Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just love this
I have this lp and desperately want it on cd. All the songs are wonderfully sung, even if you don't normally like cover versions you will love this.
Incidentally I never realised this was a sound track for a film, shows how well I read the cover.
Published on 25 Aug. 2010 by denise b 54

versus
0 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No ears
I gave this one star as after listening to it , I wished that I'd been born with no ears .
Published 3 months ago by Robert Phillips


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just love this, 25 Aug. 2010
This review is from: All This & World War II (Audio CD)
I have this lp and desperately want it on cd. All the songs are wonderfully sung, even if you don't normally like cover versions you will love this.
Incidentally I never realised this was a sound track for a film, shows how well I read the cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ROBERT PHILLIPS, 27 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
ATTENTION! The ONLY negative review on here was written by Mr. Robert Phillips, a temperamental avid Anti Beatles propagandist! He is employed by various "commercial" record labels (K-TEL and RONCO) to spread lies and cause confusion among Beatles enthusiasts! The aim being to promote commercially dull cheaply produced and vapid "Supermarket" music to the masses, dulling their musical senses! I owned this album on vinyl in the seventies and am pleased to own it now.
PLEASE BE AWARE.....Mr. Phillips is expanding his web of deceit and has major campaigns to infiltrate and poison other Beatles produce reviews!
REMEMBER THAT NAME! ROBERT PHILLIPS! HE IS THE DEVIL!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Everything old is new again, 9 Jan. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All This & World War II (Audio CD)
First got this album in 1977 just after release on a 12" Vinyl record or a 33.333 RPM. Was one of my favourite albums and after listening to the CD still think any Beatles music is great and also love listening to the famous "Various Artists" singing these great songs.

However after watching this movie (remember this is a Soundtrack) couldn't say that the movie wa sas good as it could be therefore 5 stars for music and -1 for Movie to give it the 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST COLLECTION OF BEATLES COVERS EVER !, 18 Jan. 2013
By 
Malcolm W. Corner (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All This & World War II (Audio CD)
The film itself flopped but this double CD is just awesome with a huge variety of 70's musical legends covering Beatles Album standards.
Rod Stewart and Elton John's covers are great but also check out Brian Ferry's "She's Leaving Home" and "When I'm Sixty - Four" by Keith Moon of all people.
This really IS a superb album. For years I have wanted the CD version and it is now available on here so don't miss out...you will NOT regret this purchase !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Priceless, 6 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All This & World War II (Audio CD)
I have seen reviews for All This And World War II calling it a bombastic mess. Wrong, wrong, wrong! It has a great many wonderful renditions of those Beatles classics that we all love that in one form or another can rightly stand on their own as classics. All we need now is for 20th Century Fox to do the right thing and release the film for all to see. It is a fantastic warped trip that should never have occurred.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The world they were born into, 3 Feb. 2013
This review is from: All This & World War II (Audio CD)
Really a kind of documentary which shows World War 11 footage against Beatles songs as covered by mainly artists of the time.
Opens with Rod Stewart's version of Get Back which itself is preceeded by the voice of Musketeer Gripweed from How I Won The War
An unusual concept for a movie which has been shown just once on TV
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All This & World War II, 25 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All This & World War II (Audio CD)
Searched for this album on CD for years. Outside of Joe Cocker's Little Help From My Friends (not on this album), these two discs have some of the best Beatles covers anywhere. Rod Stewart's Get Back is every bit as good as the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beatles, Tina Turner, Bryan Ferry, Bee Gees, Leo Sayer, Rod Stewart, Lynsey De Paul, Helen Reddy, London Symphony Orchestra etc., 25 Mar. 2014
By 
Legal Vampire (Buckinghamshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All This & World War II (Audio CD)
The Beatles (like their contemporaries the Kinks) were good performing songs, but their real brilliance was at writing them. Consequently, when, as here, their songs are performed by other leading artists, the result can be as good or better than the original. A performance by someone else, while it may take a little getting used to, can also make songs we take for granted fresh and original again.

Accordingly this 28 Track Double CD of performances of Beatles songs, recorded in 1976, by Tina Turner, Bryan Ferry, David Essex, Leo Sayer, the Bee Gees, Keith Moon, Rod Stewart, Lynsey De Paul, Helen Reddy, Peter Gabriel, Frankie Valli, Jeff Lynne then of the Electric Light Orchestra, Roy Wood by then of Wizzard) and others, should have been a hit.

The fact that so few people have heard of most of these recordings probably even among fans of the Beatles and of the other singers featured here (except Elton John's version of `Lucy in the Sky with Diamond', which was released as a single), is surely an accidental consequence of the fact that it originated as the soundtrack to one of the oddest ideas ever made into a film.

While this is a review of the soundtrack album I therefore have to say something about the film to put it in context.

The film consisted entirely of clips from mainly black and white period newsreels and films of World War II, accompanied for no apparent reason by a soundtrack of `cover versions' of Beatles songs by the above mentioned Tina Turner, Bryan Ferry, Leo Sayer, etc., etc. with the London Symphony Orchestra (or on some tracks the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra) as 'backing group'. The Director Susan Winslow's film directing career seems to have begun and ended with this film, although she had a later career as a Producer of TV documentaries.

Why anyone gave this strange project the go ahead and how they persuaded so many leading artists to take part in it I cannot imagine.

Today we are used to weird, way out pop videos, but in 1976 less so. Critics and audiences did not know what to make of it. The film's initial release was so unsuccessful that it was quickly withdrawn and forgotten, although I personally I think the film is wonderful! I can't tell you why it works, it just does, just don't expect the concept to make conscious sense.

It is not currently possible to buy the film on DVD or Blu-Ray in the UK and it has rarely been shown. Apart from YouTube, about all there is this double CD music soundtrack album. Little is done to market even this. At time of writing, the product description here on Amazon, criminally, does not even list the songs and singers. Surely the combined appeal of the Beatles, Tina Turner, Bryan Ferry, The Four Seasons etc., etc. is such that it would be in demand if only people knew it existed.

Given how many `pop' singers go quickly in and out of fashion and are forgotten, those who made this film in 1976 were remarkably prescient in picking singers who were not just mainly big names of the time but are still mostly big names now. The orchestration and playing of the music are also extremely good.

As with most albums, you will probably like some tracks more than others. Highlights for me include Tina Turner's version of 'Come Together' (much more energetic than the original), Helen Reddy singing 'The Fool on the Hill', the Bee Gees performing 'Golden Slumbers' and their high impact rendering of 'She Came in Through the Bathroom Window', Leo Sayer's 'I am the Walrus' and Frankie Valli's 'A Day in the Life'. The latter, while not necesarily better sung than the original, really gains from the orchestral backing. Bryan Ferry's version of 'She's Leaving Home' does not really try to be different from the original except that Bryan Ferry's distinctive voice, while disconcertingly different from the Beatles original sound at first, is somehow suited to the subject and mood of the song.

If only enough people buy this soundtrack album perhaps one day they will release the film.

Supplier, please note, even if the film version of 'All This and World War II' is too unusual to sell well in the DVD section of your local Asda, in the age of internet shopping there are surely enough intelligent and slightly querky people who would like this film across the country as a whole that you are surely hiding a potential cult classic.

Please release it while there are still plenty of potential buyers old enough to have heard of the Beatles, World War II, Elton John, Tina Turner, etc., etc., in case young people today have not!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WELL PRESENTED RETRO ALBUM, 10 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All This & World War II (Audio CD)
Faithfully replicates the original LP product for both tracks and packaging. If you are happy with covers of Beatles songs this is probably the best compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At Last. Easily available on CD, 23 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All This & World War II (Audio CD)
This compilation of artists singing Beatles songs is so good that I have long missed not finding it on CD to replace my vinyl original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

All This & World War II
All This & World War II by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews