Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit of silly
Well, the dvd arrived quickly well packaged so off we went. This is a daft comedy with two good leads in Nick Frost and Miranda Hart. We thoroughly enjoyed watching it and although it didn't really fulfill the promise of Nick and Miranda it was daftly funny, far better than much of the rubbish currently being called comedy.
Published on 23 April 2012 by Mrs. G. Bedford

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hyperdrivel
From the other reviews it seems as though you either love this series or hate it. I really, really wanted to like it but just couldn't. It has a strangely flat feel to it, as though no-one involved in the production really believed in what they were doing. The scripts are flat and the humour clumsy. There are some good ideas but no follow-through. A successor to Red Dwarf...
Published on 4 April 2012 by R. M. CURTIS


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit of silly, 23 April 2012
By 
Mrs. G. Bedford "mummybee" (Hastings, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hyperdrive - Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Well, the dvd arrived quickly well packaged so off we went. This is a daft comedy with two good leads in Nick Frost and Miranda Hart. We thoroughly enjoyed watching it and although it didn't really fulfill the promise of Nick and Miranda it was daftly funny, far better than much of the rubbish currently being called comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius overlooked!!, 27 May 2009
This review is from: Hyperdrive - Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I missed this series when it aired, and have only just discovered it. Why are there only two series??? It is very funny and has something for everyone who likes good British comedy. There isnt a single weak episode or character, and I have to admit a crush on Jeffers..
The episode with 'False York' is one to watch over and over again, as Kevin Eldon's Mister York creates a clone with hilarious random comments such as 'Im going pot holing now..'

Watch and be very entertained. And lets try and get at least another series out of the BBC!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic!, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hyperdrive - Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I ordered this a while ago and forgot to write a review until now, but in that time I have watched it several times over.

because the internet in my house does not work in my room I get through A LOT of DVDs, I need something I can watch a few times without it getting to boring (I'm not talking about back to back here). I have found this series more than satisfactory! I remember watching this the fist time round on the telly and wishing it had carried on for longer. it really is one of those underrated BBC things that just didn't get put out on the right channel or at the right time!

the only thing I would say other than singing it's praises is to tell people to take into account WHEN it was made, this was pre miranda and miranda heart was not as famous, the cast may take slightly different roles from what you are expecting, but stick with it, it's worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delicious, 16 Feb 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hyperdrive - Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Hyperdrive is a deliciously innovative, affectionate comic take on space operas, not unlike the film Galaxy Quest. Set on board HMS Camden Lock, a British spaceship, in 2151 the comic genius crew tackle duty and disaster with equal success, albeit only in their own eyes. But everyone seems to know their place and where they'd rather be. So the Commander (Nick Frost) gets the swivelly chair, but only so no one else gets it. First Officer York (Kevin Eldon) gets to stride about with dangerous weapons, but would prefer to obliterate people with it, and brilliant Diplomatic Officer Teal (Miranda Hart) gets to accompany the almost bright Commander on missions - but yearns to be so much more to him. As a result Miranda Hart puts in some of the funniest moments in the whole thing - despite the comic strength of the cast as a whole. Hyperdrive owes as much to The Thin Blue Line and The Office as to Star Trek. One minute you're laughing, the next you're recoiling in horror at the strange habits of alien diplomats. And you can't say that about many things!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No it's not Red Dwarf, 16 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hyperdrive - Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Why try to compare Hyperdrive to Red Dwarf? I don't think it was trying to be the same show at all. I love both. Hyperdrive has a quieter sort of humour but it really grows on you. It has a weird kind of optimism and sweetness mixed in with the silliness. I enjoy the characters, in particular, very much. I seem to enjoy it even more each time I watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good fun and doesn't take itself too seriously, 22 Aug 2007
This review is from: Hyperdrive - Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Hyperdrive is silly, funny and clever. The DVD is an excellent package full of commentaries on every episode, with some very insightful background information. The making of documentaries are well put together too. The video diary stuff is a bit light but it always remains entertaining.
The actual episodes vary between action, character stuff and a bit of good old slapstick. By the end of series two you will know the characters well and be rooting for a third series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hyperdrivel, 4 April 2012
This review is from: Hyperdrive - Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
From the other reviews it seems as though you either love this series or hate it. I really, really wanted to like it but just couldn't. It has a strangely flat feel to it, as though no-one involved in the production really believed in what they were doing. The scripts are flat and the humour clumsy. There are some good ideas but no follow-through. A successor to Red Dwarf it ain't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Comedy, Shame there was never any more then 2 series, 30 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hyperdrive - Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
This was a truly inspired comedy that had the whole family laughing. The idea of the British in space comes accross brilliantly and the cast are second to none. My kids particilary liked the aliens that got a kick out of licking the crew's faces whilst saying "This is not sexual". Very funny and good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is not Red Dwarf, 15 Aug 2011
This review is from: Hyperdrive - Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I had this show explained to me as "like a cross between Red Dwarf and The Office" and it is nothing like either.

I think people expecting it to be "like Red Dwarf" kind of shows the lack of imagination in expectation.

It is a very interesting take on sci-fi, more akin to older classics like Kinvig in the way it gently (and sometimes not so gently) ribs the genre for great comic effect. Like Dark Star (and of course Red Dwarf) this is sci-fi in a future where space travel has become as boring as shipping freight has to us today and meeting whole new races and whole new worlds is just more politics. The Captain Helix sub plot is masterful.

A lot of the humour is the kind of "OMG don't, oh no, please stop!" cringe humour you'd recognise from Miranda or similar shows although it is played more low key in some ways.

It has me hiding behind my hands and shrieking with laugher in equal measures.

Proof Britain can still turn out great comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great British Humour mixed with Science-Fiction, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hyperdrive - Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Hello;

Very funny program.
Would recommend to anyone who needs a brief respite from the activities of daily life.
A good return on investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hyperdrive - Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD]
Hyperdrive - Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] by Nick Frost (DVD - 2007)
5.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews