Customer Reviews


183 Reviews
5 star:
 (142)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


107 of 112 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spanish tourism never looked so bleak
Having not played a Resident Evil since the very first one (didn't enjoy it), and spending the last ten years using a mouse and keyboard combination for all sorts of games, I had mixed feelings about this game from the start. A friend of mine had shown me the Gamecube version to which I was non-plussed.

Quite frankly after 15mins of playing it, I realised I was...
Published on 19 July 2007 by P. J. Bevan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Present
Published 23 days ago by Janspen


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

107 of 112 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spanish tourism never looked so bleak, 19 July 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil 4 (Wii) (Video Game)
Having not played a Resident Evil since the very first one (didn't enjoy it), and spending the last ten years using a mouse and keyboard combination for all sorts of games, I had mixed feelings about this game from the start. A friend of mine had shown me the Gamecube version to which I was non-plussed.

Quite frankly after 15mins of playing it, I realised I was too scared to move around the village after dying several times. I was actually rooted to the spot in fear, unable to go on unless one of the shambling spaniards saw me. From that moment I was hooked.

What follows is a masterpiece of game design, minutes where nothing much happens followed by seconds of intense waving the remote around in panic make this a tense and film like experience.

In addition the 'Dungeon Lair'-esque requirements to waggle the remote or press A+B simultaneously could have felt bolted on, but, the knife fight (i won't spoilt it for you) showed just how brilliantly this could be done. I found myself poised ready as if in a real knife fight, barely listening to the characters talking, but just watching for the next lightnening fast attack I would have to defend against.

The controls are spot on, and for those who can't use a joypad to play an FPS (like me) the wii mote targetting is pitch perfect. The nunchuk being used to control the characters movements.

Finally coupled with some fairly tough bosses, and unlockable modes (2 additional story modes and the pick and play mercenaries mode) make this well worth the money.

Just a shame that the best game on the Wii is a two year old gamecube game.

Thoroughly recommended by me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IF YOU THOUGHT RESIDENT EVIL COULD GET NO BETTER YOU WERE WRONG (THIS IS THE BEST VERSION TO DATE), 29 Jun 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil 4 (Wii) (Video Game)
Fellow Amazon users all i can say is that this is the definitive version of a modern classic and a must play, even if you've already experienced the brilliance of Resident Evil 4 on another platforms, this still feels and plays the best of them all. if you guys are thinking well i already own res evil4 so i shant be bothering with this then think again!! it doesnt matter as the best games are worth playing through all over again in my opinion not only does RE4 remain a heart thrilling ride, but the wii controller and nunchuck breath a whole new life into the game and gives us res evil fans a special treat even 2 years on. to the people who for some strange reason have not played resident evil4, you guys seriously have some catching upto do and you are missing out on what is one of the best if not the best series ever released on any format im sure other res evil fans will agree with me. the game itself has fantastic atmospheric music, its creepy as hell and will make you jump, the wii version is like the ps2 version in the sense it also includes side story called seperate ways where u take control of spy wong and explore some of the same story line but from her perspecitve, sadly the wii version doesnt include any new exclusive content though, but to me this doesnt matter as what makes the wii version so special is the little differnces such as the controls and trust me guys if you are worried about the controls dont be as they are an absolute pleasure they have been implemented to perfection trust me, movement and turning are controlled by the nunchucks analog stick, and u enter aim mode by pressing the remotes (B Button i would say the most noticeable imporvment is aiming your weapon, laser sight has been replaced with a retickle that u fully control with the remote, which gives you more accuracy over where your shots land and it feels oh so satisfying being able to cap these zombies right where it hurts the most lol

all in all guys re4 on the wii doesnt bring anything new in terms of visuals like the ps2 version, but it still looks fantastic. fantstic designed characters, enviroments that look like they have been created with time and not rushed. even with minor improvments these minor improvments add a lot more to the games feel its all about the wii controls that make this game so special the sound coming from the remote is also fantastic, this game is quite simply outstanding and i highly recommend this to resident evils fans and wii fans alike.. this is what gaming should feel like!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Resident Wii-vil, 2 July 2007
By 
Dr Evil (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil 4 (Wii) (Video Game)
Resident Evil 4 is without a doubt one of the best action games ever. Released already on the Gamecube, PS2 and PC, RE4 is now on the Wii with new, more interactive controls.

The setting of RE4 is completely new from previous Resident Evil games - Leon Kennedy has been sent to Europe to rescue the president's kidnapped daughter, taking the setting away from Racoon City and the game replaces zombies with crazy villagers, who will attack you (sometimes at quite a speed) with all sorts of weapons. The action is now over-the-shoulder as opposed the old style fixed camera view. It is all at a much faster pace too now, with a more arcade-like feel to it, which does work for the better. Also on the Wii version are the Ada missions which were only previously on the PS2 version, adding a little more action once you have finished the main game.

This edition is a great package, taking full advantage of the Wii's innovative control methods and adding it to a game which can be played through over and over again. I have already finished this on the Gamecube a few years back but couldn't resist getting this again at a budget price as it is a game I knew I would enjoy as much now as I did the first time I played it. A recommended buy for anybody.

The best game ever made better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spanish villages have never looked so 'evil', 3 Nov 2007
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil 4 (Wii) (Video Game)
I've played all of the Resident Evil's prior to this release, and cut long story short, it's easily the best in the series! I had always thought Resident Evil 2 (PS1) was the best for its atmosphere, music, puzzles etc, but RE4 beats them all hands down. And that's not easy to say based on the quality of the previous
People slate the Wii for being poor in the graphics department. Spec wise, its actually, as quoted, 'at least 3 times more powerful than the Gamecube'. To me, this is demonstrated in the game, and if theirs one thing that the Wii has proved since Wii Sports Bowling, its the stunning physics it has to offer. In RES4 when you shoot one of the 'many' Spanish zombies, you can watch their body move in all the correct places from wherever you shoot them, and its so smoothl and crisp that you can shoot a guy in his nuts, then quickly his knees, and in one eerily smooth movement, he grabs his crotch then with his other hand gets his knee! The textures are simply stunning for such an efficient and cheap console - anyone who slates this for being 'the same as' or worse than the PS2 needs an eye check.
Unlike any other PS2 game or console from that generation, the movements of humans are the smoothest I've ever seen. Close-ups of faces reveal movements, textures, and emotions like never before. I can't compare this game when you have the HD cable, but it can be a bit 'jagged' at times on standed TV output. Nether less, this game is extraordinary to look at, and super, super smooth, running at a very high frame rate that never slows.
In terms of playability, it takes some time to getting used to, especially as a retro RE fan myself. Thankfully, every button has a useful purpose, and though the motion sensor in the Wiimote doesn't have the best of uses in this game, it still allows you to 'shake' it to reload (nice touch!) and of course, you aim with it on the screen. This is a brilliant feature which allows you to carefully aim for the handy dandy 'head splatter' shot. That + Shotgun = lots of fun! On the topic of weapons, you may be extremerly pleased to know that the combat knife (which was once a pointless item in the game) now plays a great role. Just a few whips near the neck/head of your victim, and he's on the floor. No more 20 odd little snips before your zombie even just about falls over!
Movement is controlled via the Nunchuck. Apart from navigating the menus, this is the only feature which takes getting used to, because you have to learn to keep the Nunchuk still, otherwise you don't get an accurate movement! Little other improvements to this version of RE that old fans will love are the more 'logical' changes. For example, if you walk through a door, it doesn't take about half an hour now, it just opens as it would in real life (with some blur effect). Also, saving is simpler - no more silly ink ribbons, you just save the damn game! Other great new feature include a 'merchant' whom you can buy and sell your items with - improving your weapons, or buying new ones. Then if you get fed up of him, just give him a shot in the head!
The gathering of items and interaction with the game makes it much more modern than it's predecessor's. Theirs a nice organised menu layout for practically everything you'll acquire or need, and when you retrieve items, its quicker and simpler. Other nice feature include leon's ability to jump through windows, fall off edges etc which in turn, makes up for what is a tactically sound game. So much that you can kick down ladders to prevent those ugly guys climbing up, or destroy barred-up windows for a quick escape. It could be Metal Gear Solid 2 if Leon started smoking for that gravelly voice! Oh yes and grow his hair...
The story is on the basic side, along with the puzzles, which is slightly off-putting, as one of the attractions to the original games was the logical aspect. Nether the less, the game does have its fair share of puzzles that you'll need to figure out to progress.
Only one gripe I thought, and thats that I would I thought the health meter could be better placed/easier to look at.. logical surely?
Best moment? Funnily enough early on in the game - as you stroll into the village and make your way into the 2 storied house, you become locked in as a group of mindless Spanish people try to throw rakes at you, and if that's not enough, the sucker punch is when a guy with a bag over his head comes wailing at you with a chainsaw! You just love the sound as he rev's it up - play this scene in the dark and you get complete goosebumps! But don't expect to see the last of him at this early stage in the game.....
And the best tactical move? Many of these Spanish villagers like to throw dynamite at you. Shoot one in the arm before he releases it, and it's him who'll be flying everywhere!
If you own a Wii, this is surely an absolute must have. All i've played up to now is the typical Wii material - this game is so refreshing. And since the Wii games are, rightly so, cheaper than the other consoles, theirs no reason you shouldn't buy this little beast.
And its Winter! What better time of the year to get it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leon Kennedy has a lot to answer for, 9 May 2010
By 
Su (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil 4 (Wii) (Video Game)
It is 6 years since the Racoon City T-virus outbreak and one of the few survivors, ex-rookie cop Leon Scott Kennedy, now works for the President's Special Task Force. Unfortunately for Leon, his first assignment was supposed to be protecting the President's daughter, Ashley Graham, but she was kidnapped the day before he was due to take over, and now he has to find her. Well, that's Leon's story and he's sticking to it.

I never thought that I'd enjoy a first person shooter (FPS); to be honest after my dire attempts to play Doom on PC I'd always assumed I'd be less than useless at them. Other than Doom the closest I'd gotten to an FPS had been Tomb Raider (and even I don't think that counts), but after Christmas RE4 was in the sales and it was cheap enough for me to think `why not'.

I love it. It is officially the most played game in my wii collection, after 4 months of ownership and playing I can honestly say that the disc is rarely out of the wii console.

On starting the game the menu I was greeted by had two options "Easy" and "Normal" (on completion of the "normal" you get the option of "professional") - so as a newbie to FPS I went for the "Easy" option. I had to die a few times in the village before I got the hang of things, but once I did I get the hang of it the game play is superb. This is not an on-the-rails game so once you've clear a section of the game you can take your time, have a wander around, and look for the bonus items, gems, jewels and treasures. This also allows you to recover from a hectic battle with a little treasure hunting.

The "chapters" get more difficult as you progress, the enemies at the start may take only one shot but towards the end it will take five or six or more. However, as you progress through the game your understanding of the game play increases, therefore, giving you greater ability to cope with more difficult foes.

There are also two sub games within the main game:

- The blue medallions game -find and shoot the blue medallions to receive a free gift from the merchant;

- Shooting gallery - collect bottle top treasures by accurate shooting in the shooting gallery - four levels with six bottle tops per level to collect, and a bonus of PTAs for each of the 4 rows completed.

Once you complete your first run you will be given an extras option on the main menu. Included in the extras you get extra games - "separate ways" which when completed gives you the game "assignment Ada" and "Ada's report", "the mercenaries" and "movie browser". It is well worth listening to, and watching, Ada's reports as it gives you a slight insight into the woman in red and raises a lot more questions about who she is, who she works for and her role in the whole Resident Evil saga.

I have never owned a game that gives you so many extra bonus items to play for. New infinite ammo weapons are available on completion of your first for Leon game (infinite rocket launcher) and "assignment Ada" (Chicago typewriter machine gun), but you will have to purchase these two items from the merchant at a cost of 1 million PTAs each. The hand cannon is free on completion of the mercenaries game five stars on all four levels with all characters - this is apparently free but I've yet to achieve it. There is also a free PRL 412 laser gun for completing the professional game, once again this is something I have not yet achieved.

Alternative costumes are also available on completion of the main Leon game.

One thing I didn't realise when I started playing was that you can combine the gemstones with the treasures, this will give you a significantly more valuable item to sell to the merchant, meaning that you can make the upgrades a lot earlier than you would have if you sell them separately.

You can also shoot crows for extra bonus items or money.

I have to admit I found Ashley a royal pain, and have shot her once or twice on principle.

The only real down side to RE4 is it's a one person game only - which is such a shame as my sister would have loved to have played too.

Leon Scott Kennedy has a lot to answer for. Since I started playing Resident Evil 4 I have become a truth follower of the cult that is Resident Evil - I am now in possession of all the games, most of the books and the comics.

This is officially my favourite game on the Wii (for now), but I await the release of Resident Evil 5 with baited breath. Unfortunately, it would appear that, as with Resident Evil 4, those with the Wii console will have to wait a couple of years longer for the pleasure of playing with Chris Redfield instead of Leon Kennedy.

*** UPDATE ***

On Saturday 17 March 2012 at 1.06 am I finally got 5 stars with with Ada on the Castle level - it only took 2 years and 3 months!!! Now Leon is the only hold out.

On Sunday 18 March at 12.59 am I managed a 50 kill streak with Leon on the Castle level and 5 stars.

The hand cannon is now mine :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scary but fun, 29 Aug 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resident Evil 4 (Wii) (Video Game)
This is a great fun game that really does make you feel part of the action thanks to the Wii format and you having to flail your arms about fighting off some fairly nasty creatures on your travels through all the different levels. I have been playing it now for several weeks and it seems endless although friends have completed it and are now going to buy the updated versions. Really recommend this game though as it does immerse you in the game and can easily kill several hours if the weather outside is keeping you in!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, 17 Sep 2007
By 
SHANN "SHANN" (England, London) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil 4 (Wii) (Video Game)
This game was absolutely brilliant. Its the reason I bought a Wii. I played it on my friends Wii and was addicted from the start. Its got absolutely everything. A cheesy but gripping storyline, loads of zombies to blow away and some great weapons which you can improve on as the game progresses. I've played alot of FPS games but this is the real deal. Theres enough thinking to keep your mind working, without being ridiculously hard, the music and levels are incredibly eery and will have your pulse racing. The only real let down is that you can generally tell when theres a bad guy to blast as the music switches on (On medium difficulty at least). The add ons for completing the game will also add hours of fun and are well worth the wait. I understand that there is a Resident evil pack coming out in November including all the series so if you dont have this yet I would recommend you wait a couple of months and buy the lot in one go. A superb game, definitely worth the money if you cant wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Controls!, 3 July 2007
By 
Malik Lasse Lund (Greenland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resident Evil 4 (Wii) (Video Game)
Did you try any of the other versions (PS2 or GC) and thought: "Wow, I can see this is a really good game, but I can't stand to play with these horrible, cumbersome controls!"
If you (like me) thought that, then this is the version for you to get! Besides the obvious fact that aiming has gotten a lot more manageable (and you have a crosshair, instead of that annoying laser!) everything just works better. The analog stick (controlling movement) on the nunchuck is far superior compared to the ones on the PS2-controller and the buttons you use most of the time, for running and shooting, are placed in a more natural way.
Overall this is a must-have title for the Wii! (even if you already have on of the other versions!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars new to gaming? new to wii? wonder will it keep your attention??, 5 Jan 2009
By 
Sinead Griffin (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil 4 (Wii) (Video Game)
I looked at the reviews on Amazon and a couple of other gaming websites to see what games they recommended....and this game Resident Evil seemed to crop up again and again. I was buying it for my brother in law as a Christmas gift and though there was a risk that he'd already have it, I thought it was worth the risk as the reviews were so good I was thinking offloading it to some other willing gamer wouldn't be a problem. As luck would have it, he hadn't a copy of it and had never played. I think he was a bit sceptical about it and seemed to have his heart set on another game series that he had bought previously. The family gathered round on lazily on Christmas night I was expecting to stay for a dutiful half an hour and then get bored.....

how wrong could I be?!!!! within minutes we were transfixed!!! My husband and brother in law were particularly hooked - taking it in turns to complete a chapter / level...when one was killed off the other took an attempt to pass onto the next stage of the game.....they played about 14 hours over the course of 2 days and only for family and social committments, my guess is that they'd have stayed at it longer!!

The graphics and storylines were excellent. I'm no great judge as I don't play many of these kinda games but I have seen graphics on other games that are only 'ok' and have seen games that are not quite so addictive...this one takes beating.

just one thing, the violence levels are significant at times....it's not one for kids for sure. I would think the rating of 15 and over is probably accurate.

this was WELL worth the money.....and I'm positive my brother in law apporoved of his Christmas present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Killing crazed villagers, has never been so much fun, 3 Feb 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil 4 (Wii) (Video Game)
Way back in 2005, Capcom finally decided to release the fourth instalment of the Resident Evil franchise on Nintendos last gen console, the Gamecube. This was considered to be a bad move at the time, since the hardcore fans of the series were still Playstation users. However this was soon forgiven, as RE:4 went on to be hailed as one of the greatest games ever made. And what do you do with great games? You release them three times over. Why? Because idiots will buy the game three times over? Why? So those idiots can complete the game three times over! So here's the big question, should you or should you not buy Resident Evil 4 for the Wii? The answer simply: is yes.
Just to give you the basic outline of the story of the game, Resident Evil 4 is set 6 years after the events of Resident Evil 2 and 3. In which the medical corperation Umbrella, accidentally released the T-virus on the unsuspecting town of Racoon City, turning the population...into Zombies. Nice. The American president soon orders the destruction of Racoon and suspends all trade with Umbrella- resulting in it's collaspe- OR DOES IT??. Anyways, you play as Leon S. Kennedy- the star of Resident Evil 2- who was caught up in the viral outbreak on his first day in the police, and has gone on to become a secret agent protecting the Presidents family (way to go Leon!). And on his first day on the job...the Presidents daughter is kidnapped by a group of terrorists (gee...what is it with Americans and terrorists?), and it's his job to travel to Central Europe to go and rescue her. Unfortunately, unlike normal terrorists who simply blow up stuff, these terrorists use parasites who turn you into...yep you guessed it, zombies. While the story may not be very original, it is compelling and will make you want to keep playing, as it is tied together with some rather impressive pre-rendered cut scenes. And while there are some slight twists and turns in the plot, for the most part, it's typical Resident Evil- you'll get a far more meaningful experience collecting the various notes and files scattered around the levels in order to get the full story.
Resident Evil 4 is undoubtedly the single most intense game I have ever played. IT NEVER LETS UP. Most games take at least a good 10 minutes to get started - not RE:4. Literally within about a minute of watching the opening scene, you will encounter a zombie who will try to kill you with an axe. And the game pretty much goes on from there. Within about 10 minutes you'll encounter an entire village of these villager guys who are ALL trying to kill you in the most horrific ways imaginable- knifes, pitchforks, chainsaws- you name it, they have it- and all you have to defend yourself with is a knife, a handgun and- if your lucky a shotgun. The game moves at a constant pace throughout which will keep you entertained. It's designed in such a way that as soon as you get bored with one environment you move onto another one, which will be completely different from the last one.
. That's all very well and good, but we had all these amazing features 3 years ago on the Gamecube. So what's new and special about the Wii edition that would make you want to buy it if you've owned any other of the older versions? Well the biggest selling point of the Wii version is the improved control scheme. Simply squeezing down on the B button will make Leon raise his gun, at which point you simply point at the zombie you wish to shoot and press A. It's a very nice system, and you will find yourself pulling off headshots and killing multiple enemies with ease within the first few minutes of the game, and I can honestly say killing crazed villagers, has never been so much fun. Leon also has his trusty knife- simply holding down on the C button on the nunchuck will make Leon pull out his knife, then you simply use the analoge stick to aim where you want to slash, and then you just lash out with the Wii remote and Leon will do the same. It's a nice feature that adds to the sense of immersion,
So is there anything that's wrong with Resident Evil 4: Wii edition? Well the problem is in the title of the game- it's a port of a now aged game. Since 2005 there have been several breakthrough in graphical power of the consoles, most notably the release of the next gen consoles like the Xbox 360, and unfortunately RE:4 came before that breakthrough. Don't get me wrong the game is gorgeous- the art style is amazing- particularly enemy and boss design is some of the best ever made. In fact the boss designs are so good- that any of the bosses in this game could be the final boss on any other game, they are that cool. But the graphics are clearly dated now- when the camera zooms up close on any texture- you will notice a lot of blurring, which simply looks terrible and there is just no getting around that.
Another bad thing about this particular version of Resident Evil 4, is the fact that there is no exclusive content for the Wii- except it does have all the extra features from the PS2 versions like Assignment Ada. So if your looking for a completely new Resident Evil game then your just going to have to wait for Resident Evil 5 to come out on Xbox 360 and PS3. However an improvement of one of the best games ever created is nothing to be sniffed at. If you have never played any of the older versions of the game, then don't hesitate buy it now this game is a masterpiece and you will have a great time playing it, I promise you. If you have ever owned the Gamecube, Playstation 2 or PC versions, then you might still want to consider getting this version as well, as it is the collectors edition, with all the best features from each game, and the improved controls which makes it a lot more fun than before. And if you have played the older versions of the game, then you will KNOW just how much fun it was. And considering that you can get this game for a bargain £25, and that there are no major Wii titles coming out for a while it is worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Resident Evil 4 (Wii)
Resident Evil 4 (Wii) by Capcom (Nintendo Wii)
£14.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews