Master"

If you want to be sure it works OK, set the switch to set top box so it will flash green when done - amber/red options are misleading if you start with it set to voice.

Do as the docs say and connect the new slave to the Master with the RJ11 cable then if it does not synchronise (i.e both go green) pull the master out of the mains leaving the slave in, leave a short time then plug back in. Being an old IT boy that's what we used to call hard reset. Worked for me

Messing about their way seemed to compromise the original Master/Slave relationship so I had to do the same with that

Once you know, I think it works fine BUT beware of this Amazon supplier who has never responded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just won't work, 18 Mar. 2010
By 
Dr. G. Wilson (Oxford) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RTX Wireless Phone Jack Slave (Electronics)
I've tried all the instructions in the book, and tried the Youtube videos. All I want is to be able to have a telephone connection without having to run wires everywhere, but the slave unit just won't pair with the master. I've tried going right back to basics and I've tried loads of different forums. Very few people seem to get the extra slave to work even though you are supposed to able to have two extras beyond the original one.

When I plug the two devices into the power all seems fine, then I connect the cable between them to pair them and the red light is supposed to go amber - it doesn't no matter how long you leave it. If I switch to computer-mode, then the pairing APPEARS to work, with the slave light going green, but then when I switch over to speech mode it isn't paired.

The manufacturers don't have a website with anything other than installation instructions and they don't offer online or telephone support. So, you're stuffed really.

Very unhappy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars useful wireless telephone extender, 22 Feb. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RTX Wireless Phone Jack Slave (Electronics)
I found this item very useful in supplying a line from my hall telephone socket to my living room satellite box, without lifting floorboards or carpets. It would also be useful for telephone extensions to upstairs rooms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works great for sky+HD, 9 Sept. 2011
This review is from: RTX Wireless Phone Jack Slave (Electronics)
Got these to work with my sky+HD multiroom box. Works very well, just need to unplug all other phone jacks before pairing new ones. Recommended if you don't want or can't run phone cables around you house.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Be aware.., 16 Jun. 2012
By 
Keith Simpson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RTX Wireless Phone Jack Slave (Electronics)
There didn't seem to be a great deal of choice if I wanted to use wired phones that I already had; it was this product or nothing as I already had a maximum number of extensions in use & I couldn't find any other similar products to consider. In fact it seemed to work very well, until we received an outside call & the phone I had attached to my new extension did not ring. I discovered reading another review that a work around is to use an ADSL filter because it automatically reconstructs the ring signal & this does work. I haven't properly understood why the ring signal is not generated by the extension & there is no documentation on this subject to be found. I suspect the explanation is that newer phones generate a ring in a different way to older phones & this product is not backwards compatible but I haven't tested this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Slave will not Pair with Master, 27 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RTX Wireless Phone Jack Slave (Electronics)
I bought the Slave and master package which are prepaired, no problems there 1 extension is working fine. I bought a second slave unit and this is the one I`m reviewing now.

Giving it 1 star as it just doesn`t work, it won`t pair with the master unit. If it paired I would have given the product 5 stars, as the 1 phone line I have working is crystal clear with no interference, this second slave was for my sky box, i can give the product nothing other than 1 as it doesnt work, im boxing it right back up now and requesting a replacement, if this replacement doesn`t work i will give up and just use single master and slave unit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

RTX Wireless Phone Jack Slave
£22.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews