Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Speed-Eating Cataclysm Time!!
Honestly, with all the fuss surrounding this superlative film, you'd expect Sodom-And-Gommorah to shoot through your Cathode Ray Tube and vomit creosote into your wallet. Nope. It's all very survivable, apart from a few graphic instances (which the dear-old Auntie BBFC could have excised within a heartbeat, but they didn't. There MUST be a God!). I suppose vegetarians may...
Published on 21 Aug. 2007 by Brady Orme

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A warts and all biography of mankind.
This film is the perfect antidote for those fed up of feeling inferior after watching the Hollywoodised view of life with perfectly groomed beauties sipping skinny lattes in trendy coffee bars.

This film gets to the root of humanity by showing the ugly side of life. Stripped of all but our most basic animal instincts (mainly sex and eating) the film manages to...
Published on 1 May 2008 by @GeekZilla9000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Speed-Eating Cataclysm Time!!, 21 Aug. 2007
By 
Brady Orme (Edgbaston, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taxidermia [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Honestly, with all the fuss surrounding this superlative film, you'd expect Sodom-And-Gommorah to shoot through your Cathode Ray Tube and vomit creosote into your wallet. Nope. It's all very survivable, apart from a few graphic instances (which the dear-old Auntie BBFC could have excised within a heartbeat, but they didn't. There MUST be a God!). I suppose vegetarians may have a few Heart Palpitations, but there you go.

It also cocks a snoot at those naysayers who have a firm belief in the inferiority of Eastern-European cinema - "Taxidermia" is crammed with more CGI than your average Jenna Bush photoshoot. Guy Ritchie be damned, he's scrawling graffiti on the side of the Venus De Milo and can't spell "OK" yet. Take note, British cinema is LIGHT YEARS behind this. We've lost the war Comrades.

Extras? Erm, there aren't any, so pinch those pennies in anticipation of the 3-disc special edition in 2011, when it'll be released to more fanfare than the Watergate tapes. Hey-ho!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Erase your head, 9 Sept. 2013
By 
Dr. Delvis Memphistopheles "FIST" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taxidermia [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
"Disgusting" film which revels in all the hidden worlds focusing on fetishes and how they take over your life. Starting with pre war bullying we are led through the degredations of a man with a hare lip who fantasises about women and sex to the extent he leaves the real world behind. The camera looks at the composed reality through his eyes and brings it all plummetting down to its animalistic basics; the body secretions oozing in all relentless forms. Bullied relentlessly he succumbs to his overwhelming fetish as recompense even though he is reminded of its dangers. This is where the film asks some questions about what is real and what is imagined - ideas central to the plot.

After a "natural" conclusion the film shifts to focus on the man who bullies him. Briefly he becomes the main character as a child is born. Pre war the world was founded upon scratching the earth for an existence and whilst women may have been the idealistic prize, they remain forever unattainable in beauty, only dreams for lust. This is a motif that runs throughout the film as an unravelling thread; desire and an ability to fulfill it versus the sordid facts of inhabiting the world and exposing the inner core. As the characters obsess we are led through some sordid channels of non erotic fantasies, which may put some people into choking fits, as the porn becomes taken to a Celinean extreme. Comic and cruel the base elements are revealed and then revelled within. So be warned.

Moving through the generations, the Communist idealistic world becomes villified through the use of competition to achieve national status. Obsessed with eating and vomiting the film satirises the bulemic attitudes of the communist hierarchy towards food, set at time when nothing was available to the masses and queuing for basic staples took up a great deal of time. The film highlights for those in the East, the obsession with status and the use of food to achieve it. This contains more brutal moments for those who are of a weak disposition. Whilst the son finds love, this is also based upon the pressure to keep up appearances, the constant bout of eating and vomiting taking its body toll.

Latterly we are taken to the grandsons taxidermy basis; the third story. A man who lives in a world of unrequited love, bullied by his father, he acts as a constant drone to his fathers barbs. Akin to a night in Bates Motel he slits open animals to reveal their innards, another motif from his grandfather as he obsesses over their inner workings. As he tries to adjust to the world around him, he is brought into a perpetual conflict which leads to the end conclusion; the desire to transcend his situation.

Placing the film is a challenge, it lies somewhere along the lines of Eraserhead or those Peter Jackson films before he became famous, in looking at family dynamics through a surreal lens, and for debasement and cynicism it gets Ferdinand Celine up by the throat and retches into the gutter with sheer nihilism. Stark camera angles, detailing an upside down world, it is a sick queasy uneasy film, focusing on trapped life caught within a glass prism. However it draws you in, similar to Bodyshock on Channel 4 this explores why, albeit tentatively, whilst also throwing itself off an existential cliff to detail a formless nihilism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A creative hungarian movie-bomb, 27 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taxidermia [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
An absolutely post-surrealistic hungarian explicit movie product. A story in three parts, with son, father and grandfather. Starts with grandfather, a soldier with morbid feelings and a special relationship with/for pigs. He got a son, the father in the movie, born with a pigtail who growns up to be a speedeater. Has a good technique for throwing up, and of course named that technique. Finally a son is born again, the son in the movie, he is very different as personality and work in an own company. He is freakishly obsessed with taxidermy. A fantastic black comedy, its grotesque and you get an absurdist journey from postwar scenes to speedeating competition. Buy this now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film!!!!!, 29 Dec. 2008
By 
L. Diego - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Taxidermia [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
This is just a magnificent film!!
there are a few disgusting moments.. but that doesnt make the film any bad..
the stories are beautiful and strange full of emotion!
traditional hungarian food competitions.. that must be seen!!
immerse yourself in a different world!
dont miss this film..!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and grotesque, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taxidermia [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
It attempts to be gruesome...and succeeds - but does it so beautifully that it's an amazing thing to behold. Making a gob of spunk turn into the starry night sky was a highlight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A warts and all biography of mankind., 1 May 2008
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Taxidermia [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
This film is the perfect antidote for those fed up of feeling inferior after watching the Hollywoodised view of life with perfectly groomed beauties sipping skinny lattes in trendy coffee bars.

This film gets to the root of humanity by showing the ugly side of life. Stripped of all but our most basic animal instincts (mainly sex and eating) the film manages to be grim, but often darkly humourous. The film intends to shock, and I'm sure that more prudish audiences would struggle to stomach some scenes. Personally I never felt offended, but I can see how some might be.

We see the three separate stories, linked presumably by family history, over three generations and everything is laid bare. There's perfect scope to build a fondness for the characters, but this never really happens. There was only a brief point at which I cared about what would happen to someone in the film (the Hungarian man and wife super-eaters) and although I still felt compelled to follow the film through to see how the three stories progress, my interest was minimal.

The fantastic direction and artistic imagery make this film watchable. In fact, they make it enjoyable despite the grim subject matter. Without such a strong creative approach I'd have had to force myself to watch the film.

So in a nutshell: A film with characters who lack the depth required to invoke a magnetic appeal, but expressed in an imaginative way which has to be seen to be appreciated. Not always the easiest film the watch, but maybe that's because it reminds us too much of what we all really are. It gets 3.5 stars from me, I'd love to have this fall the way of a 4, but I'm going to go with a 3. Some good bonus features on this DVD (ANY in fact!) would have no doubt helped sway me to a a higher score.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DIFFERENT., 4 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taxidermia [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
What i would call a little challenging in parts to be honest, but depends on how good your stomach is,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where's the Pepto-Bismol?, 22 Nov. 2009
This review is from: Taxidermia [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a mordant, darkly comic tale of obsession spanning three generations. Captivating in its grossness, this is definitely not one for the squeamish. It's difficult to divine exactly what this movie is supposed to tell us, if it's attempting to tell us anything at all. The characters are uniformly grotesque, the plot is slight, and any possible meaning is distinctly nebulous. Palfi appeals to the viewer's voyeuristic tendencies and, it has to be said, not much else. But as a study of bodily compulsions it's interesting enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What about the extras?, 12 Aug. 2007
By 
J. Alcazar - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Taxidermia [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a wonderful bizarre film, structured in three-tree-family acts and each one eerier and more terryfing, I love it and think of getting a copy on dvd.. but, what about the extras on this release?
Can anyone detail them , please?
Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sick pigs and a hole in a barn, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taxidermia [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
8 out of 10. This is a good film, this film has a lot of Cold War undertones, I take it that the director really wanted to get across. The film is really good if you like this sort of thing, it's in three parts. I'm not going to give anything away, but the end is very clever. Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Taxidermia [2007] [DVD]
Taxidermia [2007] [DVD] by Gyorgy Palfi (DVD - 2007)
£19.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews