Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value - the very best of Merle Haggard's 1962 - 1978 recordings., 10 Oct 2007
By 
The Country Grumpkin "Jimmy" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Merle Haggard (Audio CD)
This 2-disc Merle Haggard collection comprises 3 of the 10 sides initially released by the small independent Tally label, and 45 US Capitol recordings from the period 1965 to 1977/8.

These Tally sides became his first 3 Billboard country chart hits: 'Sing A Sad Song' reached no. 19 in early 1964; 'Just Between The Two Of Us', with Bonnie Owens, reached no. 28; and '(All My Friends Are Gonna Be) Strangers' went to no. 10.

Disc 1 contains 24 of Merle's Billboard country no. 1 hits on Capitol, whilst Disc 2 has the 3 Tally hits, 13 further Capitol top twenty hits, 2 'A' sides that didn't chart, 4 'B' sides (including 'Sidewalks Of Chicago' and 'Silver Wings'), and a couple of album tracks - Tommy Collins' 'High On A Hilltop', and 'I'll Leave The Bottle At The Bar' (which were not released on singles, as far as I am aware).

Most of Merle's best and best-known songs are here, of which he composed 30 or so - the songs that made him a major country music star in the '60s.

Yep, and not bad at that: pretty much the 'very best of' from the years 1962 to 1978, before he moved on to MCA and later Epic. The only really well-known song from that time that is curiously missing seems to be 'Today I Started Loving You Again', originally the 'B' side of 'The Legend Of Bonnie And Clyde' from 1968 - which is included here .

That one is available on various other compilations, however, including last years 'Hag - The Best Of Merle Haggard'. If you bought that one, though, you will already have 15 of these 48 tracks.

Still, this really is an excellent collection, and even if you do have 'Hag..' - as I do, it's well worth the modest price.

A useful 12-page booklet is included containing a brief overview of Merle's long career, and the song composer credits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sing Me Back Home, 27 April 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Merle Haggard (Audio CD)
This two CD set is a superb introduction to Merle Haggard and represents an absolute bargain. If you are a fan of the Bakersfield sound then look no further. I was astonished at the consistency and brilliance of the material included here. With excellent backing from his band the Strangers; sometimes including the great James Burton on guitar - Merle keeps it simple and the results include some of country music's greatest moments. There can be few better songwriters in any genre. Haggard delivers an abundance of great records here; with customary sadness, beauty and melancholy. Each track sung as brilliantly as ever. You can almost taste the whiskey and smell the smoke from the crowded bar-room. Five stars out of five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still "The Man", 25 Sep 2009
By 
Michael Loft "Mike Loft" (Ferndown, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Merle Haggard (Audio CD)
This double CD incorporates all the great tracks that I have loved listening to and playing over the last few decades, and is more than just a "Best of" compilation. If I had to list my favourite Merle Haggard tracks, the list would be longer than this - the man is such a great songwriter and singer, and so many others have been inspired and influenced by his work, that it is hard to pick out a short list. This compilation will live in the car, and get played on all those long drives home, late night trips, or just cruising around when I need a little company. I salute the selector who decided on the content and running order of the CDs, he had a really hard job, but did a good one here - obviously a great fan too. For the very reasonable cost of this package, this should be in every Hag fan or country nusic fans collection. Hag is the reason I have stayed a Country musician for so long - whenever I get tired of some of the current pretentious or rowdy offerings, I just put Hag on and soak up the quality, and the world seems a better place. Just try it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of Hag, 11 Oct 2010
By 
Mr. S. Scott - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Merle Haggard (Audio CD)
All the song you know and love by Hag,one or two were missing but still very good value for money.Sit back and enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hagg fan, 21 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Merle Haggard (Audio CD)
To all country fans, get this cd (from amazon)great price..great cd...fast delivery...I have been a Merle Haggard fan for years, got a few LP,s but no cd,s until now, 24 great tracks incl Sing me back home,Branded man,Silver wings,to be honest all of them..Must get more!...Thank,s Amazon..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars amazing amazon value, 22 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Merle Haggard (Audio CD)
what amazing value for money this purchase is! Two discs and all those classic tracks, cant fail to please if you are a country music lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Look No Further, 14 May 2011
By 
Mr. D. Wyatt - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Merle Haggard (Audio CD)
Look no further than this great-value collection of Merle's best recordings. I say that with some conviction because, in my opinion, he has merely "marked time" since the early 1980's. Singing as well as ever but the recorded material has been, with a few exceptions, pretty awful, bland, all sound-the-same, forgettable dross. The only exceptional album since the mid 1980s has been the 1999 re-recordings of the great and memorable songs on this album. That says it all, really. These are still the most requested songs at his concerts and with good reason.All are meaningful, memorable and sincerely sung in that slightly croaky, touch of the mournful voice with never the hint of straying off key or failing to hit the right note.
A "must have" album for his hordes of fans and anyone who wants to hear how the many facets of true country music should sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the great merle, 23 Dec 2010
By 
G. Pennington (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of Merle Haggard (Audio CD)
THIS HAS JUST GOT TO BE THE BEST COMPLIATION OF MERLE HAGGARDS MUSIC,EVERY TRACK IS BRILL,AND ALL ORIGINAL RECORDINGS,A GREAT BUY AT THE PRICE.WELL DONE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT COLLECTION TO START WITH, 20 Jun 2011
By 
Ronny Søgård (Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of Merle Haggard (Audio CD)
This is a best of-album from Merle Haggard, with songs from 1963-76. You get two great cd`s packed with lots of great Country music, from one of the finest songwriters in the history of music.

Classics such as "Sing me back home", "Okie from Miskogee" and "If we can make it through December" are all on this beautiful collection. So if you`re new to Merle`s music this is a excellent starting point!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic 2CD set from the legend himself, 21 Jan 2014
By 
G 1975 (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Merle Haggard (Audio CD)
The legendary Merle Haggard... 2cd set packed with great tracks, I'd personally recommend this to anyone, even if you're not into country... this will get you into it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x1105f048)

This product

The Very Best Of Merle Haggard
The Very Best Of Merle Haggard by Merle Haggard (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews