Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun, Warts And All
Elvis movies. They're that strange breed of film that however poor the finished product, they still have the potential to be enjoyable. Most of the films that Elvis made are poorly acted and scripted, and if judged by most benchmarks that film buffs use to evaluate movies, can easily be ripped apart and dismissed as cheaply made garbage. This is exacerbated by the fact...
Published on 7 Sep 2007 by Andy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than average
Considering this is an Elvis musical movie from the mid 60's it is actually quite good and deserves more recognition than it seems to get.
Elvis and his band head off to Fort Lauderdale to "chaperone" the daughter of a Chicago big-shot while she is on vacation there.
The problem is that the daughter, played by the attractive Shelley Fabares, does not know that...
Published on 15 Nov 2009 by Al-13


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun, Warts And All, 7 Sep 2007
By 
Andy (Retford, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Girl Happy [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Elvis movies. They're that strange breed of film that however poor the finished product, they still have the potential to be enjoyable. Most of the films that Elvis made are poorly acted and scripted, and if judged by most benchmarks that film buffs use to evaluate movies, can easily be ripped apart and dismissed as cheaply made garbage. This is exacerbated by the fact that in the sixties, Elvis was working flat out churning out these musicals for the big screen faster than a chicken lays eggs.

Despite this though, there is a small group of films that Elvis made that are hugely enjoyable, more than the sum of their parts if you like, and this is one of them. I rate this as a 5 star effort, my favourite of the King's movies, and one slight step ahead of Blue Hawaii.

Elvis and his bandmates take on the job of watching over a Chicago gangsters daughter while she hits party town Fort Lauderdale during college summer recess.

The plot reeks of sun, sea, sand and romance, funky sixties music and funny moments. And of course (as in all Elvis movies) it features the inevitable punch up, with laughable fight choreography, but fun anyway.

There are a few great touches of old style humour. Gary Crosby has an classic line in the film ...... 'This year I'm not going to play the field, no sir. This year I'm gonna pick me about a half dozen chicks and go steady with 'em'.

Despite the dodgy script, poor acting and direction, I can still watch this timeless movie over and over again warts and all, because it is such a sunny, feel good song-fest, and to decry Girl Happy for it's faults would be to miss the point by a margin bigger than Elvis Presley's bank balance.

As I said, this is my favourite Elvis movie, and considering he won't be making any more, I suppose it will stay that way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elvis keeps the girls happy, 19 Nov 2000
By 
cherokee@supanet.com (North Shields Britain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Girl Happy [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is a classic Elvis movie. Rusty Wells (Elvis) baby sits a gangster's daughter Valerie (Shelley Fabres). Lots of problems for Elvis and Shelley to sort out. The holiday atmospherics and the Presley/Fabres combination are mint! Elvis at his best and in good voice make for some great songs such as "Fort Laurderdale" "Spring Fever" and "Wolf Call." This a memorable swinging sixties romp. A must for all elvis fans. One of his best! A one to add to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis Presley Girl Happy, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Girl Happy [1965] (DVD)
Any one who likes Elvis will enjoy this dvd of him some good scenes and songs in it good film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis Film,, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Girl Happy [1965] (DVD)
I am very happy with this item I collect Elvis films , this adds to my collection thanks once again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars SPRING FUN FEVER STARTING TONIGHT, 8 Sep 2012
This review is from: Girl Happy [1965] (DVD)
A QUITE OBSCURE 1965 FILM FROM ELVIS THAT SPAWNED A TOP 30 SINGLE IN "DO THE CLAM".WITH A SONG TITLE LIKE THAT YOU COULD BE FORGIVEN FOR NOT BOTHERING TO BOTHER WATCHING THIS FILM,BUT WAIT.THIS FILM IS A VERY FUN FILM WITH ELVIS LOOKING GOOD AND SOME VERY FUNNY SCENES AS ELVIS AND HIS BUDDYS TRY TO PROTECT A GANGSTERS DAUGHTER FROM THE "GIRL HAPPY" BOYS AT FORT LAUDERDALE.THERE'S SOME SLICK COMEDY AND A FEW GOOD SONGS AND THE ONLY TIME IN A MOVIE WHEN ELVIS HAS TO MASQUERADE AS A WOMAN. THAT IS WORTH THE PRICE OF ADMISSION IN ITSELF.SHELLEY FABARES MAKES A VERY APPEALING C0-STAR IN HER FIRST OF 3 FILMS WITH ELVIS.TRY IT I THINK YOU'LL LIKE IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Girl Happy, 2 Feb 2012
By 
This review is from: Girl Happy [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Elvis Presley in yet another of his musicals. Delivered fast by Amazon, Packaged against transit damage. Because this DVD is hard to get hold of I did mind paying extra. After all I paid considerably more for the VHS version
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars That Joan O'Brien is well fit!, 2 Sep 2011
By 
James Messer (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A good little film. Harmless, colourful, the occasional laugh and a well fit leading lady. Not his best film but by no means his worst. Safe for family viewing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Girl Happy, 6 Aug 2011
By 
This review is from: Girl Happy [1965] (DVD)
Girl Happy [1965] Super fast delivery to an Elvis fan since 1956. I had been continually pushed to one side by one of your competitors (or so it felt). Then because I was purchasing a Birthday present for a friend and needed prompt delivery on a certain day, I found Amazon, the rest is history. I needed to collect quite a few Elvis films and performances, have found them and purchased them with Amazon. I am now one very happy Elvis fan. The excellent reproducyion of these films and performances means I will never get bored by repeats on television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Girl happy, 6 Feb 2010
By 
Caroline Adkins "Caz" (birmingham England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Girl Happy [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
thanks for the order. i was very happy with your excellent service and definately will be purchasing more goods from you,

yours sincerely,

caroline
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Better than average, 15 Nov 2009
By 
Al-13 (Newcastle,UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Girl Happy [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Considering this is an Elvis musical movie from the mid 60's it is actually quite good and deserves more recognition than it seems to get.
Elvis and his band head off to Fort Lauderdale to "chaperone" the daughter of a Chicago big-shot while she is on vacation there.
The problem is that the daughter, played by the attractive Shelley Fabares, does not know that Elvis is looking after her and he has his work cut out to keep the local romeos at bay. One thing leads to another but eventually the couple fall for each other and all ends well.
Some of the songs are decent by Elvis movie standards and if it had been shot on location the film would have merited a much higher rating. Elvis' management had, unfortunately, decided by this time to make films on as low a budget as possible in order to maximise profits and some of his films produced around this time weren't even as well made or entertaining as this one was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Girl Happy [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
4.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews