Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best documentary series ever.
There were three seasons of this series on the BBC and every episode was absolutely riviting and facinating. The stories were told as they unfolded on the day that shook the world in beautifully realised drama reconstruction. Because the whole film is drama the spell is never broken and you really feel you are there in the moment. A must buy DVD.
Published on 28 July 2007 by Ziggy Sawdust

versus
0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Box crushed and broken
Haven't had a chance to watch these DVDs yet, just hope I can, 'cause the box had been jammed into too small a packet for delivery. The outer cover is just a bit squashed, but one of the inner DVD boxes is smashed with wee bits of hard plastic strewn around the inside next to the discs. (The 3 stars are not a reflection of anything, it's just 'cause I needed to include...
Published 14 months ago by Lynnjj


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best documentary series ever., 28 July 2007
This review is from: Days That Shook The World: Series 1 - 3 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
There were three seasons of this series on the BBC and every episode was absolutely riviting and facinating. The stories were told as they unfolded on the day that shook the world in beautifully realised drama reconstruction. Because the whole film is drama the spell is never broken and you really feel you are there in the moment. A must buy DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 13 July 2008
By 
classic 1965 (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Days That Shook The World: Series 1 - 3 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
The great thing about this series is that there are no "talking heads" - that's right none of the boring sit-down interviews you usually get. Instead each episode is made up entirely of real archive footage and dramatic reconstruction. It makes for compelling viewing.

The episodes are so rich in detail and dramatic tenson that the result is quite mesmerising.

The level of historical accuracy is also amazingly high. Many of my friends are historians and we all agree that level of research undertaken must have been painstaking to get such a vast range of stories from so many historical eras so spot on.

This is documentary film-making of the very highest calibre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Days that shook the world', 26 Mar 2012
This review is from: Days That Shook The World: Series 1 - 3 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I believe Days That Shook The World is one of the best tv programmes made and is unrated as a teacher training item i only wish we had this as a reference when doing our GCSE'S. I enjoy history so this series is definately for me but i would advise this series to anyone of any age its fantastic viewing from the start. I have ordered many items off amazon but never writen a review about a product before so i hope this proves what a great item this is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource for history teaching, 17 Mar 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Days That Shook The World: Series 1 - 3 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
A fantastic series. In particular, the episodes on the assassination of Archduke Franz Ferdinand in 1914, the murder of the Romanovs in 1918 and the suicide of Hitler in 1945 are staples for GCSE history teaching. The series is punchy and really keeps the attention of the students without being superficial. At 25 minutes or so each, they are just the right length for a single lesson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good value, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Days That Shook The World: Series 1 - 3 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
This is excellent value and the research done to produce these informative gems of modern history is is very much appreciated, it added information that was not taught in school or history books I have read on the various subjects. Well done, most enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent historical tool, 2 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Days That Shook The World: Series 1 - 3 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Step by step through history.

Genuine footage interwoven with dramatisations but nevertheless providing a great insight in to moments that define us.

Very good delivery, none of the American hype !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good educational product, 15 Oct 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Days That Shook The World: Series 1 - 3 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I found the entire series very good from an educational point of view and the length of each episode is good regarding the attention span (normally about 29 minutes, with six double length episodes). It must be remembered that these are reconstructions of the various events, and there are 56 of them, with added archive footage to enhance the stories. I was amused to see on the assassination attempt on Charles De Gaulle reconstruction that a witness in a nearby car fastened her seat belt before driving off - the incident occurred on 22 August 1962. Whoops!

Overall though the plusses far outweigh the negatives and I highly recommend the series as being good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic teaching resource, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Days That Shook The World: Series 1 - 3 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
This is fantastic for use in the classroom as well as anyone with an interest in historical documentaries. Realistic and easy to understand documentaries which even interest younger viewers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and Important, 15 Mar 2014
By 
Dr. K. E. Patrick (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Days That Shook The World: Series 1 - 3 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I think this is a fascinating set of videos about important events, mostly in the modern era. Each episode consists, usually, of two topics, such as the Hindenburg disaster and the Challenger disaster. For half the hour-long episode, the first topic is covered, then the second half-hour is the second topic.

A mixture of narration, news footage, recreations, and video bring the important event alive, usually by focusing on one or two human interest stories. For example, the JFK assassination follows not only the president, but the man who organised the event, a family who watched from the "grassy knoll", and the doctor who pronounced Kennedy's death.

Occasionally, an episode is only one topic for an hour.

I think the quality is very good, the subject matter interesting, and the value for what you get in the set is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Documentary Series, 10 Aug 2007
By 
Richard Finglas "ftakieth" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Days That Shook The World: Series 1 - 3 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I own this and have watched it all its very good in detail and great value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa30c40cc)

This product

Only search this product's reviews