Customer Reviews


121 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super performance by Ray Milland
This film's delicious 1950s banter is one of the main attractions for me. Ray Milland's interpretation of the role is, however the biggest attraction and is mesmerizing as a charming yet duplicitous husband of Grace Kelly. The plot and moreso the dialogue is perfect and far better than the hollywood action of today - especially the almost monologue of Tony...
Published on 1 Jan 2006 by insidiouscitizen

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The One With The Scissors
This is not the best of Hitchcock and yet it is perhaps better than the critics allow. The plot is not overcomplicated and in fact makes more sense than many of Hitchcock's, the performances are fine from Ray Milland's charming villain to Grace Kelly's totally convincing victim, and the 'scissors scene' is still quite horrifying.
Not great cinema, but still reliable...
Published on 2 Dec 2002 by J. Skade


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super performance by Ray Milland, 1 Jan 2006
This film's delicious 1950s banter is one of the main attractions for me. Ray Milland's interpretation of the role is, however the biggest attraction and is mesmerizing as a charming yet duplicitous husband of Grace Kelly. The plot and moreso the dialogue is perfect and far better than the hollywood action of today - especially the almost monologue of Tony Wendice (Milland) explaining how he's going to blackmail Swan into killing his wife. Despite the plan going slightly awry the sharp thinking and intelligence of Wendice comes to the rescue for the first few tests.
My favorite quote would have to be when Milland implies his relief when he doesn't have to go round for dinner at a friends, saying "she's such a filthy cook!".
And even when Wedice has Swan round to explain the plan he receives a call form his wife without getting nervy and even makes a joke - when he can't read her handwriting. I won't spoil than one. He says it in a through away manner and just underpins his charismatic character. And a very graceful ending indeed- reminds me of the ending of almost any Columbo episode except this film being inodinately patrician in comparison!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mind you, even I didn't guess that at once..., 18 Aug 2008
By 
IWFIcon - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Dial M for Murder [1954] [DVD] (DVD)
One of two plays that Hitchock ever adapted for the big screen (Rope was the other), Dial M For Murder isn't one of Hitchcock's true great flims, but it is a very entertaining piece of work.

It relvolves around an elaborate, and perhaps it's TOO elaborate, plot by ex-tennis player Tony Wendice (Ray Milland) to have his wife Margot (played by the exquisite Grace Kelly) killed after she's had an affair with Mark Halliday (Robert Cummings).

Given time constraints, relatively little re-writing was done for the screen which meant that the London setting was left intact as were the British nationality of the characters. This does mean however that the film is very heavy on dialogue, and it does sometimes betray the undoubted cleverness of the plot as being all a little shallow.

Where Hitchcock can excel though is in manipulating the audience's sympathies. Despite her extra-marital affair, we naturally hold our affections with Margot, after all who would want to kill Grace Kelly, but when the action switches in the second half of the film, who hasn't watched and hoped that Tony Wendice, a man who after all is allowing his wife to be executed for a crime she didn't commit, does indeed manage to outwit and outsmart his pursuers? (a trick Hitchcock had used before and would use again).This is helped no end by Millard's performance, at once charming but frightening, funny but reptillian and he's probably the best thing in the movie.

The script is not a great one, it has to be said, but in Hitchcock's expert hands it translates into a great film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Master of 3D, 4 July 2013
By 
John Hourigan (Safety Beach, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the first time that I have seen this movie in 3D and I have discovered that Hitchcock even mastered this format by enhancing the depth by putting simple things like flowers or bottles in the foreground. The 3D format failed in the 1950's because most movies that were made were B grade and were usually horror movies.
It is likely to fail in 2010's because most are animations or have fast action scenes which people don't necessarily want to see in 3D. Hitchcock showed how to really use the format, so I'm grateful to see it.
I remember seeing a B grade western in 3D by the name of Fort Ti. I would love to see it now. The Indians were firing arrows straight at the audience and you instinctively ducked. Great way to get an audience reaction.
I'd like to see another western Honda which was filmed in 3D.

John Hourigan, Safety Beach, Vic, Australia
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection for me!, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dial M For Murder in 3D blu ray format, is for me, close to perfection.
I have viewed this film many, many times over the years. Firstly in 1954, aged fifteen, when I became aware
of the Hitchcock name as a director of quality films and Dimitri Tiomkin as a master composer of soundtrack
music and all this has stayed with me to this day.
Seeing the film in 3D mode has opened my eyes to the filmmaking skills of all concerned.
And 3D really enhances the film. Not with constant displays of "in your lap" shots but with a
depth and realism that made me feel that I was there in real terms watching the action and within
a few feet of Grace Kelly, Ray milland and the rest of the excellent cast.
For me this is a prime example of Hollywood at its all round best.
When I read some of the niggling reviews I was worried that this 3D blu ray might be a disappointment but
not only did I enjoy it immensely but to my surprise, my 14 year old grandson also enjoyed it a lot.
That is praise indeed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific movie, marvelous restoration, outstanding use of the 3D, 14 Sep 2013
By 
Francisco José Poyato Ariza "Fran" (Madrid, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you have any problem with the 3D in "Dial M for Murder", you should really revise your system. It looks terrific, the restoration is sharp and pristine; no double images at all, at least in my Sony 55' with active glasses. Yes, rear projection is flat and some inserts are grainy, but that is precisely the way it was originally shot. The restoration is completely faithful to the original. Hitchcock made what is probably the most intelligent use of the 3D ever, making the movie look like a play on a stage (the story was originally a play). Grace Kelly's hand reaching out is the most carefully crafted and impressive 3D shot I have ever seen. The use of the 3D is so good that one eventually fogets about it and gets just immersed in the story. What else can be said? Oh, yes, of course, more 3D classics, please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Bad Guy EVER!!!, 14 Jun 2011
By 
bizmandan (staffordshire, england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dial M for Murder [1954] [DVD] (DVD)
Length:: 4:42 Mins

this is my review for "Dial M For Murder"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Do you really believe in the perfect murder?, 15 Mar 2007
Do you really believe in the perfect murder? Tony Wendice (Ray Milland), a former tennis player, does. That is the reason why he decides that asking someone to kill his beautiful and very rich wife is a good idea.

But why kill someone just for the sake of doing so? Truth to be told, Tony is afraid that Margot (Grace Kelly) will ask him for divorce in order to marry Mark (Robert Cummings), an American writer she had a brief affair with after marrying Tony. Margot decided to stay with her husband, and is not aware of the fact that he knows about her past relationship with Mark, who happens to visit them when Tony decides he has to kill his wife. But how will he do it? And will he succeed?

If you really want to know the answers to those questions, and enjoy a well-paced thriller, watch "Dial M for Murder (1954). Enjoy it...

Belen Alcat

PS: "Dial M for Murder" was the inspiration for "A perfect murder" (1998), a film starring Michael Douglas and Gwyneth Paltrow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Riveting and full of suspense!, 15 Aug 2008
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Dial M For Murder [VHS] (VHS Tape)
One of the most absorbing and suspenseful of Hitchcock movies ever! No matter how many times this is viewed, it's still as fresh and as riveting as the first time around!

Ray Milland plays a husband who's been cheated upon by his rich wife. To get his revenge upon she and her lover, and to acquire his 'premature' inheritance, he plans her murder - but things go terribly wrong when everything backfires, and all over the most minute of details...

Grace Kelly stars as the unfortunate 'target', and Anthony Dawson plays the unusually 'nice' and handsome murderer to be (he can strangle me anytime!!) The reactions of some of the characters in this film are startlingly 'natural'. A classic example is how after being 'coerced' into the act, the would-be murderer is unable to look his victim in the eye whilst attempting to carry it out - a clever little detail!

Also stars John Williams and a 'bit part' for Patrick Allen.

Fantastic feature!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dial M for Murder 3D - Buy it!, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great film, always was but now to see how Hitchcock wanted it to look is just great. No computer generated rubbish just pure film craftmanship, modern day film makers take note. if you have 3D tv etc buy this, sit back and enjoy and remember when it was made. Saw this play at the theatre earlier in the year, watching this is like being back there with front seats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classy entertainment, 31 Aug 2007
By 
Jl Adcock "John Adcock" (Ashtead UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dial M for Murder [1954] [DVD] (DVD)
Quite why anyone would want to murder someone as beautiful as Grace Kelly remains a mystery. But that's what smooth Ray Miland plans here as payback for his wife's daliance with an American mystery writer. Effortlessly blackmailing an old colleague into doing the job, Miland provides himself with an alibi for the dirty deed - but things go horribly wrong and the would-be killer ends up dead himself - impailed on a pair of darning scissors when he botches the murder.

From here on in, the outcome of the film hinges on the cleverness of the police to beat Miland from getting away with it. It's all slickly done and marvellously out of date now of course - but Dial M for Murder is yet one more example of Hitchcock's art and skill as a director.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dial M for Murder [1954] [DVD]
Dial M for Murder [1954] [DVD] by Alfred Hitchcock (DVD - 2004)
£4.03
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews