Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JUST HOW DO YOU IMPROVE ON PERFECTION?
I'll say it quickly: HUMAN NATURE/THE FAMILY OF BLOOD and BLINK are three of the best DOCTOR WHO episodes you are likely to see. Bottom line. I'd even go so far as to say that if Actively Disliking Science-Fiction was the mainstay of my life, I'd still buy this - just to have something really brilliant to rail against. And why not? Makes sense to me, it's that good. No,...
Published on 2 July 2007 by Kelvin Dickinson

versus
2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Human Nature and Blink
Human Nature/The Family of Blood: This serial seems to be very popular amongst fans of the new series and I can personally see some excellent aspects. The doctor becomes human, falls in love and sees all of the things he'll never have, thus becoming a much sadder character. Martha also copes with the pressures of fighting aliens by herself very well and she develops as...
Published on 26 July 2007 by Prophet of Disaster


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's The Doctor or is it just a Human called John Smith ?, 31 May 2007
This review is from: Doctor Who - Series 3 Vol. 3 [DVD] (DVD)
It's 1913 and John Smith is having dreams about being a man called The Doctor who travels through time and space in a strange blue box, with a woman called Martha Jones.

Human Nature/The Family Of Blood based on Paul Cornell's book of the same name has The Doctor and Martha Hideing form aliens on Earth November 1913. In order to avoid the aliens The Doctor is forced to become a human called John Smith who is a teacher at a boys school and hide his true I.D in a watch. When the aliens find John near to the end of his time on earth he has to come to terms that he is the Doctor

I think Human Nature is a great two parter and something a bit different from the normal Doctor-Who adventure.

I haven't seen Blink yet at the time of writing this but hope that will be good as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Human Nature and Blink, 26 July 2007
This review is from: Doctor Who - Series 3 Vol. 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Human Nature/The Family of Blood: This serial seems to be very popular amongst fans of the new series and I can personally see some excellent aspects. The doctor becomes human, falls in love and sees all of the things he'll never have, thus becoming a much sadder character. Martha also copes with the pressures of fighting aliens by herself very well and she develops as a character through this. However the acting from the family especially "son of mine" is so over the top, and in my opinion attempts to add some dark humour are cringeworthy. To add to this the ending of the serieal is unforgivably stupid. The doctor imprisons them all for eternity, which is not only dramatically out of character, but also presents him as some sort of God. I also thought it tended to drag it's heels a bit in parts. Overall I think it was a decent story but certainly nowhere near the best of the new series as some have suggested.

Blink: On the other hand is excellent. The concept of a doctor who story without the doctor (for large parts) is risky but is pulled off well here (certainly better than in series 2's love & monsters). The story is clever and genuinely frightening. The one small complaint is the final scene where Martha and the Doctor are seen running with bows and arrows another example of how stupid little incidents like this (e.g. Dalek Sec's pest control comment, The 9th Doctors dog's with no noses speech) mean that it is hard to sit through an entire episode without holding your head in your hands. And this one almost made it.

I would recommend this DVD but only for serious fans of the new series and don't splash out too much on it. But as I said before most people seem to love the Human Nature 2 parter so maybe you will too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best episodes yet!!!, 24 Jun. 2007
By 
J. Solomon (Durham, newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Series 3 Vol. 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Doctor Who - series 3 has not been very good so far but when Human Nature came out i was really shocked that Martha could be a good assistant but she is still not as Billie Piper/Rose Tyler.Human Nature/The Family of Blood: Paul Cornell did a very good job on writing Human Nature/The Family of Blood and i very much enjoyed it and i think lot's of Doctor Who fans did. Blink: Once again Mr Stephen Moffat has done it again the King of Doctor Who terror is back. He brought to you the empty child and the clockwork robots and now he has brought to us the Weeping Angels the second most scary enemies the doctor has ever met next to the Daleks. So, i just hope Utopia, The sound of drums and the last of the time lords are as good. Hint: watch out for The Master an old time lord friend/enemie of the doctor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Above average trio of episodes, 1 July 2007
This review is from: Doctor Who - Series 3 Vol. 3 [DVD] (DVD)
This collection of series 3 episodes is particularly worth buying for 'Blink', one of the best of the new series. The Weeping Angels are an intriguing alien concept and the whole episode is well realised and genuinely scary in places. As far as the two-parter is concerned, it is rather overated by many fans. 'Human Nature', the first part, is good; the scarecrows look fanrastic and the idea of the Doctor hiding out as a human is intriguing. However it rather falls apart in the below-par second part; the family of blood are unconvincing aliens too similar in concept to the Slitheen and the episode is morally confused with the Doctor at the end behaving in a vengeful and vindictive manner. Also there is the lost opportunity to condemn the pointlesness of the First World War. However, overall, this is a worthwhile collection of episodes to buy, despite the dreary Martha Jones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who Series 3 Vol 3, 6 Aug. 2007
This review is from: Doctor Who - Series 3 Vol. 3 [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of my favourite DVDs ever! OK, lets not be shy; "Human Nature+The Family Of Blood"-brilliant, superb, excellent, fantastic, great. Think how great something could be and then add another bucket-load full of great. But I'm not so keen on "Blink", I love the idea, I love the Weeping Angels. But...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not much of the Doctor for Doctor Who!, 16 Aug. 2007
By 
Mrs. L. Studd - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Series 3 Vol. 3 [DVD] (DVD)
These 3 episodes r ok but the only problem is that the Doctor is not in them enough!
Though the storylines r good especially in The Family of Blood.
When i watched the first few scenes of Human Nature i knew that The Doctor was not going to be in that episodes much.
Oh Well, but don't get me wrong, this is a good choice if your a Doctor Who fan, just like me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Best of a series marred by the worst assistant yet., 6 Aug. 2007
By 
Rob the brilliant (derby, derbyshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doctor Who - Series 3 Vol. 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Freema Agyeman really is enormously out of this franchise's league. She is a dull actor who can only do the very basic emotions and one the highest points of the series was hearing she was leaving at the end (well, semi-leaving).
David Tennant is as great as ever, and the contrast between him and Aygeman only makes her seem even worse.
"Blink" was one of the best episodes of the modern series. I had one problem though: if the Angels only send you back in time, why do they need fangs?

Anyway, a reasonable 3 episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who - Series 3 Vol. 3 [DVD]
Doctor Who - Series 3 Vol. 3 [DVD] by David Tennant (DVD - 2007)
£3.87
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews