Customer Reviews


143 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Entertainment. 2 hours of action with cheese
I watched this film last night. To be honest I was expecting something pretty bad...something along the lines of The Marine (a mind numbingly stupid movie by the way). But having read some of the reviews here I was ready to give it a go - and I'm glad I did.

This film is not brilliant. It has flaws, the usual flaws that you get in many action movies - one...
Published on 14 Aug 2007 by Mr P

versus
20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yeah I know, but .....
It's tat, yeah I know, but it's good tat. You know what I mean. One of those films that critics hate and that anybody with half a braincell snorts at and yet... It's just watchable! I know it's not the Bourne knockoff the producers were hoping for but someone here has done their research and so Wahlbergs humourless 'Rambo lite' ex. army patriot rings true and his...
Published on 26 Aug 2007 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 113 14 15 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Save it for a rainy afternoon when you've an ear infection..., 16 Aug 2007
This review is from: Shooter [DVD] (DVD)
... because it's totally predictable and you can't hear a damn thing they're saying. We had to sit and watch it with the subtitles on and we aren't particularly hard of hearing.

And what is the deal with Danny Glover? He sounds like he's had all his teeth fused together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average movie. Nice one-timer, 18 Sep 2007
By 
Wim Nelis "Wim" (Geel, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shooter [DVD] (DVD)
There are movies you can watch and watch again. Shooter is not one of them. And that's just a shame as the movie starts out very fine. Once this begins to unfold I cannot help getting the feeling 'I've seen this before....'. And yes! suddenly I remember. The entire build up of the plot is just JFK murder anno 2007. Certain members of the administration which aren't OK with the president: check. A man to blame it all on: check. A manhunt to track him down: check... A cover-up operation: check. And the irony is that in the end it's not the president they want dead!!
To phrase it: mix JFK murder with the awesome movie 'the fugitive' and you get it about right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!!!, 1 Jan 2008
By 
G. Collier "gcol10" (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shooter [Blu-ray] [2007] (Blu-ray)
Very very good film. The Fugitive meets Die Hard meets Enemy of the state. This movie has it all - especially if you like blood splattering from people's heads. Definitely worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Big Letdown, 28 Nov 2007
By 
J. Ward "HD-DVD Movie Fan" (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shooter [HD DVD] (HD DVD)
This movie had a good basic idea that was ruined by bad plot choices!
Without giving huge spoilers I can't say too much.
But it starts well and then slowly becomes more and more laughable with huge holes in the plot.
the biggest one being- How can you kill over 50 government agents and soldiers, then still be let free because you didn't commit the original crime you were charged for?? how retarded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shooter, the best film ever made, 6 Nov 2007
By 
Adam (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shooter [Blu-ray] [2007] (Blu-ray)
Definitely the best film ever made. It felt like the director had looked inside my head to see how my perfect film would be, right down to the smallest detail and here it is. I have never written a film review before, but if it makes you buy this film it was worth my time. There is no point renting it because you will want to watch it again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars simplistic anti-government propaganda, 21 April 2008
This review is from: Shooter [DVD] (DVD)
Very poor action film, with bad acting and yet more mindless anti-government propaganda. This is full of plot-holes. Left wing liberals, self proclaimed "intellectuals" and conspiracy theorists will love this brainless crap as it suits their level of intelligence and their "everything is black and white" kind of outlook. This is the opposite extreme of the Hollywood pro-government propaganda we usually get, resulting in a full film's worth of simple-minded liberal anti-war brain garbage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shooter, 28 Mar 2008
By 
This review is from: Shooter [DVD] (DVD)
Mark Wahlberg's acting is good as always, but that does not make up for the fact that Danny (get your act together) Glover's acting is still as wooden as a peg, (as is the acting of the others in this film) and for the fact that the plot is really very poor.

I got this film because of the good reviews here. I am now wondering whether any of these people saw the same film that I did ????????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Inaudible, 26 Jun 2011
By 
Mr. Jr Knott - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shooter [DVD] (DVD)
This is a stylish ,tight conspiracy thriller. However it is ruined by the vocal style of Mark Wahlberg who delivers many of his lines in a rapid fire mumble, making many of the plot turns incomprehensible . The audience is forced to guess at what he is saying, particularly when some of his lines contain technical jargon.
In contrast, Danny Glover delivers his lines clearly and in a deep tone and is fully audible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars disconnected plot, 22 Oct 2008
This review is from: Shooter [DVD] (DVD)
The plot was disconnected and does not make sense. A poor immitation of the Bourne Identity series without a convincing plot. A very disappointing movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I've Seen Worse, 4 Mar 2009
This review is from: Shooter [Blu-ray] [2007] (Blu-ray)
Can't really say as I'm qualified to be a film critic; however I keep it simple, entertaining film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 113 14 15 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb577551c)

This product

Shooter [HD DVD] [2007] [US Import]
Shooter [HD DVD] [2007] [US Import] by Antoine Fuqua (HD DVD - 2007)
£9.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews