Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a rare halloween gem
Don't be misled by the DVD cover design. This isn't one of those "horrid" horror films, it is a bright, funny, charming and finely made horror film with all the classical horror story attributes of fun and art. It is colourful and atmospheric and unusually for these days all the characters are sympathetic, while the killer loses none of his ogre value in being funny...
Published on 19 May 2008 by DH Dixon

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A cult halloween classic in the making...
It's good to have director Jeff Lieberman back doing horror movies again. It's been a long time since "Just Before Dawn", and I for one am glad he's returned with this little gem of a horror movie that would certainly make the perfect halloween movie alongside such fan favourites as "Pumpkinhead" and the "Halloween" series.

The story has nine year old Douglas...
Published on 15 Oct 2007 by Matt Skidmore


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a rare halloween gem, 19 May 2008
By 
DH Dixon "whitespeck" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Satan's Little Helper [DVD] (DVD)
Don't be misled by the DVD cover design. This isn't one of those "horrid" horror films, it is a bright, funny, charming and finely made horror film with all the classical horror story attributes of fun and art. It is colourful and atmospheric and unusually for these days all the characters are sympathetic, while the killer loses none of his ogre value in being funny. I've only seen this once, but I am certain this is a fine film that must become a Halloween classic to satisfy any level of horror film fan. It excels in Halloween imagery. Like other good horror films it has a satirical theme underlying it, in this case that of the wrong type of video games drawing children into violence and personal disaster. Wholesome in every sense I think, hence the five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A cult halloween classic in the making..., 15 Oct 2007
By 
Matt Skidmore (Kinver, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Satan's Little Helper [DVD] (DVD)
It's good to have director Jeff Lieberman back doing horror movies again. It's been a long time since "Just Before Dawn", and I for one am glad he's returned with this little gem of a horror movie that would certainly make the perfect halloween movie alongside such fan favourites as "Pumpkinhead" and the "Halloween" series.

The story has nine year old Douglas Wooly (played by the credible and not too annoying Alexander Bickel) obsessed with the video game "Satan's Little Helper". He plays it constantly and takes to dressing up as the title character of the game, much to his mothers chagrin. Thrown into the mix is Douglas' sister Jenna (played by the talented Katheryn Winnick, who recently lit up "Hellraiser: Hellworld") who is returning home for the halloween season. Unknown to Douglas, Jenna has bought home her new boyfriend which instantly annoys our pint-sized hero, and he takes to the streets in a fit of rage. Here the story changes from small town family bickering to full-blown horror, as Douglas meets the villain of the piece. A serial killer dressed in "devil" garb who is systematically killing everyone in sight. Douglas mistakenly believes that this killer is playing a game and asks if he can join him as "satan's little helper".

From here on in, the story balances dark violence and humour with a mean streak a mile wide. Its a difficult thing to do, but director Lieberman manages to pull it off. Sure, the movie looks a little cheap and the camera work could have been a little better, but the general feel of the movie and the dark concept keep the minor niggles at bay.

Everyone in the cast does a sterling job and the movie is well directed for what is essentially a direct-to-video production. Lieberman handles the scares well and manages to conjure up a few genuine ghoulish moments (check out when the villain writes `BOO' on the wall) that linger long after the film has ended. All-in-all, a minor gem that will get even the most jaded of horror buffs back in the saddle.

The DVD's presentation is a pretty standard affair. As the film seems to have been shot using the worst video camera in the world, the presentation is muddly and sometimes blurred. Lieberman's film could have done with a little more atmosphere and polish, and would have greatly benefitted from a little more money on the production side. This stops a cool and macabre concept nearly going to waste, but the style and direction help keep the whole movie on track. Worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good movie for Halloween., 1 July 2008
This review is from: Satan's Little Helper [DVD] (DVD)
I would have preferred it without the cat scene, so three stars instead of four for that alone. Otherwise a very effective movie for Halloween, and even though I prefer them without humour, with this one, the humour worked and really was funny. Mainly because of the kid, (Satan's little helper) a nerdy, geeky little kid, extremely credulous, obsessed with the computer game entitled "Satan's Little Helper", to the extent that he totally confused fantasy with reality. He was hilarious in believing that firstly, 'Satan' (killer in groovy mask) really was: Satan, and secondly, believing that killer in Jesus mask really was: God, and thirdly, believing that killer in cop mask and outfit really was a cop, in spite of all evidence to the contrary. His conversations with 'Satan', 'God', and then the cop, were the most effectively humorous points in the movie. "Are you Satan?" "Are you God?" And all they had to do was nod, without ever speaking a word. Classic!
I loved the Satan mask and outfit, so cool, if only people dressed up like that for Halloween everywhere and wandered around in the shops getting provisions and carrying a shopping basket, so funny! To be honest, I'd have preferred a Halloween movie utilising all the effective costumes and sets that this movie had, but without the humour, but at least here, it worked. Not the most wonderful thing I've ever seen, but not bad either. It's certainly a great movie for Halloween.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty darn good, 20 July 2007
This review is from: Satan's Little Helper [DVD] (DVD)
I was also surprised at how entertaining this movie was. It was weird, freaky, and funny. I enjoyed watching 'Satan' with his weird mask as he lured an inoccent boy into his web of evil and killing. Personally I didn't care about any of the family members so I didn't care if any of them died. My favourite scene was the one where Satan pulls the dad's guts out infront of the little boy because that was just hilarious. Its a shame that they didn't really close off the ending but I was still satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suprisingly good, 10 Mar 2006
This review is from: Satan's Little Helper [DVD] (DVD)
This is a little gem of a horror film. Very funny and very interesting.
I think the psychopath hiding behind a mask and not speaking all through really works. Didn't get bored at any stage and throughly enjoyed it. I can't really think of any horror film quite like it off hand. Very uniquely done and its funny rather than daft, which is a difficult art to perfect in such comedy horrors. Its tragic story line is overshadowed by the funny tone that runs through the whole film. Its rather like a clown having a nasty fall. Everyone laughs even though the Clown might have really hurt himself. Its that sort of film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars awesome film, 3 Sep 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Satan's Little Helper [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Anyone who is into twisted comedy- this is the film for you! HILARIOUS!
DVD came unscratched and promptly.
Nothing to complain about with this film :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Satan's Little Helper [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I remember first watching this on the horror channel a few years back.Its a hidden gem of a film.Its no conjuring but more problem child
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Medium Effort, 16 April 2014
This review is from: Satan's Little Helper [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
The Good......
1) Unexplained open ending
2 ) Original Premise
3 ) Some dark humour
4) The cat scene
5) Katheryn Winnick's rack

The Bad......
1) The acting
2) The painful dialogue
3) Punchable child actor
4) Pacing problems
5) Uninspired direction.

This film should have been cut by 10 minutes. Although the premise is original, the plot twists aren't .
If you're like me, you are probably going to find this quite a boring experience although you'll be jolted out of your comatose state by one or two shocks.
Shame the kid didn't die early.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Awful but i did laugh a few times., 3 Mar 2014
This review is from: Satan's Little Helper [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
firstly i cannot understand why people are saying "80's cheese fest" when for starters this movie came out in 2004 LOL. well anyway luckily i only paid 1 for it but this movie is very very very low budget............. the killers costume is terrible even though i did laugh now and again..............the kill scenes are very very basic and bland the blood looks to me like its ketchup but other than that it is actually kind of funny because you end up sitting back and just laughing at it. i mean im very surprised jeff lieberman was behind this as hes done two very decent films being just before dawn and blue sunshine. its good for a few cheap laughs ill give it that but anything else its just plain awful low budget but in its defense i have seen my fair share of low budget films and this wasent one of the worst so that's saying something. if you like low budget fun check it out!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really Enjoyable :), 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Satan's Little Helper [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I bought this movie on a whim. Really glad I did. It's not a typical 'Halloween' scarefest. It's not a slasher movie as such. It's not got a deep plot. It's just very well done. Good acting, a few kills and......a few laughs. This little cracker of a movie is worth getting for Katheryn Winnick alone! Wow! Overall, for a low budget movie.....First Class! Well worth a watch. Glad to have it in my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Satan's Little Helper [DVD] [2007]
Satan's Little Helper [DVD] [2007] by Jeff Lieberman (DVD - 2007)
10.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews