Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A totally necessary watch
This is not easy viewing but should be compulsory. The superlative performances of all involved bring the horrific reality of modern day slavery to vivid, brutal life.

This skillfully constructed miniseries in 2 parts tells the stories of several different strands of the human trafficing market, all orchestrated by the evil character played by Robert Carlyle...
Published on 11 Sept. 2009 by Rachel

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars ... 1 therefore wouldn't play on my DVD player quite disappointed but my own fault
If you live in the uk I wouldn't buy this I did an made the mistake of not realising it was region 1 therefore wouldn't play on my DVD player quite disappointed but my own fault.
Published 4 months ago by Kerry Gregory


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A totally necessary watch, 11 Sept. 2009
By 
Rachel "rachel337" (Brighton, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Human Trafficking [DVD] (DVD)
This is not easy viewing but should be compulsory. The superlative performances of all involved bring the horrific reality of modern day slavery to vivid, brutal life.

This skillfully constructed miniseries in 2 parts tells the stories of several different strands of the human trafficing market, all orchestrated by the evil character played by Robert Carlyle. There are the optimistic and naive young women (little more than girls really) who are deliberately suckered by men into believeing they are loved and wanted, encouraged to leave their home countries for a new life in the states, only to be shoved face first into brutal brothel life of the very worst order.

There are the chilren of the phillipines, sold by family members into the sex trade and the kidnapped children, stolen from their parents who will be traded internationally on the slave market.

And there are the good guys, those who are working desperately to connect the dots and smash this brutal trade, one person, one brothel, one procurer at a time. The character played my Mira Sorvino and that of her boss portrayed by Donald Sutherland stop this from being an exploitation exercise. They are the counterpoint to the horror, showing that whilst those held in the jaws of this awsomly profitable trade feel abandonded and bereft, there are those who are moving heaven and earth to stop this. Just not fast enough.

This is heartbreaking stuff. the performance of the young girl who plays Natasha is heartwrenching to watch and this left me with a wish to find something, anything I could do to stop this evil crime against humanity, going on under our very noses. This is a fictionalised account of a real situation- one none of us can turn a blind eye to. I saw the first part of this by accident, televised on Sky whilst I was on holiday in Italy. It was so good that my holiday was then dominated by combing the sky channels daily for part 2, i had to know how this ended. I had to wait almost two weeks to get back to the UK and order the DVD then a further week for it to come before I could watch part 2. get it, see it and make your friends watch it too. This cannot be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disturbing..., 15 Feb. 2008
This review is from: Human Trafficking [DVD] (DVD)
It is difficult to write a review for this dvd.. It is not what you could possibly call 'entertaining'.. It is very disturbing - all the more so because the events depicted do actually occur... That said, however, I feel it is a story that needs to be told, and I am glad that I have seen it, and would recommend it highly.. particularly for anyone who works in any type of helping profession where they might come across individuals who have endured such horrific experiences.. or anyone who truly cares about what goes on this world, and the pain some people have had to suffer.. it will encourage at least some degree of empathy and understanding... Not to be taken lightly, and not something you would want to watch to feel uplifted.. but superbly handled in every way.. the acting is incredible, the story has been told well - and you will not finish seeing this without having been 'affected'..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome yet sad, 23 Sept. 2007
By 
Mr. Di Smith "dai2k12001" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Human Trafficking [DVD] (DVD)
I first watched this on skyone as a series and wasnt sure what to make of it when i saw it advertised. But when I did watch it I must say I was blown away. The story follows Kate Morozov (Mira Sorvino) trying to bring down a human sex trafficking operation led by Sergei Karpovich (Robert Carlyle). It also follows several lives of women of all ages who get kidnapped and are put through these disturbing events. There are brilliant performances done by both Mira Sorvino and the always brilliant Donald Sutherland who potrays kates boss Customs Agent Bil Meehan. There is only one let down but its not a major one, i just think that Robert Carlyle could of worked better on his accecent as it did not convince.

Overall this is a surperb piece of story telling, an excellent drama. There was that let down of Robert Carlyle accent but its not bad enough to nock it down to 4 stars as he still delivers. Its definitly a must see, just make sure you have tissues ready as it does get really upseting at some points.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harrowing Viewing, 14 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Human Trafficking [DVD] (DVD)
Right from the start this two part mini series is disturbing. But once the titles go up so the film goes into high gear. Basically the film follows four story plots; The single mom/fake boyfriend, the schoolgirl wannabe model, a young teen on holiday with her parents and the poor Filipino family who voluntarily sell off their daughter. The first two plotlines form the bulk, with the others just cutting in.
Robert Carlyle is truly frightening as the bad guy ‘businessman’ who’s just doing his job and the man behind the trafficking whilst Donald Sutherland and Mira Sorvino play the good guy counterparts.
The film is graphic but not in a tittulating way, it’s a brutal portrayal of a sick world and despite being made in 2005, these sort of events are still regularly highlighted on national news or current documentaries. Although highly Americanised, this gritty 4 hour TV programme that manages to hold the attention throughout as the four separate stories unfold.
Anyone who has a daughter will be terrified by this, but all will be disturbed. Definitely a film that should be seen by all, but it is upsetting on many levels, so be warned. Like they say in the film “you have to have a thick skin to do this job…” but iyou'd need to thick skinned not to be moved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Human trafficking, 8 Oct. 2009
By 
Mr. Nathaniel Hibbs (Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Human Trafficking [DVD] (DVD)
Human Trafficking is a moving and shocking story that focuses on the sex trade and trafficking young girls from eastern Europe to USA. Although Mira Sorvinas performance is slightly wooden and a little Hollywood at times, on her quest to catch the men who are doing this she opens a whole world of corruption and abuse, including in her own past. Although it is very Americanised the story keeps your attention. Robert Carlye plays a dark and sinistor gangster from Russia, however still keeps that cheeky Full Monty side to him. The film is graffic but not in a distasteful way, it is an important message that is being portrayed. If you don't like the film think about the content and it's ramifications to society. It is a 2part 4hour film but gripping and not at all boring. Excellent!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So true to real life, 16 Feb. 2009
By 
Tomg "tomgbarrett" (BELFAST NORTHERN IRELAND) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Human Trafficking [DVD] (DVD)
This has to be one of the best dvds that i have bought in a longtime.It is so well acted out by all the actors. What is so scary is the fact that it human trafficking does go on i would recommend this dvd to anybody for their collection i cant praise it enough the way that this subject has been handled by the film makers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars slavery, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Human Trafficking [DVD] (DVD)
This isnt as tough or as real as the british sex traffic but its still worth a watch . yes it is rather hammy at times and there are some rather neat movie style twists but I would definately recommend it as good old fashioned north atlantic tv , just like we used to watch stuff like Holocaust or Roots and be hooked to the tv and the true life stories . There is so much sex crime v women in the news so this is still a relavent film ; showing the horrors that go on through out the world . Robert carlyle making an interesting baddy [ dont they have any real eastern europeans in canada for the part? ] and its always good to see Donald Sutherland take over the screen . cant say same for Mira Sorvino ; she is the weak link , with her plastic face and attempt to be some modern day Lindsay Wagner , she just doesnt convince . A film to make you think , as there are still slaves today .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Harrowing but something we should all know about!, 20 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Human Trafficking [DVD] (DVD)
Very distrubing film but it is a film we all should watch just to bring home the truth behind the headline in relation to 'human trafficing'.
Absorbing as much as shocking & it has spurred me on to help local charities helping to fight this problem.
Very easy film to follow & you feel as if you get to know the characters...you are almost there every step of their journey...travelling with them through their hopes & dreams to a world of greedy, sleezy & exploitation & then we come to the conclusion for each of the victims. A really sad film but would have to rate it excellent in exposing a world which is vibrant on our streets yet is so undetected by 'Joe Public'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat uncomfortable but compelling viewing, 5 Mar. 2014
By 
Bob M "Bob M" (North East England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Human Trafficking [DVD] (DVD)
Anyone with a teenage daughter who thinks she knows it all (that's most of them isn't it?) should sit and watch this with them and then have them watch it with their friends. It demonstrates vividly and graphically the dangers lurking out there. Dangers posed by evil, ruthless villains who's only aim is to make money whatever the human cost. Just be careful you don't scare the living daylights out of your 'little darling!'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars must, 1 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Human Trafficking (DVD)
watch- if you have a daughter harrowing see how easily it can happen long film in 2 parts bt enthralling/excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Human Trafficking [DVD]
Human Trafficking [DVD] by Christian Duguay (DVD - 2007)
£29.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews