Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very thought provoking, 30 Sep 2008
Watched this accidently on sky arts. its extremely thought provoking and very cleverly made, on many parts there can be a simple clip of a young worker at a most boring uneventful place and yet it had so much meaning in it. it bassicaly shows the shocking truth and reality to this apparently "wonderful world" we live in and the impact we have not only on the planet but to ourselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating insight into the Chinese megaindustry, 31 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Burtynsky is primarily a phogographer famous for making monumental photographs of landscapes altered by industry: vast oil fields, polluted landscapes, scrapped Leviathans and cityscapes. The grand, awe-inspiring beauty of his images is often in tension with the compromised environments they depict. He has done a lot of work in China where he has documented that country's industrial emergence, including the construction of one of the world's largest engineering projects, the Three Gorges Dam.

The film works as a compliment to Burtynsky's photographic work, featuring an enormous assembly plant in China, a ship-breaking yard in Bangladesh, a huge stone quarry in Vermont, old neighbourhoods in Shanghai waiting to be torn down in favour of east-berlin style housing. It also features a very disturbing account of e-waste cities in China where most of the world's recycled electronic scrap ends up, to be broken up for precious metals by poor people. The groundwater in these cities is so polluted that the Chinese authorities have to bring in drinking water in tankers.

The film manages to impose a powerful sense of how unsteady our world is as we rush toward an environmentally unsustainable future at lightning speed in the pursuit of progress and economic supremacy. Must be seen by all who care about the world we leave to our children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not in my back yard!, 10 May 2011
Manufactured landscapes has opened up the world as our back yard. We see the actual environmental cost of manufacturing which is otherwise kept hidden. This should be part of Geography lessons in school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Manufactured Landscapes DVD, 31 Dec 2009
By 
Mrs. Julia Winter (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very interesting and thought provoking DVD which gives a lot of background information to the work of Edward Burtynsky. Anyone who cares about what we are doing to planet earth should get this DVD and if they care enough, pass the message on to whoever is prepared to listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Almost surreal, 12 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First time I came across Burtynsky's photos in UK photography magazine ("Portfolio" No.47, May 2008). I have never seen before anything so strikingly beautiful and yet so ugly. Whereas his photographs are intriguing, surreal and -somehow- beautiful, the documentary shows the whole picture, so to speak. The real cost of introducing modern technologies and the truth about highly developed "civilized" societies. The real cost of enjoying the normal life we do have. Not that all the members of the modern societies are fully aware of all that... Then, I praise the works of Burtynsky even more. A real eye opener.
The landscapes we cannot even imagine, the small but so much needed jobs we do not appreciate at all (or - even do not imagine they actually exist), We tend to complain about mundane reality, but for some people, the reality means something much more horrible and brutal and r e a l l y mundane.
Burtynsky describes his works as "tracing the man-made transformations our civilisation has imposed upon nature". I guess what he has experienced, has made him so humble, as his art (including this documentary) show his vision is more complex. See for yourself. Feel for the people you'll see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good documentary, 5 stars for the amazing extras on the DVD, 3 Sep 2011
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Anything that exposes photographer Edward Burtynsky's socially important and
beautiful work to more people is worthwhile.

That said, for me the documentary itself, while very interesting and well made, simply
can not compete with the enormous power of Burtynsky's own images. Indeed the
best moments in the film are when we see the photos themselves.

While some of what we see of the photographer"s process is interesting, and there is
some provocative gentle implied questioning of the distance and lack of humanity in
Burtynsky"s photographs, I did not learn much more about the man and his work then
when I first happened upon his seeing his photos at a gallery, and then immediately
bought several books of his images.

A very solid documentary, but not as amazing one.

On the other hand, the extras, particularly the lengthy photo gallery where Brutynsky
himself talks in detail about many of his great images from the film is far more powerful
and interesting, and it's absolutely worth getting the DVD for that feature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Artistic and thought provoking, 15 Oct 2009
I concur with the other reviewers: this documentary is very well shot and would stand on its own as an object of aesthetic contemplation (like the photographs of Burtinksy themselves). The social commentary and the relationship between Burtinsky own views and his work are also explored in a subtle yet effective fashion. Highly recommended as an example of what a non-formulaic documentary can be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film, 4 July 2009
By 
This is an excellent film with an exquisite aesthetic, very timely and tremendously informative. Something that perspicaciously reflects on the world today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Artistic and thought provoking, 15 Oct 2009
This review is from: Manufactured Landscapes [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I concur with the other reviewers: this documentary is very well shot and would stand on its own as an object of aesthetic contemplation (like the photographs of Burtinksy themselves). The social commentary and the relationship between Burtinsky own views and his work are also explored in a subtle yet effective fashion. Highly recommended as an example of what a non-formulaic documentary can be
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Headline, 25 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Manufactured Landscapes. What more do you want to know. Never ever going rate anything. It is boring.........................
.......
........... One more word
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Manufactured Landscapes [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
9.93
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews