Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Powerful convenient pressure lantern
This was bought for me as a gift, and has seen perhaps 30 hours of service so far.

It's a standard pressure lantern system -pressurised base taking about a half litre of petrol with the vapourisor and the mantle on top. Being a petrol stove it doesnt require preheating which seems a little odd, especially if you are used to parrafin lanterns and clip on meths...
Published 19 months ago by Mr. C. Street

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars gold fuel lantern
the lamp itself is sturdy and well made will comment on how bright when i get it going the first 2 mantels blew up ordered new ones amazon 3 weeks ago and still not recieved
Published 6 months ago by verminator no1


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Powerful convenient pressure lantern, 29 May 2013
By 
Mr. C. Street (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Coleman Single Mantle Fuel Lantern - Gold (Sports)
This was bought for me as a gift, and has seen perhaps 30 hours of service so far.

It's a standard pressure lantern system -pressurised base taking about a half litre of petrol with the vapourisor and the mantle on top. Being a petrol stove it doesnt require preheating which seems a little odd, especially if you are used to parrafin lanterns and clip on meths preheaters.

To use you just simply pressurise the tank, stick in a lit match and then open the valve. It lights and then you have a lowish output for a few seconds, followed by almost full brightness. Absolute brightness is reached after a minute or so depending on temperature of the outside.

The problem is that is is easy to damage the mantle unless you are careful. The ignition process is not especially violent, but mantles are of course very delicate. As long as there is a flame close to the mantle (which means a long match) it'll light without a problem. However you have to then remember to turn the fuel valve down to a low output to prevet drops of burning petrol coming out and damaging the mantle. After a few seconds you can turn it back up again as it will be vapourising the fuel and running normally.

The two mantles supplied are of the tie-on with string variety. Coleman however sell "instaclip" mantles that use a small wire clip and these are far easier to attach, especially at night if you have to replace a mantle. These sell for the same price as the regular ones (about £5 for a pack of three) and are recommended.

UPDATE: I've now made considerable use of this and have put about 200 hours of running on it, with no problems whatsoever. It has just started to detatch it's first mantle although it is still perfectly usable it does now need swapping. This was with considerable use including carrying about and a lot of car journeys over rough ground

Apart from the different lighting procedure, it's just the same as a parrafin lantern, without the problems of having to preheat with meths, and as long as care is taken as above the mantle will last as long as it would in an ordinary parrafin lamp. It has a good light output certainly enough to light a 12 man ridge tent, or as a table lamp for a party of six to eat by. Coleman claim 125W output, perhaps that's a little high I'd place it between a 60W and 100W lightbulb myself.

There is an antiflare system should it be knocked over, but I haven't tested it. The lamp is field strippable and the jet is self cleaning. For the longest life you probably want to run on pure naptha or Coleman fuel, but I've never had much problem running on unleaded petrol, and if you use petrol with a small ethanol addition that keeps the lamp a lot cleaner. I typically get about 2 hours 45 minutes on full power, 12 hours on a low output. It comes with a useful plastic funnel for filling as well.

I've rated it four stars as the price is I think perhaps a little high and I'd have hoped for a double mantle at this price, but technically it's well built and should give long reliable service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars coleman petrol lamp, 25 July 2011
This review is from: Coleman Single Mantle Fuel Lantern - Gold (Sports)
great lamps works well however after a while the fuel injector will start to clog and the lamp will become dim or wont start then you need a new genorator, to avoid this every once in a while pop a few drops of car petrol engine fuel injector cleaner in your petrol ,this will unclog the injector and hey presto keep your lamp running at full power for years.latest update after lots f testing ive found the best fuel to use that burns well and will not clog up the injector is panel wipe as used in auto body shops ,theres no adittives in it to gum up the internals .paint supply shops or your freindly body shop will stock, pretty cheap fuel and worth hunting some out .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Petrol Power, 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coleman Single Mantle Fuel Lantern - Gold (Sports)
This classic Coleman is a super efficient and really bright lantern. Simple to use and much more economical on 95 RON unleaded than compressed propane lamps. The lamp comes with 2 mantles - easy to tie on but very fragile once burned, I found some mantles online for about £1 each, I doubt the mantles will last too well on a car journey on British roads so spares are a must if you plan to travel. This lamp is clean and long burning. It will give off some soot and fumes until reaching operating temperature. I bought the lamp for use in the garden and for camping in the summer, it will also be useful in the event of power cuts. I am confident using the lamp indoors because although it emits carbon monoxide it must logically be very little due to the economy and efficiency of combustion. Candles also produce CO but I am not aware of any danger other than the obvious risks of fire. Having said that I still wouldn't be in a very confined, unventilated space all night with one of these lit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For the price..... Good and bright (but be careful), 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coleman Single Mantle Fuel Lantern - Gold (Sports)
A good buy for the price. However, make sure you use the correct fuel and understand that when lighting this lamp it may flare up a little. If you have only used electric lamps this may take some getting used to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coleman Gold lamp worth every penny, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coleman Single Mantle Fuel Lantern - Gold (Sports)
This is a very good high quality product. It does exactly what it says it will do, as long as you follow the instructions. Brilliant light output and warmth, as good as a Tilley which I have also had a couple which belonged to my grand parents. The Coleman of course does not require preheating with a meths burning clamp a distinct advantage over the Tilley. Even though I only live thirty odd miles out from London in the Chilterns the amount of power cuts we suffer through the winter months is unbelievable. The Coleman will be another useful tool in my armoury for many years to come of that I am Sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fuel lantern, 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coleman Single Mantle Fuel Lantern - Gold (Sports)
good value for money and it keeps me warm when i go fishing and the light is brilliant at night
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to use, 18 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coleman Single Mantle Fuel Lantern - Gold (Sports)
Just follow the instruction manual and safety precautions, you wont go wrong.
I am probably getting 60w + on high with this 1 mantle lantern.
Using unleaded is easy and pretty much fumeless.
I can't smell any fumes from this using unleaded.
A must for campers and outdoor illumination.
It also pushes off a nice warmth when burning for 10 mins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars gold fuel lantern, 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coleman Single Mantle Fuel Lantern - Gold (Sports)
the lamp itself is sturdy and well made will comment on how bright when i get it going the first 2 mantels blew up ordered new ones amazon 3 weeks ago and still not recieved
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Coleman single mantle lamp, 14 Dec 2013
By 
john "john" (uk buckinghamshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coleman Single Mantle Fuel Lantern - Gold (Sports)
this lamp seems to work well but I would not light it indoors as unlike a pressure paraffin lamp if lit properly lit it does flare when first lit it will then settle to a good light
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Handy lanterns for Scout camp, 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coleman Single Mantle Fuel Lantern - Gold (Sports)
Bought two for a summer Scout camp. Both worked well, good full consumption and provide good quality light. Spare mantle and fuelling funnel with each lantern and comprehensive instructions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Coleman Single Mantle Fuel Lantern - Gold
£59.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews