Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clint Eastwood Collection - A Fistful Of Dollars/The Good, The Bad And The Ugly/For A Few Dollars More/Hang 'Em High [DVD]
The quintessential spaghetti western package starring the man himself. Clint Eastwood moody and brilliant in all four movies. Ennio Mooricone's superb soundtracks (in the three 'Man with No Name' movies) and baddies that are gloriously overstated.
The only slight downside is that the fourth film, 'Hang Em High' a good watch in itself, should really have been, 'Two...
Published on 30 April 2009 by David K. Thomson

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars spagetti western
Not sure if its the dvd or the film itself but theres the video and the sound are not in sync on any of these dvds.

Nothing wrong with the delivery times etc just the dvds, so not sure who to blame.

R
Published on 31 Aug 2009 by Russ Bus


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clint Eastwood Collection - A Fistful Of Dollars/The Good, The Bad And The Ugly/For A Few Dollars More/Hang 'Em High [DVD], 30 April 2009
By 
David K. Thomson "dkthomson" (Aylesbury, Bucks, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clint Eastwood 4 Film Collection [DVD] (DVD)
The quintessential spaghetti western package starring the man himself. Clint Eastwood moody and brilliant in all four movies. Ennio Mooricone's superb soundtracks (in the three 'Man with No Name' movies) and baddies that are gloriously overstated.
The only slight downside is that the fourth film, 'Hang Em High' a good watch in itself, should really have been, 'Two Mules For Sister Sara' a tortilla western rather than spaghetti but it would have fitted in with the other three better.
Great value boxset and a definite must in any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have!!!!!!!!!!!, 15 Feb 2011
By 
Tim Francis (Eriskay, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Clint Eastwood 4 Film Collection [DVD] (DVD)
This box set obviously contains 3 Spaghetti Westerns, A Fistful of Dollars, For a Few Dollars More and The Good, The Bad and the Ugly. There is also one other film include, Hang `Em High. The Spaghetti Westerns are so called because most of the spaghetti western films were made in Italy and they were made by Italian Directors, in this case the truly great Sergio Leone.
I will not go into too much detail about the films but for those of you that are new to these films all three spaghetti westerns are connected and they form a trilogy, perhaps one of the best trilogies out there. The three films all contain Clint Eastwood playing the now very "Man with no name." He is also joined by Lee Van Cleef and Eli Wallach. They all perform very well and deserve the critical acclaim received. Personally my favourite film out of the three is The Good the Bad and the Ugly, there is an engrossing plot that takes place during the civil war and the climax of the entire film, a brilliant gunfight in a graveyard is one of those truly memorable moments in film. The Gunfight is also on par with some of the greatest gunfights seen, even on par if not better than Gunfight at the OK Corral. Hang `Em High is not connected to the spaghetti westerns but it is nonetheless a fabulous film.
To review the box set itself I must say I was very impressed. It is a nicely presented cardboard outer casing that has on it a fantastic photo of the man with name and within that there are 4 thin cased individual DVDs. The information is clearly displayed and it gives you all the information that you could want on the bottom of the cardboard casing.
All in all this box set is a must buy for any western fan or if you are new to the genre there is no better place to start. It is a well presented and good quality box set and at only 7.99 it was a real bargain for me. This is definitely one the best box sets I own and I strongly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For the films alone..., 11 Sep 2008
By 
C. Cousins "PoppyCorn" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Clint Eastwood 4 Film Collection [DVD] (DVD)
...this is a fine set, you get Hang 'Em High in addition to the traditional 3 film set, usually refered to as the man with no name films, although he does have names, Joe, Manco and Blondie (nickname?) if I remember correctly.

I'm only writing this review as I think the one star is unfair as loads of boxsets are repacked from other sets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clint Eastwood 4 Film Collection, 27 Dec 2011
This review is from: Clint Eastwood 4 Film Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I find it difficult to imagine that anyone who likes westerns has not seen the movies included in this set. Obviously I had seen the movies before buying this collection, and I knew I liked them, but what made this collection worth buying for me was the commentaries. Very interesting and informative. I think particularly in case of the so-called dollar trilogy it's important to understand the context, know the background, and that's exactly what these commentaries provide.
But if you happen to be new to the world of westerns and you are wondering whether to buy the set or not, I recommend you do. You get four films for a very reasonable price, all of them uncut (I understood from the commentaries that when the films were released in the States, for instance, certain sequences were cut because they were deemed inappropriate) and the commentaries are an added bonus. Besides, the dollar trilogy is definitely something that every Eastwood fan must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why mess with a classic?, 28 Aug 2009
By 
I. S. Pegler "ianto29" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clint Eastwood 4 Film Collection [DVD] (DVD)
The version of The Good the Bad and the Ugly is the extended version, but I was hoping it would be the original theatrical release! I agree entirely with comments made by other reviewers in so far as these extra scenes do nothing for the film except make an already long film even longer and the over-dubbing is poor and instantly noticeable. I'm sure I speak for many fans of these movies in suggesting a remastered version based on the original theatrical release. So for that it loses a star. That said, these films are absolute classics and The Good the Bad and the Ugly is still one of my all-time favourites, even having watched it countless times. As far as I'm concerned, the quality of the sound and picture is fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CLINT EASTWOOD, 2 Feb 2009
By 
L. Biddle (Kent UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Clint Eastwood 4 Film Collection [DVD] (DVD)
The ultimate collection. Absolute classics. This is Clint at his very best I think. Supberb acting, gripping. All that you want for a western
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Help anyone?, 28 Dec 2010
This review is from: Clint Eastwood 4 Film Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic films goes without saying and tremendoius acting from all involved.

However I have a problem, all the dvd's play a few seconds out of sync in terms of audio. Can't notice it during shoot-outs but during conversations it is noticeable and annoying. I got other DVD's for Xmas and they have worked fine so it's not my DVD player or Xbox, just with the Clint films. Anybody have any idea on how to resolve this?
Cheers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars spagetti western, 31 Aug 2009
This review is from: Clint Eastwood 4 Film Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Not sure if its the dvd or the film itself but theres the video and the sound are not in sync on any of these dvds.

Nothing wrong with the delivery times etc just the dvds, so not sure who to blame.

R
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Audio not in Sync, micro sized printed titles, 8 Jan 2010
By 
Pardek (Krocton, Romulus) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Clint Eastwood 4 Film Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I have to agree with R. De'souza

While on three of the DVD's the audio is fairly in sync so as not to be annoying, it is a different issue on the second one, "For a Few dollars More". It is terribly out of sync by about 0.5 sec. 0.5 of a second may not sound like a lot but it is very annoying and inexcusable for a DVD being produced today. Substandard production of this set of DVDs is all I can say.

Another very annoying thing is that there are no standard size movie titles on the DVDs !! Instead you have to read the miniature copyright info to see the names because on three of the DVD's there are no images that easily tell you what movie it is. Why on earth MGM would do this is beyond me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Westerns, 29 Mar 2009
By 
Keith Butler "Keith" (Buckinghamshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clint Eastwood 4 Film Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Clint Eastwood Collection - A Fistful Of Dollars/The Good, The Bad And The Ugly/For A Few Dollars More/Hang 'Em High [DVD]
If you like old westerns, you will love this. Obviously cheesy (those were the days)but this was also the time when the Clint Eastwood phenomenon was honing itself into the ultimate cold killer, but always with a tongue in cheek.

The music of Ennio Morricone is of course also the ultimate partner for the times.

Good entertainment and if you were a young bloke like I was at the time, then also packed full of memories. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Clint Eastwood 4 Film Collection [DVD]
15.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews