Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Let popfan tell you the truth
I liked this movie, its a slasher film -its no halloween so if thats what you want get that... its on amazon. This film as a plot -involving a brother and sister who are involved in a death which comes back to haunt and follow them. Its a good watch and is honest straight forward and kept you watching its ok shot and is worth its price.
Other reviews have been...
Published on 7 Oct. 2011 by steven Green

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Students go under the knife
Apart from the opening sequence, there isn't much to recommend about this film because its a tad predicatible and there are extremely long boring periods between each kill. The annoying thing is that most of the annoying kids and bad actors don't get killed.

There are some decent kills with a decapitation but most of the others just get a face carving (even the...
Published on 21 July 2011 by Mr. P. Abbott


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Students go under the knife, 21 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pumpkin Karver [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Apart from the opening sequence, there isn't much to recommend about this film because its a tad predicatible and there are extremely long boring periods between each kill. The annoying thing is that most of the annoying kids and bad actors don't get killed.

There are some decent kills with a decapitation but most of the others just get a face carving (even the pretty girl from Friday Night Lights).

The ending was very similar to Indentity and if you have managed to keep awake during the film, then you can see it coming a mile off.

The alternative ending on the disc is even worse so I'm glad they never used that ending.

It seemed to want to steal so many elements from other films without giving inself any original ideas.

There were some extras on the disc - a making of feature but nothing else worth mentioning.

If you want to see this at Halloween then the best suggestion is to rent it because you won't want to see this film more than once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars JUST KEEP TAKING PICTURES, 27 July 2013
This review is from: The Pumpkin Karver [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Jonathan (Michael Zara) has nothing better to do on Halloween night than carve pumpkins. Alec (David J. Wright) is Lyn's (Amy Weber) douche-bag boyfriend who puts on a mask and scares Lyn. Jonathan, believing she is actually being attacked kills her boyfriend. A year later they go to a Halloween party out in a field with a bunch of Lyn's friends, none of which we get to know other than by their 2006 costumes.

Jonathan is having flash backs and sees weird things associated with Alec in his pumpkin mask. There is an old creepy pumpkin carver (Terrence Evans) who mentions other carvers. Jonathan gets kicked around by a steroid pumped ex-boyfriend of a girl, who his sister is attempting to fix him up with (nice going sis).

The characters have some colorful moments, but they are far from funny. The lack of character build up and suspects turns this who-dun-it slasher film into a lame 2 star attempt.

F-bomb, near sex, no nudity in spite of what the rating box tells you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Let popfan tell you the truth, 7 Oct. 2011
By 
steven Green (Nottinghamshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pumpkin Karver [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
I liked this movie, its a slasher film -its no halloween so if thats what you want get that... its on amazon. This film as a plot -involving a brother and sister who are involved in a death which comes back to haunt and follow them. Its a good watch and is honest straight forward and kept you watching its ok shot and is worth its price.
Other reviews have been negative at times i dont know what they expect for this price- it follows in the footsteps of other slashers its not going to rienvent the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Halloween movie, but could have been so much better without the silly humour and annoying cast., 1 July 2008
This review is from: The Pumpkin Karver [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
This film had some truly wonderful, evocative settings for a Halloween movie, just right, but, some of the most annoying, and unappealing and unattractive young people ever to be seen in a horror movie! Witness the stupid manic behaviour and bug-eating activities, boring and silly, and far too long spent on that rubbish when it really wasn't necessary, and ruined what was otherwise a very effective movie for Halloween.
If they had made more of the creepy settings and effects and less of the crap, this movie could have got five stars. It's still well worth seeing, just fast forward past the braindead behaviour of the boring losers whenever they get stuck into a scene if they bore you as much as they did me. An opportunity to make a really effective and eerie movie with such wonderful Halloween atmosphere of the setting and wasted on tired old lunacy and tedious characters who you couldn't care less about! They should have concentrated on the main characters and the unpleasant and menacing old man, and kept the stupid attempts at playing it for laughs out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Critics are carving it up, but I think PK's a pretty darn entertaining slasher film, 30 Oct. 2006
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I've read nothing but negative reviews of this film; I haven't even found a single horror reviewer with anything good to say about it. Certainly, some of the criticisms are valid, but I still thought Pumpkin Karver was a pretty darn good horror movie. I don't know why it's so hard for some people to sit down and enjoy a slasher film these days. They decry the formulaic nature of modern horror films, then complain when a film like this one doesn't follow the same old tried-and-true formula they claim to despise so much. Worst of all, they criticize the lack of gore in Pumpkin Karver. Now, as you might already know, I crave blood and gore as much as anybody out there, but it's not the be all and end all of every single horror movie. I don't judge a slasher film by the number of dead bodies it stacks up over the course of an hour and a half. I also don't demand that every horror film I watch explain everything to me at the very end - a little ambiguity isn't necessarily a bad thing. Okay, so the ending of Pumpkin Karver is a little goofy, I'll grant you, but at least it wasn't written in blood from the very beginning.

The opening scene of Pumpkin Karver ranks right up there with Scream, The Ring, and maybe even Halloween, if you ask me. I won't give you any details, but I will say it takes place on Halloween and involves a babe, a murder, and a surprise - and it leaves one young man rather emotionally scarred. So how do you move on from a pumpkin-related tragedy? Apparently, you move to a town called Carver and take part in a big Halloween party with a bunch of silly teenagers with names like Bonedaddy and Skinner. Things are definitely looking up for young Jonathan Starks (Michael Zara), as his seriously hot sister Lynn (Amy Weber) has hooked him up with a hottie named Tammy (Minka Kelly). There's just something about Tammy; she isn't exactly the sharpest knife in the drawer, and her voice is a little on the squeaky side, but she definitely has IT. Unfortunately, not everyone is in a partying mood. Tammy's former boyfriend still thinks he owns her, this weird old dude keeps popping up and going on and on about the art of carving and how he likes to carve the evil out of people, and there's also a Pumpkinhead dude who seems to be haunting Jonathan. In case you're wondering, drunk, goofy kids in silly costumes will definitely die on this night.

I don't have a problem with the gore and special effects. It's all pretty well done (with one dude meeting with a most ignominious end), even though the whole "carving" aspect of the murders seems to come and go. The weird old farmer dude is a bit of a problem, though. With all of his monologues about the art of carving, you know he's either the killer or the biggest red herring you've ever seen. Then you've got Jonathan having all these weird visions of old Pumpkinhead, so you don't know if he's just nuts or if the dude really exists. These facets of the story do make the whole story a little bit on the lame side, but at least they keep you guessing as to the true identity of the killer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pumpkin Karver [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Fast delivery, no problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars awful film, 15 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pumpkin Karver [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
From the cover I was hoping for quite a good horror, how painful it was when I realised this was so awful in everyway.
Im glad I purchased this at a very cheap price, as to buy this at an expensive price would of meant i'd of felt ripped off.
Im going into town this week for shopping and when im there I will give this to one of the charity shops, so at least someone can gain something from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pumpkin Karver [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
good item fast dispatch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Surprisigly bad!, 8 Nov. 2007
By 
This review is from: The Pumpkin Karver [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
worst movie ever, lower than B movie, not even tongue in cheek humour. Unbelievable effects, poor acting...Save your energy dont bother...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Pumpkin Karver [2006] [DVD]
The Pumpkin Karver [2006] [DVD] by Robert Mann (DVD - 2007)
£10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews