Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful array of stars
This version of Arabian Nights is closer to the actual story than any other version I have heard of and has a huge variety of actors.
Dougray Scott is brillant as the Caliph (ruler) beginning with him verging on the edge of madness after the betrayal of his firsrt wife and brother and then as his second wife, a friend who has loved him since they were children and...
Published on 11 Jan. 2005 by Suzanne Moore

versus
29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Please can we have the whole series!
If this was the full version of this brilliant series, I would be giving it 5 stars. The acting is superb and the sets quite stunning. The story is spoilt by the amount that has been cut out of the english version. Some of the stories have been shortened and some, such as the three brothers, cut out altogether. I agree with the other reviewer who recommended getting...
Published on 15 Dec. 2005 by Kew


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars childhood magic, 4 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arabian Nights (DVD)
It was like be transported back to your childhood and returning to the wonderful magical world of exotic flying carpets, where wishes come true when Genies appear. As a child fantasy books like the Arabian Nights and Grimm's fairy tales were my staple diet along with the Hollywood films of Alexander Korda - The Thief of Bagdad and Sinbad. This latest version of the Arabian Nights aired on British TV back in 2000. It was fantastic. Rich colour,velvet black skies filled with stars,magical Genies and gorgeous costumes. What a let down the release of the DVD was as one of the stories had been axed. This version however is the whole package. There are a lot of versions on offer. Choose carefully if you want to watch the whole original version. Read the small print and that the running time is 180mins. Don't go by price. This DVD is Region 2 - this was new to me. I am not that up on technology. However as I was buying through Amazon I was confident that if I had got it wrong and I couldn't watch it on my player they would refund me my money. Good old Amazon! When the nights are cold and dark, dim the lights and sit by the fire and listen to Scheherezade tell you her magical stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite as strong as Barron's earlier "Merlin", but still worth a watch, 2 May 2012
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Arabian Nights (DVD)
Nice, fun, family friendly mini-series retelling of `1001 Nights', with Scheherazade
telling tales (Ali Baba and the 40 thieves, Aladdin and the lamp, etc.) to keep her
crazed husband from having her killed, and to lead him back from madness.

The effects are good for a TV piece, and the acting is generally pretty strong.

There's nothing wrong with it, but unlike Barron's earlier adaptation of `Merlin'
there's not a lot that's inspired either.

There are some funny moments of anachronistic wit (many provided by a goofy
but effective John Leguizamo in a dual role as the fat, cowardly ring Genie and
the scary and powerful lamp Genie.

Not at all a bad mini-series, but not one I can imagine feeling the need to watch
again. It's too aimed at kids with it's somewhat simplistic and heavy handed morals,
and sudden unjustified changes in characters.

Some nice visual inventiveness from director Barron, who creates terrific transitions
into and out of the stories.

NB: This seems to be the full length version. The other U.K. releases run
about 30 minutes shorter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Arabian Nights, 9 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arabian Nights [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This film actually came out in 2000. Mili Avital plays the reluctant but mesmerising storyteller Scheherezade. Dougray Scott is the fearful, confused and angry king filled with murderous intentions towards his new bride. Scheherezade spins her magic to survive the first night. Aided by the brilliant Alan Bates as the Bazaar Storyteller she continues to move from one story to another, one for every night she survives eventually with the hope of soothing the king's broken heart. Aided by the brilliant John Leguizamo as The Genie of the Lamp and The Genie of the Ring is superb. James Frain as the King's brother. Jason Scott Lee as Aladdin and many, many more. One of the better adaptations of these beautiful stories though I would have loved to have seen more. Definitely one to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable family entertainment, 13 Oct. 2006
By 
Amazon Customer "Boo62" (Ilkeston Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This tv mini-series was made by the same people who did 1998's 'Merlin', and that was superb.

The stories are the timeless Arabian nights, a sultan is driven to paranoia by having been nearly killed by his scheming wife, to try and help calm him the viziers daughter Scheherezade visits him every night to tell him a new tale in the hope that she can win his trust before he has her killed and descends into complete madness.

The cast all seem to enjoy themselves, Mili Avital as Scheherezade, Alan Bates as the storyteller, Dougray Scott as the unhappy sultan. Standout performances come from Rufus Sewell as Ali Baba, Jason Scott Leigh as a lively Aladdin and John Leguizamo nearly unrecognisable under a mountain of make-up as the balmy genie of the lamp. Watch out for an early role from Andy Serkis,( Gollum & king kong), as Kasim.

The effects stand up well and the stories are great fun from Ali Baba & the 40 thieves to Aladdin.

There is humour and a light touch throughout and should keep both young and not quite so young enthralled.

Sound is a little disappointing stereo,( 'Merlin' had a great 5.1 mix), but it'll do. The picture is ok too.

So why bother with this region 1 version rather than the region 2? well it's half the price for a start but in truth it's the brutal editing of the British release, (42 minutes have been chopped out!), which means it simply can't compete with this full 175 minute release.

If your after an enjoyable tale which will keep you glued for the whole 3 hours then this is well worth your trying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic adaptation reminiscent of Thief of Bagdad!, 29 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
A beautiful,lush version of the famous story of the 1001 Arabian Nights. The plot of these tales interlock thru several astonishing adventures, filmed with a sophistication deserving of the Big Screen. The special effects will knock your socks off! John Leguizamo's Genie(s) ranks as one of the most spectacular. Costume,design and inventiveness rule the day. Watch as one adventure even includes the awakening of the 10,000 Toccata Warriors unearthed in China! A must see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely super adaptation – Highly Recommended!, 11 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arabian Nights (DVD)
We love this for-TV adaptation of the story of the 1001 Nights. The acting is really good (including some headline British actors) and the whole thing is a lot of fun. It is definitely rewatchable - we watch it every several months. The individual story episodes also makes it quite good when you don't want to watch it all at once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 3 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arabian Nights [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I saw Arabian Nights as a mini series one year and when I found it on Amazon I was delighted. For anyone who enjoyed Gulliver's Travels (the proper story, not the Jack Black farce) and BBC's Alice in Wonderland, Arabian Nights with its stories within a story along with the dry humour make this a DVD well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I always liked this movie, 17 Dec. 2012
By 
Tania Poole "Merry Jackdaw" (Ballarat, VIC Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arabian Nights [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Of all the Hallmark films that I have seen, this one I enjoyed the most because it focuses on the importance of story in our lives - and story is very important. Learning from ancient myths is as valuable to humans as a brand new story would. So the characters in this films learn a lot - all of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good tales ...Well told...Although..., 7 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arabian Nights (DVD)
Bought this after seeing the series on the tv..It has been chopped and the sound quality doesn't match the visual quality BUT is still a good buy. Excellent tales well told and the acting is great. Only the Thief of Baghdad to get and the set will be complete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Watched it twice already!, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arabian Nights [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I have watched this a couple of times on the TV and had to set the timer to ensure I didn't miss the second part. This DVD is light watching and enjoyable when you want something on that doesn't need thinking about. Better still 'No Adverts'. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Arabian Nights [DVD] [2007]
Arabian Nights [DVD] [2007] by Steve Barron (DVD - 2007)
Used & New from: £5.71
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews