Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent series so far!
I've just finished watching episode 4 of this series and can't wait to see the rest! Cape Wrath is an excellent drama that keeps you guessing throughout and certainly has its fair share of violence and psychological mind-play. It has sparky and interesting characters and is extremely well cast. There are some characters that appear extremely irritating at first but their...
Published on 12 Oct 2007 by D. Camden

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice try but something missing, like an ending!
Cape Wrath is an interesting mini series based on the relocation of Danny Brogan (Morrisey) and his family to a quirky and on occasion creepy, out of the way town. But why are they in protection? Who are they running from and what the hell is going on in Meadowlands?

Mystery, murder and mayhem ensue in equal measure. In short, everyone has a shady past, nothing...
Published on 21 Feb 2011 by JSB


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice try but something missing, like an ending!, 21 Feb 2011
By 
JSB (Essex, england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cape Wrath [DVD] (DVD)
Cape Wrath is an interesting mini series based on the relocation of Danny Brogan (Morrisey) and his family to a quirky and on occasion creepy, out of the way town. But why are they in protection? Who are they running from and what the hell is going on in Meadowlands?

Mystery, murder and mayhem ensue in equal measure. In short, everyone has a shady past, nothing is as it seems and overall it appears to be a British attempt at Twin Peaks style weirdo drama- and not a very good one. The story is somewhat hard to swallow, especially as the 'cape wrath' project comes to light and the random injection of American cast members makes it a little out of context. The set lends presence as an extra cast member, a plastic, unifrom backdrop not unlike toy town which adds to the general feel of unease about the whole show.

I did like it though, as it is certainly different and grown up without being gratuitous though there is enough menace, sex and violence to make some of the viewing uncomfortable. Some performances are dire and the odd bit of dialogue is laugh out loud terrible. The sub plot concerning sour faced, sulky Evelyn and the painfully wet local doctor is boring and predictable and played with no passion whatsoever and I struggled to care about many of the fringe characters who are supposed to make it more interesting but just serve to make it apparent that the main plot is in serious need of fattening out. However there are stellar performances from David Morrisey, not in his usual role at all and Tom Hardy is exceptional as sinister handyman Jack.

If they had ever got to a second series, I would have watched it but knowing this will never come to be makes the effort of getting through these six episodes seem somewhat redundant. It's certainly interesting, and worth a look, but don't expect to be amazed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent series so far!, 12 Oct 2007
By 
D. Camden "liv" (south east england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cape Wrath [DVD] (DVD)
I've just finished watching episode 4 of this series and can't wait to see the rest! Cape Wrath is an excellent drama that keeps you guessing throughout and certainly has its fair share of violence and psychological mind-play. It has sparky and interesting characters and is extremely well cast. There are some characters that appear extremely irritating at first but their place quickly becomes clear, the cast is well balanced and there are few gaps. Some parts are perhaps a bit contrived and the set is a little odd and looks extremely american, perhaps to appeal to the US viewers?! Overall though I would thoroughly recommend this series and will be lending this to countless friends in the coming months I'm sure.
This has got to be english drama at its near-best. Cape Wrath is frightening and compelling and keeps up your interest. I've just found out that the second series has been cancelled - what a shame! a bit more advertising maybe! none of my friends had even heard of it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best drama of 2007, 16 Nov 2008
By 
Big Red - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cape Wrath [DVD] (DVD)
I just received this from Amazon for less than a tenner. What a bargain!

This could well be the best drama series you've never heard of - I don't think Channel Four promoted it very well and showed it late at night.

I'd describe Cape Wrath as a cross between Brookside and The Prisoner, with a few short Lost-style flashbacks thrown in to explain the characters. It also reminded me a bit of Twin Peaks in places but there is nothing overtly supernatural about it, just weird.

What made it for me is some stellar performances from David Morrissey and Lucy Cohu who play husband and wife, the Brogans. Some of their scenes together are electric, - warm and loving one minute to a gradual separation, caused by a series of sinister events and revelations. This eventually leads to a surprising cliff-hanger.

It's a shame there won't be a second series. It could probably continue with a complete change of cast because the concept is so good. The Brogan storyline, although ending on a cliffhanger, does reach a satisfactory conclusion, so you won't feel that there's only half a story.

There's also seven episodes, not five as advertised, plus a 'making of' documentary.

One last thing - there's some quite bloody violence in it, (though not gratuitous, it's all part of the plot), so it's very much an 18 cert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars PAST REDEMPTION?, 4 Oct 2010
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cape Wrath [DVD] (DVD)
Blindfolded, the newly renamed Brogan family arrives at Meadowlands - haven for those with a past to hide. Will there truly be freedom from what has happened or will memories always remain to haunt? On the surface the new life seems fine. Begin to delve and nothing can be trusted - everything way out but with no way out.

A seriously weird series with a strong cast, eerie atmosphere enhanced by the music and by the setting. (Even the golf course looks sinister.) Amongst many powerful performances, Melanie Hill deserves special mention - outwardly so cheerful as Brenda next door; in fact, so unhappy.

Generally uncomfortable viewing, at times very brutal. Much intrigues, viewers drip-fed clues that help to explain. The series benefits by being on DVD. (Shame, though, about the spoilers before closing credits.)

Challenging fare, but worth the effort. Do not expect answers, though, to all the questions raised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cracking series, 2 April 2009
By 
Kj Lawler (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cape Wrath [DVD] (DVD)
very bizarre viewing but strangley addictive--would recommend it and very good val;ue for a series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting idea but fails to deliver, 4 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cape Wrath [DVD] (DVD)
The plot behind Cape Wrath is original, but none of the characters are likeable making it difficult to care what happens to them. An interesting concept but the middle episodes are too drawn out with out really going anywhere. The 7 episodes could have been condensed into 5 and the series would probably be better for it. Enjoyed it but probably won't watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic series, deffinately a bit different to the norm!, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cape Wrath [DVD] (DVD)
I thoroughly enjoyed watching this series, I caught I glimpse of it on youtube, when I saw who the actors were I had to have this series. The price was so cheap and was really a no brainer as far has I was concerned. Well packaged and delivered in exra quick time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some flaws, 16 May 2012
By 
R. C. Harris "Eden House" (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cape Wrath [DVD] (DVD)
I persevered with this but was never really gripped. The acting was great, no problems there - all the cast were good.

And for fans of off beat dramas and no real desire to see logic applied it's probably ok. But the production is quirky and never really believable. Somehow, the characters seemed slightly out of sync.

But the real downer was the ending. It was so totally inconceivable on a number of levels that I wondered maybe if the writers meant it as a metaphor? If so, it was lost on me. I suspect that the reality is that they just ran out of ideas on how the series should progress and simply tried for a shock / surprise ending. I was simply glad for it to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A teen thing, 11 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cape Wrath [DVD] (DVD)
I was irritated by the storyline and the 2 dimensional characters. This is not drama at its best in any sense. Beats daytime TV I'll grant you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Weird and Wonderful, 13 Sep 2013
By 
N. Oates (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cape Wrath [DVD] (DVD)
Yes it's a bit weird, but it's well written and keeps you wanting to watch the next episode. Well worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cape Wrath [DVD]
Cape Wrath [DVD] by Andrew Gunn (DVD - 2007)
3.44
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews