Customer Reviews


There are no customer reviews yet.  Create your own review
‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Hail The Tripods, 7 Jan. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tripods - The Complete Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Series two of The Tripods finally lands... and it was well worth the wait.

The Tripods is a series that I recall fondly from my childhood. Well, mostly it conjures memories of hiding behind the sofa. I had all but forgotten about it until a few years ago when I happened upon the VHS release of the first series. I thoroughly enjoyed it and ever since have been waiting for the release of series two.

The Tripods is based around the premise that Earth has been occupied by giant mechanical alien `sentinels' for the past hundred years. Our cities and technologies have been destroyed, and the surviving populace has been `capped' (a form of mind control) and forced to return to a life akin to that of the middle-ages.

The first series follows Will and his friends in their efforts to escape capping and make their way from England to the French Alps to meet with a group of rebels, known as `The Free Men'. Although the series shows its age in many places, the special effects still do their job well. The acting and pacing can be a little off and some of the character development and subplots feel a little bloated, but overall it's an exhilarating journey through some beautiful locations.

The second series follows the rebels as they attempt to infiltrate the Tripod City, hoping to gather information that could help rid them of their oppressors. This series is marked improvement over the first: the true nature of the Tripods is revealed; the pacing is better; the action and atmosphere is more intense. Also, the acting seems much improved - Will in particular seems more at home in his role.

And, sadly, that is where the story ends. The concluding third series was never filmed, as the BBC developed a bit of a vendetta against expensive sci-fi shows. It's a great series, nonetheless, and will appeal to fans of 80s TV sci-fi (Dr Who/V/Tomorrow People). You can always pick up the original books by John Christopher if you wish to fill in the blanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 30 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tripods - The Complete Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I previously bought series 1 on DVD years ago when it was released and was a bit disappointed as my childhood memories were of the more exciting series 2 in the City of Gold. So as others have said series 1 is far too long and full of padding and then there is not really anything exciting at the end of it.

Series 2 on the other hand is much better. Episodes 5-10 in the City are my favourite part - it's like watching a completely different show - exciting, scary, SFX all well done. The Masters sound exactly like Cybermen from Dr Who, guess they used the same voice changers - but the aliens here are pulled off superbly.

The problem I found is the last 2 episodes are a complete let down as we come back out of the city and the main characters join the circus (well sort of).

Despite this overall definately worth buying this and a great price too when you consider you've got 25 episodes of classic TV - over 10 hours - plus some good extras too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old childhood favourite, 1 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tripods - The Complete Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This brought back lots of memories of sitting with my parents watching tv. Much better than I thought it was going to be. We all really enjoyed the nostalgia. The only down side is they didn't finish the story. The third series was never made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tripods - The Complete Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I watched these episodes on tv in the 1980's and have been waiting for them to come out on dvd. They are worth every penny. Ive wathched them a few times since I bought them. I would highly recommend them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tripods, 6 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tripods - The Complete Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The item arrived on time and it was wonderful to see this amazing series again. It was also much better value than getting both series separately, well worth it! =)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Memorable Classic Show, 13 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tripods - The Complete Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Very happy with my order. I had watched some episodes through YouTube as I remembered when my mum was alive that she saw this tv show when she was younger. So I was curious to know what the tv show was like. So I watched it through YouTube some episodes. And I liked what I saw. As I'm into Adventure Sci Fi things. It would've been great if the last series was made. But unfortunately the filming company couldn't afford it back when it was made. So I will have to read the book to know the conclusion of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia isn't quite what it used to be, 20 Mar. 2011
By 
J. Stockwell (Here, there and everywhere) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tripods - The Complete Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
An ambitious attempt to render a trilogy of books to the small screen that ultimately ran out of steam.

It hasn't aged well, but if you can see past the unconvincing miniatures and compositing you may find yourself enjoying a surprisingly sophisticated story with engaging dialogue that stands apart from the contemporary dumbed-down dramas that pepper our screens.

A judicious use of editing and a larger effects budget could have made this an enduring BBC science fiction classic like Quatermass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tripods, 6 Oct. 2013
By 
Mr. C. J. Nicholls (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tripods - The Complete Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Five stars for quality, but it is tragic that money was wasted on the first series; although scripted by the excellent Alick Rowe, it was incredibly slow and dull, involving nothing except the boys travelling across France, with a brief, useless bit of love interest thrown in for no good reason. After the scene-setting first episode, they could have dived into the action which finally arrived in season two, and perhaps afforded a climactic season three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Nostalgia, 30 April 2009
By 
T. Taylor (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tripods - The Complete Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The Tripods is a series that will always hold a special significance to me. I never saw the original broadcast, but discovered the series 1 videos in my local library when I was 10 and have never looked back!

Wonderful now that after years of series two being available only in the eyestrain-o-vision of recordings of the original run, its finally here in crisp and clear DVD quality.

Excellent also to get special features for a series that looked, for a time, like it may simply sink into obscurity. Of particular note is Ken Freeman's Pool of Fire suite, chronicling musically the unmade third series.

Well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flawed BBC Sci Fi TV series of the past, 4 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Tripods - The Complete Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Like many reviewers I remember watching The Tripods as I ate my dinner on Saturday evenings. Also, like at least one other reviewer, I am a big fan of the books and still reread them every few years - a pleasing mixture of HG Wells, Mark Twain and boys' adventure stories. I was looking forward to watching the TV series again on DVD.

The Tripods was created to fill the ailing Dr Who timeslot. It played to one of the BBC's main strengths - quality costume drama. I'll mention the good bits first - the costumes and location filming are superb, the acting is good enough (especially when you consider the young age of the actors). The special effects were sensational at the time, nowadays the Tripods seem a bit wobbly but it's still more than adequate. This really was supposed to be a lavish production to move the BBC on. Sadly to create better value for money (and to add more female characters to try to widen the viewing audience) the series is heavily padded with an awful lot that wasn't in the original book. Series 1 consists of 12 episodes during which the characters only meet with the Tripods 5 times. Big mistake. It's slow and lumbering. There are two and a half completely pointless episodes set in a vineyard and at least two or three more where nothing really happens. Had series 1 been 6 episodes long and followed the book closely then you'd ended up with a truly cracking sci fi series instead of 6 hours of padded hiking.

The second series concerns the resistance movement and its infiltration of the Tripod city to gain information. Series 2 attempts to rectify the flaws of the first series. The first episode starts with a bang and we see more Tripods in the first episode of series 2 than we did in the previous 13 episodes of series 1 combined. There are a few false starts but we eventually get inside the Tripod city around episode 4. As before the special effects and design are fantastic. Oh dear, here onwards the series begins to take massive deviations from Christopher's book and the overall feeling is extremely messy and confused. Christopher's book was based upon the psychological horror of the city with its strangeness, it's terrible unrelenting heat, heavy gravity and the sadistic evil Masters. In the TV series the Masters are jolly and there's even a wine bar where the slaves relax in the evening called the Pink Parrot (!). The main character Will suddenly becomes unbelievably stupid. If he is supposed to be pretending to worship the Masters (as the capped do) then surely they would have noticed and had him executed on the first day? He picks fights with other slaves, insults the masters and is continually questioning everything and anything. He makes it unquestioningly obvious he is not capped, and it takes ages for anyone to do anything about it. A completely new addition of the TV series is the Cognosc - a ridiculous higher alien species in the city based on pure mind and energy. How very silly. For at least three episodes this series makes little sense whatsoever and we are left with lots of chasing around dark corridors and lots of men in tight leather shorts. It's quite bizarre, and could be questionable... Just when you think it's over then there's two more completely unnecessary episodes based around a circus. We are then left with the exciting final climax chase and the now famous cliff-hanger ending, which is never actually resolved because the BBC cancelled the series two thirds of the way through.

The Tripods could have been amazing had they paid more attention to the writing and pacing - exactly the same problem that faced Colin Baker era Doctor Who at the same period. As it is: it's interesting, parts of the series are worth seeing, but it's so heavily flawed that it's a real struggle to get through it all. The viewing public obviously agreed because the series was never completed. What a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tripods - The Complete Series 1 & 2 [DVD]
Tripods - The Complete Series 1 & 2 [DVD] by Christopher Barry (DVD - 2009)
£11.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews