Customer Reviews


161 Reviews
5 star:
 (95)
4 star:
 (42)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb Sci-fi Political Satire Movie
Starship Troopers (Blu-ray).

Blu-ray Info.
Format: Widescreen
Language: English
Subtitles: English, Spanish, Swedish, Norwegian, Danish, Finnish, Icelandic, Dutch, French
Subtitles For The Hearing Impaired: English
Region: All Regions
Aspect Ratio: 16:9 - 1.85:1
Dolby TrueHD 5.1 English
Dolby TrueHD 5.1 French
Dolby...
Published 14 months ago by Timelord-007

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A pail reflection of the book
In defense of our world, school kids from Argentina willingly join the military upon graduation, as military service is required for full citizenship. During their term they learn adapt to their new environment and grow together or apart as they take part in many battles against big bugs from outer space.

Yep it is another bug movie. In addition, the bugs are...
Published on 19 July 2004 by bernie


‹ Previous | 112 13 1417 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Languages, 20 Aug. 2010
By 
Daniel Schranz "lionbio" (austria) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hello,
can anyone say if there is a german language on this dvd version.
I think it must be but I'm not sure. Thanks for the information.
I love this film but I prefer the my mother language (german).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Classic, 5 April 2008
By 
Caleb Williams (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Starship Troopers [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Starship Troopers is one of those films that truly sets itself apart from the rest and lets us reminisce about the great gritty Sci-Fi movies of the late 80s & early 90s.
This has over the top gore, the typical love story and cheesy dialogue that would put most chick flicks to shame.

The Story: In a very distant future high school kids are encouraged to join the military in order to gain citizenship which is something that has to be done to become a full citizen. This brings us to our main characters Johnny Rico (Casper Van Dien) & Carmen Ibanez (Denise Richards) who are 2 young and enthusiastic students who are madly in love. Carmen joins the Military in order to fight against the bugs of Klendathu, a planet on the other side of the Milky Way Galaxy. Rico joins the military along with Carmen but after a rough time and the unexpected death of one of his friends while in training, Johnny decides to quit. However something unexpected happens, the bugs of Klendathu launch an asteroid at Earth which ultimately destroys Rico's home of Buenos Aries, this changes his mind and he begs his commanding officers to let him back in because he wants revenge.
Johnny is brought back into the military and is put onto the front line in the humans first attempt at attacking the bug homeworld which is a disaster on a monumental scale. Rico is one of the victims of this massacre and is brought home to recover, but that doesn't stop his determination to get revenge on the bugs. Back home a number of propaganda commercials are being run telling the country that although the humans suffered a massive loss we all need to do our part.

The Review: Now this is a pretty good film with a very unique premise and look which does give a nostalgia of how the 1980s movies percieved the future. It's very graphic and very gritty, Paul Verhoeven clearly didn't want to hold back anything when telling a story of love, friendship, revenge and quite simply heroism. The story is quite cheesy in the sense that it's a typical hero movie when a guy starts off at the bottom, something tragic happens to him which somehow gives him superhuman ability to defeat a horde of angry, emotionless bugs.
This is something that a lot of people would hate as in todays cinema a lot is demanded when it comes to depth and realism, to me however I found this incredibly enjoyable and I think this is something that we need to see more of in future movies as we truly have a character to root for all the time.
Van Dien I feel has always been a very underrated actor, he may not be the most diverse actor in the world I agree, but at the same time he has the ability, charisma and timing to have been somewhat of a memorable action movie star.
A very good film which is somewhat of a classic that I think will live in the hearts of film fans for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 22 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No. Bad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastical sci fi critique of fascism, 20 Feb. 2000
By A Customer
Wandering into the cinema with no preconceptions is a wonderful thing. Imagine my surprise when presented with a marvellous parody of the "let's kill a slimey bug film". While Starship Troopers is most definitely about killing slimey bugs, it has many deeper levels to it. My suspicion is that our heroes didn't really exist and the presentation of the film as a recruitment exercise was more to do with the state's desire to hold the populace in a perpetual state of fear. I suspect that not everyone who sees this will hold the same opinion - as evidenced by a woman sitting in front of me in the cinema who exclaimed at the end "ooh, it's not as good as Alien, is it?".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love the film, but...?, 23 April 2008
By 
Jarle L. Nyvoll (RANDABERG Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Starship Troopers [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I happen to love this film - very intelligent indeed.

However, does anyone know whether this blu-ray release includes the director's commentary track? This was the best feature on the standard definition DVD.

Answers appreciated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A must
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Bit Dated Now, 11 Jun. 2014
By 
Alan Edwards (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starship Troopers [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A good film but a bit dated now. Still, price was reasonable and delivery was pretty quick. Probably would not buy now though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awsome effects, 3 Mar. 2001
By 
Attila Beno (Budapest, Hungary Hungary) - See all my reviews
You do need strong nerves to watch the film, but it's probably worth it. The story's the usual: the aim is to save the human civilization. Effects are great though. You couldn't tell if these were real creatures, or just computer animation. :) Worth watching, and owning it on dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 112 13 1417 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Starship Troopers [Blu-ray]
Starship Troopers [Blu-ray] by Paul Verhoeven (Blu-ray - 2007)
£7.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews