Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BANG!
I first heard this band on Radio 1 and couldn't resist buying the album.
As soon as the first track hits your ears, you simply know that you're in for a treat. You can hear real influences of early soul whilst enveloping the experience into a modern funky/blues set that has moved with the times. With driving beats, smooth vocals, catchy riffs and basslines,...
Published on 25 Oct. 2007 by S. Drew

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sounds like...
Quite an enjoyable album by some talented folks... but i can't help the feeling that almost every track is cobbled together from songs by artists the band has been inspired by.
Published on 25 Oct. 2011 by Mr. B. N. Tinson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BANG!, 25 Oct. 2007
By 
S. Drew "Baloo" (Wilts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Great Vengeance And Furious Fire (Audio CD)
I first heard this band on Radio 1 and couldn't resist buying the album.
As soon as the first track hits your ears, you simply know that you're in for a treat. You can hear real influences of early soul whilst enveloping the experience into a modern funky/blues set that has moved with the times. With driving beats, smooth vocals, catchy riffs and basslines,
Great Vengeance is by far the 'heaviest' collection of music this side of creation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Heavy- Great Vengeance and Furious Fire Review, 19 Oct. 2007
This review is from: Great Vengeance And Furious Fire (Audio CD)
So when we heard that there was a band from Bath, UK who has just released their debut album of bluesey funk-rock we didn't think much of it. Another lite-weight Primal Scream rip-off we thought. The first spin of 'Great Vengeance....' transported this reviewer 3000 miles West of Bath into the fried and epic sunset of California via New York, Mississippi and Detroit, which is something considering that the likes of Fleetwood Mac and Led Zeppelin were rotating previously on the office stereo. `The Heavy' are a four-piece who specialise in creating a highly authentic brand of dirty neo-blues fused with a swaggering hip-hop/funk-laden groove and wailing/torched vocals straight from late sixties freak-out era. On top of this they tweek and shred their guitars to create a psychedelic edge to proceedings which acts as the icing on the cake.

Of the 10 tracks on this 33 minute album, none disappoint and all contribute to one awesome experience. Early on, listeners are treated to `Colleen', a unique track employing a gritty hip-hop beat and clanging percussion which acts as a backdrop to vocalist, Swaby's emphatic and raw melodic wails. `You Don't Know' starts off with dark and heavy riffage which brings to mind 60's forgotten heavy-psychedelic innovators `Parson Sound'. This foreboding, almost metal-sounding soundscape meanders throughout the track and psychedelic guitars join proceedings to create an extremely raw and heavy ode to `Comets On Fire'.

`Girl' sees Swaby performing some `tongue-in cheek' Streets-esque rapping about a rather fit sounding bird. In the middle, Swaby switches to singing and the transformation is quite amazing and perfectly showcases Swaby's immense vocal talents. `In The Morning' is another downtuned and heavy outing which sounds like a punked-out Velvet Underground indulging in a touch of rabble-rousing. `Dignity' is another rousing high-tempo retro-post-punk piece which sounds like Evergreen (Chicago school of post-punk) meets White Light/White Heat era Velvet Underground. On tracks like `Doing Fine', `Bruk Pocket...' and `Who Needs The Sunshine?', `The Heavy' undertake a softer, more soulful approach which all bumble along nicely and give the listener time to really take stock of the album.

In `Great Vengeance and Furious Fire', `The Heavy' have executed a fantastic, gritty and urban take on the genre's of soul, funk and psychedelic rock. Their sound is a forceful nod to the heroes of the aforementioned genres and it is obvious the raw production values and `live' sound are tools that have been employed to strengthen this. Out of respect for `The Heavy' and all that they represent, `Great Vengeance and Furious Fire' deserves to be purchased on Vinyl.

For fans of: RL Burnside, Velvet Underground, Early Fleetwood Mac, Primal Scream, Jon Spencer Blues Explosion, Little Steven & The Disciples of Soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Collection from a Band I wish I'd Heard Earlier!, 28 Jun. 2011
By 
J. Godding - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Great Vengeance And Furious Fire (Audio CD)
Some of you will of course have heard of The Heavy way before now, but for some reason they managed to skip below my radar, cos if I'd heard them before I wouldn't have hesitated to buy right then and there! In this case, I heard 'Big Bad Wolf' on the BBC series Luther, and although that particular song isn't featured on this album, it at least introduced me to their sound and got me hunting. Eventually resulting in me buying both this and their newer album 'The House that Dirt Built' - which is equally as good.

For anyone who likes The Black Keys or similar, this is broadly speaking the same kind of thing, but with their own style, and a style that I like. By all means try out a few of their songs (particularly Big Bad Wolf!) before hand, but I'm hoping it does the same for you as me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 6 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Vengeance And Furious Fire (Audio CD)
After hearing the band's music in various trailers, TV shows and movies, I had a quick look for them online. Listened to some of their songs on YouTube, and decided to buy their albums. This is a great debut album, although I think their follow up albums 'The House That Dirt Built' and 'The Glorious Dead' are even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Funky Class, 14 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Vengeance And Furious Fire (Audio CD)
If you like music that is a little different to the norm this band is right up your street, after purchasing The House That Dirt Built I was hooked, they go from really funky sounds to jazzy like tunes, one word for them AWSOME.

The more I listen it just gets better and better Brukpockets Lament is one of the best songs I've heard for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars These Guys deserve success!, 14 Jan. 2011
By 
This review is from: Great Vengeance And Furious Fire (Audio CD)
Bought this cd having discovered the later "The House that dirt built". Not as good as that album, BUT still wonderful, lots of influences but still unique. I love them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hubbies birthday pressie, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Vengeance And Furious Fire (Audio CD)
He loves it and was so chuffed as he loves the heavy and he now has all their albums !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant! Album!!, 30 Oct. 2007
By 
C. S. Duxberry "Book reader" (bath, Bath & N.E Somerset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Great Vengeance And Furious Fire (Audio CD)
I heard this group a while ago play live and have been waiting for this album to be released. Having heard it I have to say they have not disappointed. I would strongly recommend that you buy this CD, it really is excellent!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Vengeance And Furious Fire (Audio CD)
not an easy album to get hold of. very pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Vengeance And Furious Fire (Audio CD)
Great muic! Arrived quickly. 5 Stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Great Vengeance And Furious Fire
Great Vengeance And Furious Fire by The Heavy (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews