Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of their many single disc best ofs?!
certainly in my opinion. Opens [of course] with the sublime "Green Onions" and closes with the magnificent full-length version of "Melting Pot". Interesting to also realize - seeing the release date for each track in chronological sequence - that Booker T & the MGs classic recording period spans an almost identical period [1962-1971] to that of The Beatles.
Published on 25 May 2012 by Rocking Remnant

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good... but could be better
Now let me first say that any album of Booker T can't be bad, and this is no exception. Almost all the classics are there, and there are so many that with 20 tracks some will ultimately be missed.

My one gripe is with one classic that IS included. 'Time is Tight' sounds nothing like I remember, or have on other albums. It's harsh and played at breakneck speed...
Published on 17 Sept. 2011 by DirtyBearIOW


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of their many single disc best ofs?!, 25 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Booker T. & The MG's (Audio CD)
certainly in my opinion. Opens [of course] with the sublime "Green Onions" and closes with the magnificent full-length version of "Melting Pot". Interesting to also realize - seeing the release date for each track in chronological sequence - that Booker T & the MGs classic recording period spans an almost identical period [1962-1971] to that of The Beatles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 25 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Booker T. & The MG's (Audio CD)
We love this CD and cannot stop playing it in our car or at home,we remember some of the pieces but really enjoy all the tracks on this CD.
So young or old,send for this CD I'm sure you will not be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Been waiting for this., 10 July 2013
By 
D. Rennie - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Booker T. & The MG's (Audio CD)
I have been a fan of Booker T and the MG's for years. I have wanted a greatest hits album and this has them all. It arrived on time and in good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good... but could be better, 17 Sept. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Booker T. & The MG's (Audio CD)
Now let me first say that any album of Booker T can't be bad, and this is no exception. Almost all the classics are there, and there are so many that with 20 tracks some will ultimately be missed.

My one gripe is with one classic that IS included. 'Time is Tight' sounds nothing like I remember, or have on other albums. It's harsh and played at breakneck speed. Almost like it's been recorded too fast by accident. It reminds me of the song 'Banana Splits' by the Dickies in the 70s. Maybe it's a different or live recording, but it sounds nothing like Booker T and the MGs to me. Maybe someone can enlighten me on it?

As it's the main track I got it for I was quite disappointed, but the album is worth the money. It's just a shame about that one track. :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of recognisable tunes!, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Booker T. & The MG's (Audio CD)
Got this for my husband - he loves it. We all enjoy it too as did not realise how many recognisable tunes are on this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Fantastic Four, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Booker T. & The MG's (Audio CD)
Booker T & The MGs always were to me an under-estimated band in the Stax stable, but this album just demonstrates how multi-talented as a group and individual musicians they are. If you have not listened to their music, try this album and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Green Onions and Cricket!, 4 Nov. 2009
By 
Mr. Paul Edwards "edzeleven" (Leics. UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Booker T. & The MG's (Audio CD)
This is THE Booker T album to own. The soulful Green Onions and the exiting Soul Limbo (ex BBC Cricket on TV). Interleaved with mixed emotions from this superb bunch of musicians. The 2 tracks mentioned are value enough but you get a whole host more!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully Nostalgic, 13 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Booker T. & The MG's (Audio CD)
CD arrived promptly and in perfect condition. The music took me back to my youth!!
Super,terrific,fantastic,wonderful,fabulous!!!!
What a fine compact disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great classic, 25 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Booker T. & The MG's (Audio CD)
For anyone who is a fan of Booker T and the MGs, this is a must buy. It never fails to cheer us up, especially the 'Cricket theme' which reminds us of summer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Soul Instrumental., 18 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Booker T. & The MG's (Audio CD)
Very good album, classic soul brilliant version of Time Is Tight. Booker T were always the bedrock of real soul music and deserved more success in UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best Of Booker T. & The MG's
The Very Best Of Booker T. & The MG's by Booker T. & The MG's (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews