Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Family Entertainment
This is one of those films that I think succeeds really well in entertaining the whole family. It looks like a kids film but there's plenty here to keep adults entertained too.

The story centres around a young orphaned boy, Lewis, who is desperate to be adopted but whose overzealous demonstrations of his not always working perfectly inventions scare many would...
Published on 28 Jan 2008 by brainleek007

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of Disney's best but one of the numbered classics
I bought this to add to the classics collection.

Its a spy film with a Disney touch a must if you are collecting the classics
Published 2 months ago by Michelle Courtney


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Family Entertainment, 28 Jan 2008
By 
brainleek007 (Bracknell) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is one of those films that I think succeeds really well in entertaining the whole family. It looks like a kids film but there's plenty here to keep adults entertained too.

The story centres around a young orphaned boy, Lewis, who is desperate to be adopted but whose overzealous demonstrations of his not always working perfectly inventions scare many would be families off!

Lewis is also desperate to meet his mother but since nobody ever saw her leave him on the steps of the orphanage nobody knows what she looks like - except Lewis. He is convinced that somewhere in his mind he has an image of his mother locked away and sets about inventing a brain scanning machine so he can find out what she looks like and track her down. This is where the fun really starts as the machine Lewis builds is of great interest to a shady character wearing a rather unusal bowler hat...

Once the adventure kicks off Lewis is whisked away into the future by a new friend who is trying to convinve Lewis of the importance of him finishing his brain scanning machine and, yes, ultimately saving the world!

I don't want to give any more away of the plot, it's not mind bending but some smaller children may be a little confused by the time travel aspect of the plot but I can't see it mattering much as the film has so much to hold their attention.

The picture on Bluray is again simply astounding. In fact this is the cleanest looking film I've ever seen. With the film being computer generated there is no film grain or normal/natural analogue noise in the picture anywhere as it's existed in digital form from the studio to the home. The colours are amazing - everything is so bright and clear and sharp, utterly beautiful.

Sound is great too, English language tracks include a 5.1 Dolby Digital and a PCM 5.1 uncompressed. Everything you need for the ultimate in picture and sound quality. During the action sequences the sound certainly is involving and generally is superb elsewhere with lots of great sound effects and very clear dialogue.

All in all a very worthy buy if you have kids or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great family film, 5 April 2008
Maybe not as many jokes for the adults but this is still a great family film.
Image quality is clean and crisp with good colour.
Sound is also clean though did not notice much use of the surround channels. Maybe that's a good sign?!
Rented this and recently my youngest (8) asked if we still had it to watch again, so it must be pretty good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Meet The Robinsons" on BLU RAY - Compatibility Issues With Both 'US' Discs (2D & 3D) - Buy The UK Versions Instead..., 5 Mar 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
A quality family film and beautifully rendered too.

But British parents and fans should be aware that the 'US' special editions on 20th Century Fox of both the standard 2D and the 3D issues are REGION A LOCKED - so it won't play on our machines unless they're chipped to be 'all regions' which most aren't.

Plumb for the UK versions instead - and avoid costly mistakes...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meet teh Robinsons, the best kids film since Shrek 2, 4 Oct 2007
This review is from: Meet The Robinsons [DVD] (DVD)
I first had the pleasure of watching this film on holiday, and I must say i'm addicted. The surreal and hilarious film about Lewis, the orphan inventor and his adventures in the future when he gets stuck there. The humor is fast, the setting (and the Robinsons themsleves) brilliantly imagined, and the villan is absolutely ace. you can't help but love him and his bowler hat sidekick, Doris. (Yes, you heard me right).
There are some moments of comic genius (just look out for what the frog and T-rex say - it had me in stitches) - but it is a kids film. It blatantly is, and that's what charges it with such energy. It can be enjoyed by anyone.
Not only that, but it's got a few twists in it that you really don't see coming (and a couple you do).
Either way- a throughly enjoyable way to find your inner child :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wild, whacky, utterly brilliant, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There simply isn't enough of this stuff around at the moment. Boys with gadgets, thrilling action, mad inventiveness - and even an ending that shows a more healthy way to resolve conflicts.
And all in glorious blu-ray detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Meet the robinsons, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meet The Robinsons [DVD] (DVD)
Both my 8 year old, and teenagers liked this film. Good story. Especially good for tench kids to see what future could hold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of Disney's best but one of the numbered classics, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meet The Robinsons [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this to add to the classics collection.

Its a spy film with a Disney touch a must if you are collecting the classics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars futristic, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meet The Robinsons [DVD] (DVD)
a great storyline about a boy who likes inventing things and goes /is taken ahead in time ,great for the kids and come on even adults will watch it,recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars my son likes it, 27 April 2014
By 
Sarah Plant "Sarah P" (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meet The Robinsons [DVD] (DVD)
8 year old comment. he doesn't LOVE it, but thought was a good movie. He's a harsh critic, so three is fair, he thinks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Different, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meet The Robinsons [DVD] (DVD)
The rest of my family like this film better than me. Nothing wrong with it and I would recommend it. Just not one of my favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Meet The Robinsons [DVD]
Meet The Robinsons [DVD] by Stephen Anderson (DVD - 2007)
3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews