Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 72 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An inspiring film
What a wonderful film. It's not exactly the most cheery of subjects - coming home to die - but the whole premise was beautifully acted with excellent performances from the small cast.
Sarah (Edmonds) returns from New York to her home in Scotland to die of a brain tumour, and spend what little time she has left with her childhood sweetheart Sam (Butler), who has now...
Published on 15 Mar 2005 by Teresa Boughton

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars where is the kiss?
this is a very nice film, 'nice' in that it is weel directed and gives you a slightly cosy feel. unfortunatley the film, in my opinion seems to build up a lot of emotion, but at the end it kind of deflates. its as if you really know what is going to happen, but then it does, exaclty how you had imagined, leaving no room for surprises or twists. this is why i...
Published on 16 Mar 2006 by cat lee


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

71 of 72 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An inspiring film, 15 Mar 2005
By 
Teresa Boughton "celtic_charmer" (small town, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One More Kiss [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
What a wonderful film. It's not exactly the most cheery of subjects - coming home to die - but the whole premise was beautifully acted with excellent performances from the small cast.
Sarah (Edmonds) returns from New York to her home in Scotland to die of a brain tumour, and spend what little time she has left with her childhood sweetheart Sam (Butler), who has now married. Despite breaking his heart seven years earlier Sam agrees to help her with her "To Do" list, and do all the things she'd always wanted or intended to do e.g. skydiving, flying a kite etc.
This film is really about the psychological effects of living with a death sentence. How it affects the person going to die and how the others around them face up to their lives and their own mortality. It makes them take stock of the people they have become, the missed opportunities, and what is really important in their lives.
It could so easily have turned into a maukish and sickly pastiche, but instead it is a very refreshing and, dare I say, life-altering look at death. There are some very dark, comic moments, which are beautifully played out (most notably the "Funeral Arrangements" section) and leave you emotionally split between laughing and crying.
It's a well thought out, wonderfully presented film which will make you take stock of who you are, what you want and what the heck you're doing with your life.
As the saying goes "Life is not a dress rehearsal". Let's make the most of what time we do have.
I started making my "To Do" list as soon as it finished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful and moving film, 23 April 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: One More Kiss [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This film is a little gem. All of the primary actors do a fine job of bringing understated pathos and wit to a very tough and potentially sentimental storyline. Gerard Butler is superb as Sam, the former sweetheart of Sarah, a dying woman. Torn between his love for Sarah and his wife, he goes through an emotional rollercoaster from joy to anger and everything in between. James Cosmo is wonderful as Sarah's bewildered father, whose own regrets and dull existence are turned round by Sarah's fate.
One of Sarah's messages to her loved ones is from Dylan Thomas:
'Do not go gentle into that good night. Rage, rage against the dying of the light.'
Superb - only fails to get 5 stars because I can't stand soft focus photography...........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Special Edition with interesting extras, 29 Aug 2007
This review is from: One More Kiss [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
I'd like to give some information on the Special Edition DVD of this movie rather than talk about the movie itself since reviews of it can alrady be found at the older version's page. Unfortunately there are still no subtitles but this edition offers a brandnew audio commentary by director Vadim Jean (mainly talking about the technical aspects of the movie making process but nonethelesss interesting), 11 deleted scenes (with our without commentary, 5 of them feature Gerard Butler), and a video from production designer Simon Hicks who unfortunately suffered the same fate as Sarah in the movie and also decided to say goodbye to his family and friends by recording a farewell video. Even if there are not that many extras I do recommend getting this special edition of the movie, especially if you're a Gerry Butler fan, as the deleted scenes are surely worth it, offering among others a funny scene that displays his rarely seen comedic talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One More Kiss, 14 April 2009
By 
This review is from: One More Kiss [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
This film is about a dying young woman who returns from America to Scotland to find her last love and along the way she wrecks a marrage. Sorry folks but i found this to be slow and depressing, it wasn't a tear jerker just an anti-climax!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 13 April 2009
By 
This review is from: One More Kiss [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
I was saddened by One More Kiss. Gerard Butler has always made such thoughtful choices of film roles, managing to move smoothly between genres with the same passion, ability, power and mesmerising presence. However, in One More Kiss, he allowed himself to portray an unfeeling, shallow and forgetable character. Why, when he has so many wonderful opportunities? I have seen the special edition of One More Kiss and inclusion of the cut scenes may well have permitted a deeper insight into Gerard`s character. However, this would have left me even more puzzled as to why he would care about the self indulgent, ruthless and cruel Sarah.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars where is the kiss?, 16 Mar 2006
This review is from: One More Kiss [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
this is a very nice film, 'nice' in that it is weel directed and gives you a slightly cosy feel. unfortunatley the film, in my opinion seems to build up a lot of emotion, but at the end it kind of deflates. its as if you really know what is going to happen, but then it does, exaclty how you had imagined, leaving no room for surprises or twists. this is why i class this film as 'nice', as it doesnt confuse you, its very straight-forward. but perhaps this is its downfall. any gerard butler fan will like this as he plays a very loveable character torn between old and new loves. the setting and directing are wonderful. overall i think this film is a good tearjerker, but a bit too obvious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONE MORE KISS., 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One More Kiss [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
A VERY MOVING STORY, GREAT ACTING, CRIED A FEW TIMES THREW THIS. HAVE RECOMMENDED TO FRIENDS. GREAT AFTERNOON WATCHING THIS WITH A CUPPA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gerard Butler at his finest, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One More Kiss [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
This movie has so many layers and it's truly a roller coaster of emotions. Beautiful interpretation by all the actors, which look extremely natural in their roles. It's a weeper but many of the scenes are very uplifting and the message it leaves you with it is true.
I found the end to be a bit incomplete as you don't really understand what happens to Sam (Gerard Butler), but then in real life sometimes you make choices and you really don't know how it is gonna end too.
A must watch if you like British films!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONE MORE KISS,GERARD BUTLER, 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One More Kiss [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
WOW,WHAT A WEEPY VERY CLOSE TO THE HEART,I HAVE RECOMENDED THIS FILM TO MY 4 DAUGHTERS,LOVE IT LOVE IT, GREAT STORY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Would have rather rented than purchased, 25 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One More Kiss [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
I found this film slow, stilted in places and slightly boring. As the title suggests I would have much preferred to rent this and return it rather than buy it and now have it sitting in my DVD collect seldom to be watched again.
Personally, I only bought it because of Gerald Butler! He is much better in more recent films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One More Kiss [1999] [DVD]
One More Kiss [1999] [DVD] by Gerard Butler (DVD - 2007)
4.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews