Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real triumph for the long-shanked one with the mighty nose, 6 Mar. 2013
By 
Hal Marshall "It wasn't me!" (Brentwood) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Time Warrior [DVD] (DVD)
This is my absolute favourite Third Doctor adventure and indeed it is the one I always reach for whenever I want to see why my ex-wife had such a crush on Jon Pertwee. Not that I am torturing myself in any way, far from it. In fact I can quite see the attraction myself. I'm more interested in Linx actually, given the fact that he was the character from this story that I myself was more often compared to. And not very favourably either. The guy has no neck, no personality and looks like someone who might be out drumming up business for the Potato Council. And I'm sure I've been insulted.

The writing of this four-part story is excellent. Most of the action takes place in the middle ages where our rather handsome Sontaran friend has managed to crash land and from where he is intent on growing his collection of 20th century scientists and equipment. He manages to sweet-talk Irongron (a local troublemaker and obviously an ancestor of Michael Elphick's mate Harry in 'Boon') into allowing him a place in which to repair his ship unhindered in return for weapons and the secrets of his skincare regime. Or something like that. Every scene with Irongron is a delight, even if his sidekick Bloodaxe is rather a wooden one. Irongron is supposed to be one of the bad guys yet, given that he is infinitely more likeable than Linx, not to mention the fact that his main earthbound protagonist is a rather miserable pre-Dot Cotton June Brown, I think he's rather misunderstood. He's got Boba Fett out there intent on killing him for one thing, as well as the very real threat of getting splinters from his mate Bloodaxe.

The Brigadier makes a brief appearance in episode one, and he's as suave as ever. There's a scientist called Rubeish who is brilliantly entertaining in his own right as well as having a surname Jon Pertwee consistently manages to make sound funny. Mr Pertwee himself is on fine form throughout, no doubt down to the immense amount of humour that can be found throughout the story. He isn't playing it for laughs, not by a long stretch. Maybe he was more relaxed in this series, knowing it was to be his last and perhaps allowing himself to actually enjoy the role without feeling too much responsibility. His hairstyle seems to have doubled in size since 'The Green Death' and he wears in this story a pair of incredibly clicky shoes which, for some reason, I find amusing. Tell me I don't at least have a better sense of humour than Linx...?

Last but not least of course, 'The Time Warrior' is a wonderful introductory episode for the very feisty Sarah Jane Smith. Right from the off, it's clear that this lady is taking no nonsense. You half expect her to start singing karaoke to Aretha Franklin's 'Respect' on numerous occasions. Elisabath Sladen was a superb choice to play her and really does contribute a massive amount to the appeal of this story.

Linx himself is 'nasty, brutish and short', according to the Doctor, who is in turn described by Irongron as 'a long-shanked fellow with a mighty nose'. As I said, this is some great writing. This story is hugely entertaining and is a worthy addition to any DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dr Who - The Time Warrior (1973/1974) - When Dr Who said hello to The Legendary Sarah Jane Smith, 10 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Time Warrior [DVD] (DVD)
I would like to give Dr Who - The Time Warrior `5' stars to the welcome introduction to the Legendary Sarah Jane Smith played by Elizabeth Sladen. As in previous story, The Green Death we said goodbye to the wonderful and endearing Jo Grant (Katy Manning), and this was a touching moment for my joint number one Doctor (Jon Pertwee) and the guys from UNIT. Both Jo Grant and Sarah Jane Smith were always my joint number one companions, but in my opinion, I found that Katy Manning's character Jo Grant worked better with the Third Doctor (Jon Pertwee), and Elizabeth Sladen's character Sarah Jane Smith works better with the Fourth Doctor (Tom Baker).

Jon Pertwee's final five stories as the Third Doctor comes into full force in this story shows the change in direction to make way to my other joint number one Dr Who - Tom Baker. Both the supporting cast of Nicholas Courtney, David Daker, Donald Pelamer, June Brown (I hate Eastenders, and have not seen it when it started), John J Carney, Alan Rowe, and especially Aussie actor Kevin Lindsay who deserves all acting glory as the Sontaran Officer Linx. The 'Sontarans' along with 'The Ice Warriors' are the first humanoid alien menaces that the Doctor has regularly faced.

For all 1970s Doctor Who, please buy the Time Warrior as part of you collection as the start of the Sarah Jane Smith era with my two joint number one doctors - Jon Pertwee and Tom Baker. Its a pity that you have to buy 'The Cyberman Boxset' to complete your 1970s collection, because you will be lumbed with the absolutely rubbish 3rd rate Slyvester McCoy Dr Who pantomine 'Silver Nemesis'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time - Warriors of the wasteland, 10 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Time Warrior [DVD] (DVD)
The Third Doctor (Jon Pertwee) story that introduced those potato headed warmongerers The Sontarans and even better the great Sarah-Jane Smith. The makeup is impressive for an early Seventies story, the performances great (Doctor Who stalwart David Daker produces a particularly fine performance as Medieval numbskull Irongron) and the location work makes a nice change from previous studio-bound stories. All in all this is one of the Pertwee era's better efforts.

DVD extras include an audio commentary, an insightful making-of, and an updated version of the originally transmitted story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another fine release, 7 Sept. 2007
By 
Mr. C. J. Iredale "juxtapose" (London Town) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Time Warrior [DVD] (DVD)
This is more like it! After the awful Timelash and Time Flight releases (from John Nathan Turner's woeful period when he was in charge of Doctor Who) this is a welcome release to the collection of BBC's Doctor Who dvds. The story is great fun, but the Special Features are of high standard and the interviews with Terence Dicks and Barry Letts really fleshes the backgound to the story out. The new CGI effects are good (esepcially in comparison to the 1973 special effects which as neither special or effective) and as purchase, it is a peach. The first episode is one of my earliers memories, and it has a special place in my list of fave Doctor Who stories. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The one with Humpty Dumpty..., 10 Sept. 2007
By 
Greg (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Time Warrior [DVD] (DVD)
This season actually stands up quite well. I vividly remember the days leading up to this, the first story of Pertwee's last season. The Radio Times for the week of Part One had Jon on the cover and for that reason I got my Mum to buy it for me (I still have it), and what was really exciting at the time was that just prior to Part One, the Radio Times 10th Anniversary special came out. This featured synopses for the coming season and I thought that was great (though not as great as the complete listing of all the stories in the series' history). I am sure that most people who watched this show who watched this show remember the end of part one where Lynx reveals his face. Unfortunately my first thought was Humpty Dumpty rather than terrifying alien.

The story itself is entertaining enough and introduces the best companion in the show's history. I watched it with the new CGI effects and thought that they really helped the story. The acting is mostly good, but as mentioned in one of the earlier reviews, the sentry's big scene, where the Doctor & Sarah bluff their way into Irongron's castle is hilarious. A study in appalling acting (even worse than some of the stuff in Planet of Spiders). This is the only decent Sontaran story.

The special features are quite good and there is an easter egg.

Certainly worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly entertaining Pertwee story, 12 Aug. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Time Warrior [DVD] (DVD)
As the first story of Jon Pertwee's last season as the Doctor, The Time Warrior feels a lot fresher and slicker than any of the stories from the previous year. This is perhaps due to the cool new title sequence, which in my opinion is the best looking of all the titles to be used on the programme. Also the 4 part length is much more suited to the programme's format than the 6 parters which always felt overlong and padded. We are introduced to a new monster, The Sontarans, who would end up as one of the most memorable Dr Who monsters after the Daleks and Cybermen, a brand new companion, Sarah Jane Smith, who most fans regard as the best companion ever, and the stories' medieval setting is very unusual for this era of the show. The script is excellent, never boring, full of humourous dialogue (the Doctor is at one point referred to as " a long shanked knave with a mighty nose" and Sarah as " a narrow-hipped vixen"!), the characters of Irongron and Bloodaxe are a hilarious double-act, Linx the Sontaran is an excellent villain, and looks fantastic, by far the best looking version of a Sontaran featured on the series, and the historical period is well realised. Jon Pertwee is on good form here too, after looking a bit bored the previous year, and gets to do lots of swashbuckling and fighting. Lis Sladen as Sarah is phenomenal in her debut and this is actually one of her best performances. The story never outstays it's welcome, it looks great, the acting is brilliant all round and the dialogue is wonderful. The Time Warrior will probably have something to appeal to everyone. The quality of this DVD is also fantastic, with one of the sharpest picture qualities I've yet seen on a Dr Who DVD, plus there are some great extras too. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Number Of Firsts, 2 Jun. 2007
By 
Scott Fraser "A Likely Lad" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Time Warrior [DVD] (DVD)
The Time Warrior is the first story of Jon Pertwee's final season as Doctor Who, it is also the best story of that year's worth of episodes.

The story is noteable for featuring a number of 'firsts', such as the appearance of the Doctor's companion Sarah Jane Smith, played by Elisabeth Sladen. Sarah would go on to become the most popular assistant for the Doctor ever, a viewpoint that still stands today. In many ways this is perhaps her most intense performance, here is a woman that is a firm believer in Women's Lib and independence and comes across as the strongest female character the show has ever seen, I've always detected parallels of Sarah in Rose Tyler and it's interesting that when they meet in 'School Reunion' Sarah wins the battle between them and puts Rose in her place.
Elisabeth Sladen's portrayal drives the story in many ways and sets the pattern of what was to come, although she mellowed slightly from the next story onwards. From a fiction point of view the adventure is told through the eyes of Sarah, she as a new character is the focal point with the various plot strands all coming together as a result of her actions.

This is also the first appearance of the Sontarans, the only top five enemy of the Doctor to be created in the 70's, joining the likes of the Daleks, the Cybermen, the Ice Warriors etc. This is also the best portrayal of the creatures in the series, Kevin Lindsay the actor is quite simply wonderful in the part and it's no surprise that he was asked back the following season to play another character in the Sontaran race.

The Time Warrior has the destinction of being the first story to actually give a name to the Doctor's home planet, Gallifrey and while this does not have any bearing on the plot it's a lovely little touch and would have a massive influence on the series from then on.

The use of historical settings in Doctor Who had been phased out during the Patrick Troughton days and here it makes a return after several years, it looks as if some money was actually spent on the show as the location work compliments the story and gives the feel of the 1300's by being shot in real castles and surrounding woodland.

Jon Pertwee was always excellent as the Doctor and here we see a new side to him, he is more quiet, reserved and moody then he ever was before. He knew that this was the beginning of his last season as the Doctor and the death of his friend Roger Delgado and the departure of most of his co-stars must have convinced him to reluctantly move on, but he used this reluctant attitude in his playing of the Doctor to create a new facet to his character, there is a genuine feeling of doom and sadness which is refreshing, change was on the way.

The special features include a commentary track by Elisabeth Sladen, Barry Letts, the producer and Terrance Dicks who served as script editor. There is a documentary entitled 'Beginning the End' that is essential a making off... shot at the original location, there are original BBC Trails and continuities and the usual photo gallery. The whole story as been treated to a substantial amount of CGI, replacing the 1970's special effects with more modern versions, this is an optional alternative of the story, the original being played by the automatic default.

All in all this is a solid well made story that will never top any 'Best of...' polls but is simply good entertainment and drama and has put this DVD range back on track after the rather lame previous release of Doctor Who DVD's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A real gem, 24 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Time Warrior [DVD] (DVD)
"The Time Warrior" is a significant Dr Who story for a number of reasons. Firstly it is the story that introduces the Sontarans, secondly it's the debut story of Sarah-Jane Smith, and thirdly it's the first story to name the Doctor's home planet as Gallifrey.
It's also a very good story, and written by arguably the greatest Dr Who writer of them all Robert Holmes. The serial is also pretty free of the padding which was often the bane of the classic series and is blessed by a nicely over the top performance from David Daker as Irongron, as well as an early screen appearance from June Brown, (Later Dot Cotton in Eastenders.)

What's more, "The Time Warrior" also boasts the most impressively realised Sontaran of the classic run, in the form of Linx, played chillingly by Kevin Lindsay.
Also, it's worth checking out the (for-its-time) quite sophisticated new title sequence which was only used for Pertwee's last series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Meet the Sontarans, 13 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Time Warrior [DVD] (DVD)
I gave this adventure 4 stars, I like it as this was the story that introduced both the Sontarans and the amazing Elisabeth Sladen (Sarah Jane Smith) one of the most popular and well liked of the Doctors many companions. In my opinion there isn't really much to dislike with 4 episodes there isn't much time to allow the story to wander off.

I'd recommend this to any Who fan, young or old, those of us who were introduced to Doctor Who when Jon Pertwee was the Doctor can look back with fond memories of Saturday tea times, wobbly sets and dodgy CSO, youngsters might find it a little slow compared to todays digital effects and sweeping music scores but lets not forget this programmes modest beginnings back in 1963, todays modern Who wouldn't be here without Messrs Hartnell, Troughton, Pertwee et al.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Time of change, 30 Jun. 2007
By 
D. Evans "dantheman95" (Southport) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Time Warrior [DVD] (DVD)
The only Jon Pertwee series up to now not represented on DVD, Time Warrior was the debut story of season 11. In 1974 it was announced that Jon Pertwee would be leaving his role as The Doctor. During Pertwee's time in the programme, viewing figures had increased considerably since the latter part of Patrick Troughton's era when the show had faced cancellation. The format of the programme had also been radically changed, as well as the Pertwee era being the first to be shown in colour, the show had also become largely Earth bound with the now exiled Doctor becoming an advisor to the special army branch UNIT. After 4 years of The Doctor largely restricted to thwarting alien invasions on modern day Earth, the decision was made to return The Doctor to space. With his exile over, The Doctor would now be free to roam again in time and space, and the concept of UNIT would be gradually phased out. Although UNIT features briefly in this story, The Time Warrior is largely set in Medieval England, and is a welcome excursion into the past for the Third Doctor.
Scientists have been going missing and The Doctor is asked to investigate. He finds that the culprit is an alien called Linx, trapped in medieval England following an attack on his spaceship during a space battle. He now needs the scientists knowledge to escape, and he has used time technology to kidnap them. In the process Linx also supplies the local thugs with futuristic weaponry, not caring how this would change the course of mankind's history. The srory is written by the series best writer, Robert Holmes. In some ways it similar to the plot of The Time Meddler from the Hartnell era. Although the Time Meddler was a mischevioyus character, rather than evil like Linx.
The story features some significant changes to the programme. A brand new title sequence was introduced for Pertwee's final season, although it would be changed again when Tom Baker took over as The Doctor. Following the departure of long term assistant Jo Grant, this episode also introduces Sarah Jane Smirh, who was to become the most popular of the original series companions. Finally the popular monster race, the sontarans, are introduced, although we only see one of their kind, Linx. With such a terrific design, along with a good performance by the late actor Kevin Lindsey, it is easy to see why these aliens became a big success.
As well as Lindsey, other actors in this serial include familiar British actor David Daker as Irongron and Jeremy Bulloch, later to become famous as cult character Boba Fett in the Star Wars films, as the archer Hal. Eastenders viewers will also recognise June Brown in this story.
Jon Pertwee's final season is generally regarded as his weakest, and The Time Warrior is easily the best of the stories in this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who - The Time Warrior [DVD]
Doctor Who - The Time Warrior [DVD] by Jon Pertwee (DVD - 2007)
£8.16
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews