Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 80s childhood revisited
When I saw this box set on Amazon I jumped at the chance to relive some of my childhood. As a child I loved the BBC series, which I found really scary, right from the opening title sequence to the closing credits.

I was somewhat apprehensive that this might turn out to be one of those things that was best left as a childhood memory, but I was pleasantly...
Published on 17 Jan 2010 by David Powell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars not bad for unfinished show
not bad, pity they did not finish it. typical BBC. good documentary in the set, but still no real reason why they canned it.
Published 10 months ago by DAN SULLIVAN


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Tripods Merit More Than 5 Stars, 26 July 2013
This review is from: Tripods - The Complete Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The Tripods is a BBC TV Series that came out in 1984 (Series 1 of 13 episodes) and 1985 (Series 2 of 12 episodes) based on the John Christopher Trilogy and to me it still holds up very well. There is none of the blood & gore like you see today, no sexual innuendo or worse that is so prevalent today, but just good clean fun entertainment for the entire family. For those who do not know the BBC only filmed the first and second book canceling the series before they could film the third and final book. But fear not as there is a booklet included with the DVD giving a synopsis of the third book by John Christopher and also included is the synopsis of the 13 episode scripted but un-filmed series as they had gone so far as to scout locations for Series 3 before the show was officially cancelled but not before they wrote scripts for every episode of the 13 episode Series 3. You get an overview and the BBC was going to be faithful with the book ending which shows that John Christopher who wrote the trilogy (now 4 books as he wrote one 20 years after the first 3 called "When The Tripods Came") knew human nature and I will not spoil this for you but let you discover the ending for yourself.

Now to watch the series you will need a Region Free DVD player as this is region 2 & 4 and will not play on United State Region 1 DVD players (I live in the United States) or your computer despite what some people say. Today's computers and mine will only allow you to switch regions 5 time and once the counter reaches 0 you are stuck on that region even if you wipe your computer and reinstall the operating system. It must be a security feature today as years ago I was able to watch on my computer then with no problem. And I did switch regions on my computer but no luck it still would not play and now the counter on my computer is set at 4 for changes. You will need to purchase a Region Free DVD Player which I did by purchasing a Toshiba and it play wonderfully and the picture is crystal clear.

Final notes on The Tripods DVD:

1) The DVD Transfer is excellent as the scenes are crystal clear & extremely sharp and the night or darkly lit scenes and now visible and you can see what the actors are doing.

2) You also have the Series 1 Recap narrated by the character of Will Parker to introduce viewers as to what happened in Series 1 to lead them to the beginning of Series 2.

3) 30 minute documentary called "The Cult of The Tripods" giving a great overview of the series.

4) Booklet covering "The Unmade Third Series" answering your questions on the third book.

This is an excellent series and product and once you combine it with a Region Free DVD player you will have 10 hours of viewing enjoyment.

If you really want to get to know The Tripods more check out "The League of Freemen" a Tripod based fan site on Yahoo Groups. The cast, crew, and producer get together and meet in England & Germany almost yearly and there is a wealth of information including GPS coordinates so you can see every filming location as if you were actually there. You can find The Tripod meetings on You Tube.

Also on You Tube you will find a channel called FritzEger which is actually Robin Hayter who played Fritz in Series 2 and he has Tripod and meeting videos there too.

If you are a fan of The Tripods this DVD is a must for you and if you like adventure with a little science fiction thrown in then this is for you and I hope you enjoy the information I have included for you to explore this series more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old childhood favourite, 1 Jun 2013
This review is from: Tripods - The Complete Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This brought back lots of memories of sitting with my parents watching tv. Much better than I thought it was going to be. We all really enjoyed the nostalgia. The only down side is they didn't finish the story. The third series was never made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tripods, 6 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tripods - The Complete Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The item arrived on time and it was wonderful to see this amazing series again. It was also much better value than getting both series separately, well worth it! =)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Hail The Tripods, 7 Jan 2009
By 
Mr Winkie (Buckinghamshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tripods - The Complete Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Series two of The Tripods finally lands... and it was well worth the wait.

The Tripods is a series that I recall fondly from my childhood. Well, mostly it conjures memories of hiding behind the sofa. I had all but forgotten about it until a few years ago when I happened upon the VHS release of the first series. I thoroughly enjoyed it and ever since have been waiting for the release of series two.

The Tripods is based around the premise that Earth has been occupied by giant mechanical alien `sentinels' for the past hundred years. Our cities and technologies have been destroyed, and the surviving populace has been `capped' (a form of mind control) and forced to return to a life akin to that of the middle-ages.

The first series follows Will and his friends in their efforts to escape capping and make their way from England to the French Alps to meet with a group of rebels, known as `The Free Men'. Although the series shows its age in many places, the special effects still do their job well. The acting and pacing can be a little off and some of the character development and subplots feel a little bloated, but overall it's an exhilarating journey through some beautiful locations.

The second series follows the rebels as they attempt to infiltrate the Tripod City, hoping to gather information that could help rid them of their oppressors. This series is marked improvement over the first: the true nature of the Tripods is revealed; the pacing is better; the action and atmosphere is more intense. Also, the acting seems much improved - Will in particular seems more at home in his role.

And, sadly, that is where the story ends. The concluding third series was never filmed, as the BBC developed a bit of a vendetta against expensive sci-fi shows. It's a great series, nonetheless, and will appeal to fans of 80s TV sci-fi (Dr Who/V/Tomorrow People). You can always pick up the original books by John Christopher if you wish to fill in the blanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Nostalgia, 30 April 2009
By 
T. Taylor (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tripods - The Complete Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The Tripods is a series that will always hold a special significance to me. I never saw the original broadcast, but discovered the series 1 videos in my local library when I was 10 and have never looked back!

Wonderful now that after years of series two being available only in the eyestrain-o-vision of recordings of the original run, its finally here in crisp and clear DVD quality.

Excellent also to get special features for a series that looked, for a time, like it may simply sink into obscurity. Of particular note is Ken Freeman's Pool of Fire suite, chronicling musically the unmade third series.

Well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A blast from my childhood, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tripods - The Complete Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Loved the series at the time. Wanted to revisit it. Ahead of its time - just look at what's on now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tripods - The Complete Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this series when it was on tv 30 years ago so can't remember much of it but I've watched the first series so far and the special effects are very good for for the time plus the story is superb. I would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not bad for unfinished show, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tripods - The Complete Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
not bad, pity they did not finish it. typical BBC. good documentary in the set, but still no real reason why they canned it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tripods, 6 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. C. J. Nicholls (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tripods - The Complete Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Five stars for quality, but it is tragic that money was wasted on the first series; although scripted by the excellent Alick Rowe, it was incredibly slow and dull, involving nothing except the boys travelling across France, with a brief, useless bit of love interest thrown in for no good reason. After the scene-setting first episode, they could have dived into the action which finally arrived in season two, and perhaps afforded a climactic season three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Tripods, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tripods - The Complete Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great classic sci-fi series. This copy was purchased on behalf of my Mum to give to my brother for Christmas. I have a copy already and enjoy it greatly. He loved it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tripods - The Complete Series 1 & 2 [DVD]
Tripods - The Complete Series 1 & 2 [DVD] by Christopher Barry (DVD - 2009)
11.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews