Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jindabyne
Excellent movie, beautifully shot, fabulous scenery, lighting and thought provoking story line and wonderful hunting music.
Published on 26 Nov 2007 by D. Carten

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Could have been better
The reviews' extracts on the DVD box say words such as "thrilling", "gripping" and soundbite words to that effect. I have to say having read about it and the cast list, made me think I couldn't go wrong by taking the risk and buying it on DVD, especially as it was not expensive when I bought it. Well luckily, the advantage of price made the disappointment and bafflement...
Published on 5 Dec 2009 by maximus


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Could have been better, 5 Dec 2009
By 
maximus (manchester, uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jindabyne [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
The reviews' extracts on the DVD box say words such as "thrilling", "gripping" and soundbite words to that effect. I have to say having read about it and the cast list, made me think I couldn't go wrong by taking the risk and buying it on DVD, especially as it was not expensive when I bought it. Well luckily, the advantage of price made the disappointment and bafflement that followed at the end of the movie more acceptable. I won't bother going too much into the plot as it is already well described in the listing and reviews here. I will just say that it could have been much better if some element of suspense were to build and at least resolve in some way. I am not saying it needed to follow the path of a whodunit thriller (which in some ways the description of the movie and reviews in the media seem to allude to ... not sure why now having seen the film) but at least not make it so much about the Laura Linney character. The plot or perhaps the direction relied too much on her "troubles" with life and what happened with regards to her husband and his fishing friends finding the body. In some respects, the film itself seemed disrespectful and appeared to be about acting and slow deliberate and expansive cinematic experience than the way the girl dies, is found and the culprit seemingly forgotten about by the characters and police. The latter is what I found baffling and kept thinking it will come to the fore at some point and perhaps resolve in some way, but no .. the entire thing became flat and pointless by the end and quite frustrating as a movie watching experience. The culprit is seen about in the film, but the treatment of the presence and the murderous act of that person again seemed almost secondary to the problems of Laura Linney and her entourage of odd couples and out of place people. That is what I think was more disrespectful of human life, and if the screenplay was trying to make a point, we missed it completely. Baffling, but not in a good way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "A" for strong acting from the two key lead, 5 Jun 2009
This review is from: Jindabyne [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Australia is really blessed with fantasitc landscape and you can see planty of the undisturbed beauty in this movie. What really did it for me though was the great acting from the two main lead. Story unfolds with a group of guys chancing upon a dead girl,and as a result of their apathy and perhaps excessively pragmatic "reaction/soultion" to the discovery, much tension and struggle arose between individuals. You can see strains to friendships, love lives and even to the self...all brought alive and made very believable through the strong performance of the actors involved. Surprisingly simple in storyline, perhaps that's what made the movie even more impactful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jindabyne, 26 Nov 2007
By 
D. Carten "Cayman" (Caribbean) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Excellent movie, beautifully shot, fabulous scenery, lighting and thought provoking story line and wonderful hunting music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Melodramatic and interminably boring, 9 Aug 2009
By 
W. Grant "ratsinparadise" (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jindabyne [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this film with high hopes, having been impressed by some promising and atmospheric trailers. Unfortunately I was in for a disappointment. This film really has very little going for it. It's one plus point is an excellent central performance from Gabriel Byrne, although it is ultimately very difficult to like his character.

The film portrays its small Australian community in a very negative light. Even before their ill-fated fishing trip, the group of so-called friends seem to treat each other quite badly, and similarly the women back home are shown as dysfunctional and vicious. The result is that it is very difficult to feel any sympathy when the events of the fishing trip come to light throught the press and the men are forced to reflect on their actions.

I agree with the remarks made in other reviews that the sound is intrinsically poor, making some of the conversations in the film very difficult to follow.

It has a very slow and dull pace. The plot lacks any kind of proper closure or resolution. The nods to the problematic relationship between the whites and the Aboriginal community are predictable, awkwardly handled and fall flat. The film is ultimately dull, overlong, depressing and unrewarding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A really very good film, 21 Sep 2007
By 
Warwick Holt (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jindabyne [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Like a lot people I thought about this film for a few days after. I saw that the film is special as it was filmed completely with natural light and technically it is beautiful to look at. What struck me was the portrail of the Aborigines. The white people were portrayed with the usual flaws plus supersitions etc, ie praying to St Bridget to proctect the house, brewing home brew and drinking and fighting and it was the aboriginal people who were protrayed with great dignity. The difference between the different cultures was captured well especially at the memorial ceremony. It really hit the mark. This was the subtle point of the film and I would recommend everyone, especially Australians, to see it. This is not a thriller, horror movie or particularly scarey but there is a message there for all Australians to ponder on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The last ten minutes were missing . . ., 18 Feb 2008
By 
J. Webster (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jindabyne [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Fine acting , nice scenery , well made film but lacks any conclusion.

After watching this I was left with only questions . I think this is what could be called a "slice of life" story. Things are alluded to , inferred , mentioned in passing but never resolved . The film occasionally focuses on things to draw attention to them ,often giving a ominous feel to the film , but there's no followup .

Despite this I would have enjoyed the film if there had just been some tying-up at the end , hence the missing ten minutes .

I would not recommend this film unless you place acting and filmcraft above all else .

J Webster
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars VERY SLOW BUT GREAT CHARACTER STUDY., 13 July 2013
This review is from: Jindabyne [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent morality tale with personal baggage getting in the way. Has some fantastic scenery and terrific claustrophobic acting. Definitely worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful film, 22 July 2012
This review is from: Jindabyne [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this film recently. I love Australian cinema , this is a deep thought provoking story , there's a lot going on here, fractious relationships and deep routed problems tearing friendships and partnerships apart. Things Come to ahead when the men folk find a body in a river on a fishing weekend, and wait 3 days to report it for one reason or another and continue fishing. The community turns against them and deeper rifts start to appear between the group of friends,their wife's and partners. Richly poignant in places, beautiful scenery and a great musical score.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful film with no credible plot, 28 Jan 2008
By 
N. DIN "Optimus" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jindabyne [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this film through the DVD Rental scheme and found it a real chore to watch.
Ray Lawrence really needs lessons in Directing a captivating film. About an hour into the film, I was wondering what the purpose of this film was.
About 2 hours in, with no conclusion, no dramatic sense of finale, no message to send to the audience and certainly no ending the credits started rolling. I use the term credit loosely. The only plus point in this film was the scenery on offer if you survive the boredom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars P.S. Don't miss this movie., 26 Jan 2008
This review is from: Jindabyne [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
The premise of the film is that a moral dilema is created by the delayed reporting a of crime. That idea is that mixing this with quasi-religious themes and small town issues makes a compelling film is a horribly flawed concept. Long drawn out scenes do not in themselves create atmosphere or make a poor script at all interesting. I also agree that the sound track makes some of the dialogue impossible to hear (having to replay parts to try to understand what is being said doesn't make for a pleasant experience). The landscape is the most interesting element of the film - so if you like landscape, solid acting, but a totally unbelievable plot...don't miss this film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jindabyne [2007] [DVD]
Jindabyne [2007] [DVD] by Ray Lawrence (DVD - 2007)
3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews