Customer Reviews


138 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, with more to it than meets the eye
This film is rightly considered a classic. It can be watched on two levels. On the surface its a great action film with sweeping battle scenes. On another level there is a lot of ironic, tongue in cheek humour in the film. In a really subtle way the subtext of the film is an allegory about fascism, with nods to the Roman Empire.

If you want to see pretty people...
Published on 15 Aug 2010 by Son of Sam

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Sub par extras for a deserving movie
Although image and sound are crisp, the extras feel lifted from the DVD edition with no afterthought for the HD format. Disappointing.
Published 9 months ago by Mario F. M. Santos


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Would you like to know more?, 15 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starship Troopers [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Starship Troopers was originally a book released in 1959 written by the rather famous sci-fi author Robert A. Heinlein. I haven't read it (getting hold of a copy is difficult) so can't compare it with the film but what I can tell you is the 1998 film adaption brilliant and deeper then the cover or action suggest.

The films plot is fairly thin on the surface focusing on Johnny Rico, an athletic star who upon finishing school joins the Troopers to follow the girl of his dreams just before earth is attacked and plunged into war with an alien race known as the Arachnids (or bugs).

The film however is surprisingly more than it seems with earth ruled by an apparent military fascist state where if you want to vote, get university scholarship or even have children you have to do a term of service for the federation. This sub plot, full of political satire is a genuinely interesting theme running through the background of what seems to be a mindless action movie at first glance. Throughout the film it cuts to news reels or advertisements run by the state showing live executions of criminals and trying to persuade people to enlist in the federation to gain citizenship.

If however you are interested in Starship Troopers for the expected action rather than it's more subtle undertones then this film is more than definitely still for you. Every moment from Rico's training in boot camp right upto fleets of ships and marines invading bug planets is fantastic, often bloody and not without the odd bit of dark humour thrown into the mix with it.

The special effects even sixteen years later are still (and I exaggerate not) better than some films that come out today. The ships in space, arachnids running around, particle effects etc are still seriously impressive. I honestly can't believe how good the visuals still are. The soundtrack is equally impressive with it's orchestral military themes during the action down to the school prom music is perfect.

Though I love this film to bits though not all of it is perfect. The acting performances are a little campy in places but it kind of works as the film is rather tongue and cheek anyway. There are some good performances though, most notably from Michael Ironside.

As a blu-Ray though the film has obviously been enhanced to HD the extras haven't, in ether amount or quality. It features a screen test, some trailers etc that last less then maybe twenty minutes and the quality is abysmal, almost like they took it straight from an old VHS.

Essentially though perhaps not the deepest movie, not the best acted or well written but Starship Troopers is a film I have loved for many years and is more than the sum of it's parts.

+ Political satire moments are clever.
+ Action is outstanding.
+ Special effects and soundtrack are hugely impressive still.

- Blu-Ray extras are sorely lacking and of poor quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CGI is very good, non-cgi is slightly grainy, 3 Jan 2008
By 
A. Taylor (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Starship Troopers [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Good film. This is probably one of my best blu-ray discs. The space scenes are very crisp and look superb. The non-cgi scenes are slightly grainy but still not as bad as some 'remastered' blu-ray discs I have seen.
If you liked the film and have it on standard dvd and have a blu-ray player I would recomend buying this and getting rid of your standard copy. The improvement is definitly worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starship Troopers [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Like all blu-rays when compared to watching the DVD version or an old video one watching this film is a clearer, more detailed experience and in many cases it's like looking at the film for the first time as the film stock used to transfer to Blu-Ray is usually "worked on" first to get as good a copy as possible.
My taste in films may not be the same as yours so if you want to know about this film I suggest that you use the internet to find 2 or 3 reviews by experienced film reviewers and make your judgment whether to buy this film or not.
I have watched approx 600 films in my life and have a collection of over 200 Blu-Ray's and I rate this one 7/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HAS IT ALL, 17 Oct 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Sex, violence, nudity, big guns, war, bugs, satire, and Denise Richards. Truly inspirational. What else does a real man's movie need?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Starship troopers, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love that guy Verhoeven. It's a sure sign of the state of todays Hollywood, that this director hasn't got the place in it today. He is too edgy for them, too provocative, too pig-hedaed. But, before all, he is a great dircetor. And, this is his best movie for me. You can watch it as an action movie, you can watch it as a war movie, you can watch it as a parody, you can watch it as a propaganda fot totalitarian regimes, and in all that fields it excells. And, as much as it strange to say for a SF movie about space ships, space bugs and, well, space troopers, it is one of the most realistic war movies ever. Verhoeven hasn't got much love for his characters. They were killed or wounded on regular basis. I would recommend it for every man who thinks with his own head, and not with the crap that media feeds him daily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, if you have the right sense of humour, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starship Troopers [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Personally, I think this film is absolutely great. It's funny, gory and slap stick. You have to have the right kind of sense of humour to enjoy it though, as it is a complete spoof film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best films ever !, 28 April 2013
I absolutley love this film it is fantastic to watch as a film when all you want is big guns, big fights and big bugs ! It is epic !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Girl Loved It, 19 Mar 2013
By 
I promised my girlfriend that she would enjoy this film and she did - the idiotic parents, the patriots. True life was never committed more strongly to film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Come on you Ape!, 4 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starship Troopers [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This, along with Aliens, are by far my favourite Sci-Fi / Action films of all time. Deliberately tongue-in-cheek it manages to get away with the ridiculousness of the story with ease, and even throws in some interesting moral questioning of the human race to boot, if you care to look for it. Of course for the most part this is an action film, and damn, does it deliver. The battle scenes are truly epic, with thousands of bugs, empty blank cartridges being flung everywhere, mini-tactical nukes -the lot. It even throws in some great space sequences as the story follows two pilots whose story is intertwined with the other characters. The film looks great on Blu-Ray and I was very impressed with how little the special effects have aged - everything still looks great.
One thing to note for those who haven't seen it... this is at times a very graphic film! You have been warned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Barnstorming action-thriller with bugs, 3 Dec 2011
By 
Starship Troopers (1998) is a barnstorming action-thriller bringing to life a world of huge bugs, and the absurdity, extremism and propaganda used in war and the scars of warfare. Here we have over-the-top beautiful young teens excited about life wishing to join the mobile infantry or elite fighter pilots to fight a war against enormous bugs and guarantee them citizenship. These bugs, on a planet hilariously called "Klendathu", allegedly started a galactic war on humans by retaliating against a settlement expedition and then sending a meteor to Buenos Aires. The political complexities are not so simple though.

The special effects are amazing, the Industrial Light and Magic work is reminiscent of Star Wars, and the photoreal bugs and the strong bloody violence make the film memorable.

It is packed with energy, a little cartoony, does not even hide its eye candy, nor the sexy scenes, and I've never seen anything like it, but it's Paul Verhoeven who appears to be the star again with a distinct science blockbuster film to complement Total Recall and it's all explainable and quite intellectual, thanks to the book on which it is based.

The one DVD contains the film and audio-commentary, inter alia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Starship Troopers [Blu-ray]
Starship Troopers [Blu-ray] by Paul Verhoeven (Blu-ray - 2007)
£8.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews